We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$106
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ross House B&B(Roscommon)
$128
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hannon's Hotel(Roscommon)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Percy French Hotel(Strokestown)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Ploughmans Lodge(Roscommon)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Riverside House(Roscommon)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (737)
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveler rating
328
205
112
57
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
205
112
57
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centrebar foodlovely hotelon arrivalroscommon townfamily roombar staffcarvery lunchold worldold styleweekend breakour room was spaciousfew drinksa lovely staystayed for one nightfamily weddingwould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 737 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

the pros for this hotel is the staff they are brilliant !! The hotel would really need a face lift especially the bathrooms around the tub is black and tiles are stained. The pool is lovely but for some reason it opens later on the weekend ! The bar food was ok but the bar its self is a very nice area to sit and relax with friends, The breakfast was very good and the beds though small are comfortable who ever designed the extension to this beautiful old hotel should be shot as it is a great big grey slab of concrete !!!

Room Tip: Regans bar in teh town is really good for dinner
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Situated within striking-distance of all that Ireland's Midlands has to offer, this family-run Hotel ticks all the boxes. It's Generational-Family ownership underpins it's attention to detail & customer-focused Service, delivered by Staff who DO make one's stay an extremely pleasant one. It appears to make both short-term Business Travelers & couples or families on a Vacation-Break, feel equally at home. I highly recommend anyone to make Roscommon's Abbey Hotel THE hotel of choice for them, should they be looking to explore Ireland's Midlands & even further West.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank MichaelJames2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We decided to try somewhere different and had never been to this part of Ireland before. We arrived late on Friday night and just had time to order something from the bar menu. The food was excellent the service very pleasant but a bit haphazard (this would prove true all weekend),
The food is excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful but do tend to get things wrong at a basic level. The décor desperately needs to updated!! Our booking was wrong but this was sorted very quickly when I brought it to their attention. Good hotel (needs to be updated), staff helpful and pleasant, great swimming pool and spa, great location in Roscommon town

Room Tip: The availability of Wi-Fi needs to be sorted.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ging44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhotel3, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post the above comments. We note your comments regarding the bar area. Coincidentally, we are planning a refurbishment of the area in November. We expect the work to be completed pretty quickly and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, no doubt you won't be disappointed.

Yours sincerely
Tom Grealy
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had our Wedding reception in the Abbey just over a year ago. from day one of meeting Adrian & Tom Greally Jnr they assured us that we would have nothing to worry about on the day - true to their word, timing was meticulous and as a result we truly got the most out of our day.

The food we got to choose from attending a food tasting day and it was beyond expectation on the day.Efficient servers ensured hot dinners served to all tables together. We had a very mixed age group of guests and all enjoyed the meal immensely and some were delighted to get to sample both main course choices when there was 2nd helpings!

As a lot of our guests travelled to Roscommon for the wedding, they made it a two night stay and all of them were high in their praise of the staff they met at reception, the bar, breakfast saying they were all so friendly and polite.

From our first meeting to pick our dates to checking out 2 days after the wedding, we were extremely happy with The Abbey Hotel management and staff. It was our absolute pleasure to bring so many of our friends and family to Roscommon and host them in such a warm, friendly hotel.

We look forward to many more reasons to celebrate in The Abbey!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaPaulR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Checked in for one night on the 19/9

Girl in reception very friendly, courteous and welcoming at check in.
Decor in room a little dated but very clean.

Dinner in the bar was good. Breakfast was also good.

Will be back again and would recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exptrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews