We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing & Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Roscommon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our second stay at this property. We were checked in and very kindly upgraded to one of the suites which was marvellous. My comments last year mentioned that the hotel beds had blankets rather than duvets, and I was very pleased this year that the blankets had been replaced by nice cozy duvets and crisp white covers. We were offered a free pot of tea and a cake in the café next door on arrival, which was most welcome after our long journey from the UK. We did have an evening meal in the restaurant, which was sadly almost deserted and therefore lacking atmosphere, but the food came promptly and well presented, and the menu offered a reasonable choice. The sultana & fennel bread which came before the meal is just delicious. Breakfast was very good and plentiful - with all the usual offerings, mixed and matched to order, plus wonderful homemade scones and jam, which were totally delicious. The hotel is right in the centre of town, close to numerous pubs, shops etc, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone passing through, or wanting to stay near Roscommon, and will definitely be staying here again next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayJunkieCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EamonnGleeson, Owner at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear HolidayJunkie,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you found us to be meet your expectation and recommendation worthy.
We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    81
    19
    14
    13
See reviews for
93
130
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here recently in one of the suites. After arriving on a very wet, cold day, the fire in reception was most welcome! We were greeted warmly and I cannot fault our check-in. The suite itself was beautiful; very Downton with beautiful, old fashioned furniture and wallpaper. The sitting room had very comfortable couches-we were attending a wedding elsewhere and wished we could lounge around our room instead! There was a tea tray with homemade cookies which I think is a nice touch, though we didn't try them. We were also given complimentary tea and coffee with the most delicious scones I have ever tasted. They were so good we went along to the shop to stock up after we checked out. Our bathroom was spacious and the water pressure was great. We tried the restaurant downstairs for lunch and unfortunately this is where Gleesons stumbled. I would suggest that they nominate a staff member to greet/seat people and keep track of guests-we wandered around, eventually seating ourselves after checking where we could sit. Then we waited. It was after the lunch rush and wasn't busy. My partner went to the counter himself to check the specials and to get us menus. Then we waited again. I work in the hotel industry and I am content to sit and wait if the restaurant is busy but it was very galling to see what appeared to be a table of four locals receiving a lot of attention while we were ignored. A staff member appeared to take our order as we were considering leaving. However from here on Gleesons recovered its footing. We ordered soup and sandwiches and the food was absolutely delicious. My simple ham and cheese sandwich was beautifully fresh, with proper home cooked and cut ham inside-a pleasure to see instead of the processed, wafer thin ham one normally receives. The vegetable soup was piping hot and very tasty. The receptionist organised a taxi for us with no hassle. The next morning we arrived down for breakfast. The waitress on duty was very pleasant and service was good. The cooked breakfast was excellent-both in taste and presentation. There were more homemade scones and breads on offer, along with the cereals, fresh fruit salad etc. We were a few minutes late checking out (I hate being late out!) but nobody put any pressure on us to hurry even though it was a Saturday. The only reason Gleesons doesn't receive full marks in this review is due to our delay in the restaurant. All the staff were pleasant and courteous, the food was delicious, and the suite was beautiful. We would have no hesitation in returning here again and hopefully next time around Gleesons will receive full marks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sall3rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EamonnGleeson, Owner at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Sall3rs,
Thank you for your kind words on our Townhouse.
I am so sorry that your dining experience with us was less than satisfactory.. My staff and I reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue.
We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience.

We look forward to you visiting us again and we hope you will met your expectation and get full marks.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Food was excellent, home cooked, and portions very generous We had lamb roast, stuffing , mashed potatoes, gravy and of course the dish of fresh mixed veggies. The owner treated us like family...in fact, introduced us to his mom, sister, and niece who ate at the next table. A great value. We used the louge for our wi-fi with tea before the dinner. Plenty of Irish humor, too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EamonnGleeson, Owner at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Holliman,
Thank you for your very kind words.
we are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us. As you may already know, we are a family run business and we like guests to feel they are in the a home away from home.
We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had dinner there last Saturday and we thoroughly enjoyed. The portions are very good and the quality is very good. We had the fish cakes and the hake end black pudding for starters and they were both divine. We both had steaks for main course and the cuts were really tender and cooked as required. The only thing I would say is that the Chips didn't feel that fresh. The pepper sauce for the steaks was amazing.
The dessert was recommended by the waiter and so we ordered the toblerone cheesecake. If you are watching the calorie intake stay away.
The staff were lovely and the restaurant is located in the middle of the town so you have plenty of pubs to can chose from for a drink afterwards.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlphaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EamonnGleeson, Manager at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Alpha B,
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are so pleased you enjoyed you experience with us. We pride ourselves on using locally produced ingredients.
We would also like to thank you for bringing your experience of our hand-cut chunky chips to our attention.
We hope you will dine with us again or maybe even come and stay.
We look forward to meeting you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South east, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very good food, very well presented. Very friendly and comfortable. Our server on both occasions was Ken and we found him to be very helpful and efficient. The food was very good and quite reasonable. The total cost of the bill for the four of us was €110.00 approx, that included 3 steaks and a litre of the house wine (which was very good). We got the sirloin steaks on the first night and they were excellent but we got the rib eye steaks on the second night and they were not as good at the sirloin. Overall we enjoyed the experience and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EamonnGleeson, Manager at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Rhona 123,
We are delighted you enjoyed dining with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued repeat customers and I will pass on your kind words to Ken. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We dropped in last minute as we were passing Roscommon and were looking for somewhere homely for Sunday lunch. As we had the kids with us and we usually settle for Supermacs en route to keep all happy. However we wanted more and gleesons delivered.
They had a nice comfortable restaurant with well trained staff and a family run atmosphere. I had the Caesar Salad for starter and was impressed by real rashers and tasty crutons. For main course I had the monkfish which was delicious.
Despite being busy staff were always there , without being in your face. My husband had the lamb and really enjoyed it and the kids had homemade goujons and chips. All in all a great meal.
They had a great selection for desserts and kids had homemade ice-cream. In recessionary times its nice to see hard work paying off. It's clear Gleesons care about keeping their customers happy. They could teach a thing or two to many other places about customer service.
On paying our bill, we had a pleasant chat and certainly didnt get that rush you out the door now you've eaten feeling. I will return next time I'm passing through. Was also impressed with the effort to maintain the front with spring flowers and nice bistro tables etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culchiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Meath
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Gleeson's townhouse and restaurant is definitely worth a visit, It is a stone building off the square, It has amazing character, its floors are polished to see your face, there is an open fire in the reception, which is so welcoming, the staff (seems to be family run) are extremely friendly. There is a lovely coffee shop, and the food in the restaurant is amazing, The bedrooms are old style in keeping with the building and are beautifully presented. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineCo_Meath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
0.5 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
13.5 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
10.6 mi away
Percy French Hotel
Percy French Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strokestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
17.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant

Property: Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant
Address: Market Square, Roscommon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Roscommon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleeson`s Townhouse And Restaurant Hotel Roscommon
Gleesons Townhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing