We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Roscommon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Roscommon was our last stay before leaving Ireland. We stayed in many great places during our visit to Ireland and Northern Wales, but this was exceptional. As a "walk-in", we found ourselves in one of the suites - beautiful. It was cool and rainy and the fireplaces were great for warming up with a pint and a glass of wine. We had dinner, which was a worry as there was a large group of ladies that evening for dinner. However, the staff dealt with the situation very well, and we felt we were treated special. Thanks especially to Marie, who held things together. The front desk staff were also excellent.

This is my very first Tripadvisor review - I feel compelled to comment. Again - a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marbCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for your review.

I have passed on your sentiments to our Restaurant Supervisor, Marie - she is delighted that you mentioned her.

We are delighted that we were able to accommodate you in our Townhouse suite and that you enjoyed your stay and your meal with us.

We would love to see you back again as it was a pleasure to have you.

Eamonn Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 384 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

On entering the room, it was dated. the bathroom wasnt totally clean as there was unslightly bodily hairs on the toilet seat empty toilet rolls left in the bathroom when we just arrived. our room was located at side of building and was noisy the next morning with people using it as a walk through to the town centre. In the resturant the staff not listening to orders. attempts at heating up food that was requested hot still came back cold. and food heaped on top of a plate not making it look edible. On the plus side the breakfast was delicious and they are accomadating with breakfast outside breaksfast hours. the place just needs a bit of sprucing up and some staff in resturant and cleaning staff need to show a bit more interest. staff at reception desk are friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missfuscia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EamonnGleeson, Owner at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you very much for your review.

We appreciate all feedback from our guests.

We are disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We apologise profusely for the state of the bathroom when you arrived and we will endeavour to ensure that all cleaning is completed prior to arrival of our guests.

We will also use your feedback to ensure that service issues as you pointed out are dealt with and we hope that we can raise our standards for your next visit.

Should you return to stay with us again, we will ensure that you are placed in a room where noise from the town will not be a problem.

Please accept our apologies, we hope to see you again soon.

Eamonn Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had read some wonderful reviews about Gleeson's Townhouse and were extremely pleased when we were finally able to make our reservation. Gleeson's is certainly a 10 out of 10 in my book. Our rooms were extremely comfortable and very nicely decorated. Everything about this Townhouse gave the impression that it was really "loved". This family owned establishment is a credit to them. We were greeted with the offer of a hot scone and tea in the coffee shop where they also served a lovely selection of salads. We kicked off our day the following morning with a delicious and perfectly served full irish. For those of you that don't like a cooked breakfast they offered many other choices such as kippers,french toast & syrup,fruit salad, fresh orange juice and of course a great variety of traditional irish breads. Sadly we did not get to enjoy a dinner at Gleesons as we were attending the local horseracing. We have stayed in many a hotel but I really think that Gleeson'sreally know their stuff and how to look after their guests - it was like a mini version of Ballymaloe House.

Room Tip: Just enjoy this wonderful little place.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIGGOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your review.

Myself and my wife Mary are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at our Townhouse and that you found our food and service up to standard.

Looking forward to seeing you again at the next Race Meeting!

Eamonn Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I am a regular in Gleesons and love stopping for a coffee and scone in their cafe. There is a restaurant as well but I usually pop into the cafe. The staff are very welcoming and always have a smile on their faces. There is a rather old fashioned homely feel to the place but being from Dublin I rather enjoyed that. Feels like you are in your own sitting room. Would recommend this for coffee and lunch.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank UnaDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed the homely atmosphere that we try to provide in our Townhouse.

Looking forward to seeing you again for a coffee,

Eamonn Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed her this weekend on a Groupon deal and it was fantastic value. We were welcomed by very pleasant staff and given complimentary tea and scones on arrival. An unexpected nice touch. The room was lovely. We had cause to move rooms (not the hotels fault) and they facilitated it no problem. Ate in the restaurant which was very good and great breakie the next day. Scrambled eggs were very over cooked but that was the only issue. Great night away. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EamonnGleeson, Owner at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you for your review,

Thank you also for your comment re the breakfast - we aim to constantly improve our standards and feedback like yours is invaluable.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon!

Eamonn Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We found the place easily using the directions on the website. Received a warm welcome from the owner Eamon upon arrival. He showed us to our rooms and let us know what was happening around the town. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast provided was one of the best we had on our trip. Remarkable fresh scones! We also ate in the restaurant one evening and had a nice meal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshlandMOPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EamonnGleeson, Owner at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you for your review,

It was lovely to meet you.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Eamonn Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We chanced upon this restaurant one day while wandering round Roscommon. It is the old Manse - that is the former home of the Presbyterian Minister. I assume all Presbyterians have now long since left Roscommon, and the Presbyterian Church next door is closed as well.

Ministers seems to have been well cared for, because you can now dine in very atmospheric surroundings, evocative of a time long past, but at very reasonable prices.

You have a choice of the restaurant or the cafe. We ate in the cafe for lunch. It is a help yourself cafe service. As someone else said, the quiches are extremely tasty. The value for money for lunch is second to none.

I was not over impressed by the service, particularly as normally you get much more welcoming service in rural Ireland

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EamonnGleeson, Owner at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate your feedback with regard to service and we hope that we can improve our standards for your next visit.

Hope to see you again,

Eamonn Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
0.5 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
674 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
234 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
10.6 mi away
Percy French Hotel
Percy French Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strokestown
77 reviews
17.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant

Address: Market Square, Roscommon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roscommon
Price Range: $85 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the heart of Roscommon town, overlooking the Towns Historic Square, Gleeson's Townhouse is a lovingly restored 19th-century Boutique Townhouse Hotel. Situated beside the tourist office/museum, Gleeson’s is the perfect base for touring the west and midlands of Ireland. With 19 rooms and two luxury suites, each designed with unique flair, at Gleeson's Restaurant & Rooms you can really rest, relax and enjoy. It has free, secure parking, and friendly staff & is highly recommended in international guide books. All rooms are en suite and offer a high level of luxury and comfort. The menus offer locally sourced and sustainable food. Originally known as “The Manse”, this lovingly restored 19th century Townhouse is a building steeped in history that dates back to 1870 .Gleeson's Townhouse Boutique Hotel provides a warm welcome, comfortable rooms and first-class food. Enjoy the welcoming and relaxed atmosphere & our open turf fire in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleeson`s Townhouse And Restaurant Hotel Roscommon
Gleesons Townhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing