We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Before You read my review, it might be worth knowing that I have never given any hotel I have reviewed up to now such a low rating. I am the type of person who does not let a few minor hic-ups ruin my stay or lead me to give a low opinion of a place, which is why when I booked this hotel for my wife and I, we ignored the negative reviews that we seen to our peril.

We Stayed one night in the Abbey Hotel (Room 29 in the old part of the hotel) booked it through a Groupon deal. Check in was very efficient and receptionist very nice. First impressions of the room were good, nice large room with 2 queen size beds and small sofa with a little walk in wardrobe in one corner and small ensuite with shower in the other corner. Everything about the room was quaint and oozed character.
However as the evening wore on this hotels quaint character showed itself even more and more. Things like -
The musty damp like smell in the room,
Hot water coming from both the cold and hot taps,
Loose and uneven floorboards walking into the ensuite,
Majority of light fittings missing bulbs,
No TV channels on the ancient television, and when it was eventually fixed , it was not for long and we were left with only 2 channels for the rest of the stay.
Jacuzzi in leisure centre not working on the afternoon of arrival.
Oh how my wife and I felt really lucky to be staying in a room with so much character.

But It Gets Better
We got to experience a cold night while sleeping as the heating is not left on during the night and these old buildings do not retain heat.
And then the Pièce de résistance.
Went to have a shave and this time there was only cold water from both taps and the water was spurting out the rust residues from the inside of old pipes. Same residues came from the shower when I tried that. We both ended up going to the leisure centre to have a shower there and we noticed that the Jacuzzi was fixed so we though,t great at least we can have a Jacuzzi.
Sat in the Jacuzzi and could feel grit in the water looked down and it was full of sand.
Earlier at the restaurant for the buffet breakfast, the sausages, rashers and sliced fried potatoes where like leather. We packed up and were out of this calamity of a hotel by 10:30.
Never never never again

Room Tip: If you do stay then I would advise that you aviod the rooms in the old part of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hoopmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    175
    102
    52
    34
See reviews for
198
242
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

After my third visit to this hotel in 6 months I feel I can accurately review it.
Rooms: a lot of comments say it needs updating. I disagree, the rooms are charming and in line with the building. Very comfortable. On one visit we chose the suite in the old part & it's fabulous.
Spa: on first visit I felt it was in need of repair tiles etc, this had been done only return visit. Lovely space, good changing facilities.
Food: DELICIOUS! Those tempura batter chicken balls are to die for! I've had steaks, fish, desserts all spot on:
Breakfast: my only negative. First & second time were spot on. 3rd time everything had been deep fried, even the rashers. Didn't enjoy it at all but there was plenty of food & several
Alternatives to the 'fry'.
Staff: staff are the heart of the place, very accommodating & courteous.

Will definitely return & I would urge people to be aware of the room rates here, very good value for money. We paid either €59/€69 each time per night. Some reviewers are expecting 5* for this money.
Very pleasant place & a credit to the Greally family.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laineygm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for only one night in this beautiful hotel. Almost smack bang in the middle of the town. Outside the hotel is very well kept and clean. Plenty of signs asking smokers not to smoke at, or close to the entrance. Nothing worse than walking through that personally so very happy with the notice. Greeted really warmly by the receptionist. Key cards already prepared and just waiting for my signature. 30 seconds saw us on our way to the room. Overheard one guest comment that the hotel was dated and I suppose you could say that - but this isn't a motel six built five years ago andI i enjoyed the history and character of the place. Room was clean, warm and a decent size. Loved the door to the bathroom which looks like an old kitchen door. If I had only one gripe about the room it would be the shower. Neither powerful or hot enough.

Had a glass of wine in the bar before going in to dinner- remember to book though, this place is in high demand.


Dinner was in a word...superb. I had the scallops and black pudding to start and my partner had the goats cheese salad. Both were perfect. Had to wait a fair while for the mains but this was due to a massive booking that had arrived shortly before us so can't complain there. In fact, one of the managers came over and apologised for the delay and explained the resson. It wasn't a big deal anyway and we were both enjoying the relaxing atmosphere over a glass of wine between courses. Mains were again perfect. Fillet steak for me and scallops for my partner. We were so stuffed we split a dessert between us...creme bruleigh (spelling) with ginger and ice cream.

Breakfast was just as good. Full Irish with plenty of cereals, breads, fruits, yogurts and juices. But what set it apart was the manager greeting every person who came through the door, finding them a seat and giving a quick run down on the food available.

Checkout was hassle free too. Lovely lady by the name of Bernie done this for us. Asked about our stay and if everything was ok. You really get the sense of a very well run family hotel who take great joy and pride in their business.

I'll definitely be staying longer next time!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubliner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Arriving at the hotel we were blown away first of all by the setting and then by the friendliness and efficiency of the receptionist. Throughout our stay this was to continue for our weekend break.The food was delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel for whatever type of break you may be considering. There is plenty to do around the area also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Abbey Hotel Roscommon is a quiet location, set in beautiful grounds with welcoming staff. Open fires, a great pint of Guinness, lovely breakfast you get great value here.
Staying in the hotel allows access to the spa and pool too, so you can have a few lengths in the pool if you like.
A great find.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you want to get away and unwind, them this is the place to go. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent, the rooms are spaces and clean and it's in a good location. We had a very pleasent mid week break. Would have no problem wreak amending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

the pros for this hotel is the staff they are brilliant !! The hotel would really need a face lift especially the bathrooms around the tub is black and tiles are stained. The pool is lovely but for some reason it opens later on the weekend ! The bar food was ok but the bar its self is a very nice area to sit and relax with friends, The breakfast was very good and the beds though small are comfortable who ever designed the extension to this beautiful old hotel should be shot as it is a great big grey slab of concrete !!!

Room Tip: Regans bar in teh town is really good for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
1.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
214 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,011 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
17.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
15.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Property: Abbey Hotel
Address: Galway Road, Roscommon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run 4* Abbey Hotel located on the Galway Road in Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Castle Style Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds and gardens. With an ambiance described as one of "casual elegance in a timeless relaxed atmosphere", The 4* Abbey Hotel boasts 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms. For that extra touch of luxury the hotel offers superior deluxe bedrooms. Guests can avail of free and unlimited accces to our Diamond White Flag award winning Leisure Centre which boasts a 20m Indoor heated Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, plunge pool and Fully Equipped state of the Art Gymnasium and Treatment Room. We are also proud winners of the prestigious Restaurant Association of Ireland Award for Best Hotel Restaurant in County Roscommon (Connaught Winners) for 2014/15. This family run property is the ideal location for your relaxing family break with our complimentary supervised kids club available during the school mid –term breaks and holidays. Our RAI Award Winning Restaurant, situated overlooking the ancient Dominican Abbey ruins offers a range of innovative dishes, all made from fresh locally sourced produce and served with great attention to detail and presentation by our dedicated team of chefs. Centrally located in the heart of the Midlands, 90 minutes from Dublin and Westport and under an hour from Galway and Sligo, the hotel is easily accessible by rail and bus and there is also a Heli Pad on the property for those who choose to travel in style. Those travelling on business can avail of our comprehensive conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day with it’s vast private gardens, and magnificent bridal suite beautifully appointed Ballroom and banqueting facilities.We are also a fully licensed Civil Ceremony Venue. The Award Winning Abbey Hotel, Roscommon ~ hosting events and weddings of distinction since 1963. ~ John Drennan, Journalist Irish Independent " The Abbey is a real gem of a hotel in Roscommon" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing