We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good family hotel.”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Our family stayed at The Abbey and could not have had a more enjoyable time. Gre at ambie nice, friendly staff and good food. Roscommon is a good spot to explore th e midlands from.

Room Tip: A view over the garden at the back of the hote l.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 710 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

Just back from a weekend break in The Abbey Hotel. From the outside the Hotel looks lovely and I was looking forward to a relaxing weekend. It started well checked in and found our room which although on the small side was very clean and well presented. We had a snack in the Bar for lunch and bar food later that evening which was fine. On going to bed that night though we had a problem the bed is probably the hardest thing I have ever had the misforturne to sleep on. The floor would have been more comforable. I just couldnt sleep on it and am in extreme pain as a result of sleeping in the bed. Breakfast is okay, the fruit and cereal are nice but the cooked breakfast is kept in large containers to keep warm as a result it keeps cooking so by the time you get to eat it its like rubber. Another thing I found very strange was how the staff kept pacing by your table looking to see if you had finished and heaven forbid you put your knife and fork down at the same time but there over to swipe the plate from you. So all in all it was okay, food okay, staff okay, bed terrible.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We were there one night and had our wedding on the grounds of the old abbey. We were 3 hours late checking out, but they were very accommodating. The hotel is wonderfully set, and modern still

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmynWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Great food, lovely staff. Lovely rooms but could do with some extra lighting... everywhere!

Thank EHMkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just spent a lovely weekend at the Abbey Hotel, in Roscommon, and must say we were very impressed with the staff, the facilities, and most of all the food. Absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced. Would have no hesitation staying here again. Even though there were two functions running on Saturday evening, there was no noise evident in our room, so nice relaxing stay.
M. Convery, Navan

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Just back from a lovely weekend in the Abbey Hotel. Pure relaxation-Leisure centre (pool,sauna,steam-room) was one of the best and cleanest I've ever visited-staff were sooo friendly-they just couldn't do enough to make us comfortable.Just 5 min walk from Roscommon town and 2o min drive from Strokestown House and Museum which we visited.Strokestown House well worth a visit.
Def will go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MINAUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My uncle and myself visited the Abbey Hotel in Roscommon yesterday for Sunday dinner.

We had chosen the carvery as the hotel has recently begun this on Sundays.

The food we had was so nice. There was a good menu to choose from with beef, turkey and salmon and children seemed to be catered for with half portions. The atmosphere of the hotel is also great and overall the hotel has a cozy atmosphere. It would be a great location for a wedding.

We also had the trifle for dessert and it was one of the nicest desserst I have ever had which I know is a strong statement but true and I have travelled to many countries and many hotels in the world but this dessert was A1.

I would never usually choose to review anything unless warranted but the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maireado9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
1.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
250 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,024 reviews
17.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,242 reviews
20.6 mi away
Shearwater Hotel
Shearwater Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ballinasloe
837 reviews
13.9 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: Galway Road, Roscommon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Price Range: $104 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run 4* Abbey Hotel located on the Galway Road in Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Castle Style Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds and gardens. With an ambiance described as one of "casual elegance in a timeless relaxed atmosphere", The 4* Abbey Hotel boasts 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms. For that extra touch of luxury the hotel offers superior deluxe bedrooms. Guests can avail of free and unlimited accces to our Diamond White Flag award winning Leisure Centre which boasts a 20m Indoor heated Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, plunge pool and Fully Equipped state of the Art Gymnasium and Treatment Room. We are also proud winners of the prestigious Restaurant Association of Ireland Award for Best Hotel Restaurant in County Roscommon (Connaught Winners) for 2014/15. This family run property is the ideal location for your relaxing family break with our complimentary supervised kids club available during the school mid –term breaks and holidays. Our RAI Award Winning Restaurant, situated overlooking the ancient Dominican Abbey ruins offers a range of innovative dishes, all made from fresh locally sourced produce and served with great attention to detail and presentation by our dedicated team of chefs. Centrally located in the heart of the Midlands, 90 minutes from Dublin and Westport and under an hour from Galway and Sligo, the hotel is easily accessible by rail and bus and there is also a Heli Pad on the property for those who choose to travel in style. Those travelling on business can avail of our comprehensive conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day with it’s vast private gardens, and magnificent bridal suite beautifully appointed Ballroom and banqueting facilities.We are also a fully licensed Civil Ceremony Venue. The Award Winning Abbey Hotel, Roscommon ~ hosting events and weddings of distinction since 1963. ~ John Drennan, Journalist Irish Independent " The Abbey is a real gem of a hotel in Roscommon" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing