We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By no means a four Star Hotel”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“By no means a four Star Hotel”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed one night on business trip to Roscommon town found the hotel quiet dirty and was given a dirty room on arrival, the management moved me straight away even though i was told at reception that there were no other rooms available.
Food not bad enjoyed the buffet breakfast. This hotel needs updating and a more friendly athmosphere. The management were extremely cold and unfriendly. Would not like to repeat this experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 713sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    175
    102
    52
    35
See reviews for
199
243
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We can in all honesty say it was the worst experience of our lives, our three night stay felt like three years it was such a dull a dreary hotel. We booked in on the day of the rosscommon races expecting it to be a lively spot as it advertises entertainment on the said night on its web site, what it didn'nt mention was that said music does'nt start till 12 midnight and has a cover charge of 15 euro even for residents. Rooms we're stuffy and AC unit so loud that sleep was impossible. Shower did'nt work which is inexcusible. Breakfasts were a complete farce, food absolutely inedible and scarce. The evening meal was painfully slow and the steak should have come with a chainsaw as it was mostly fat, the dining area lacked ambience as no music to drown out the profanitys of other diners (not child friendly). Pool was filthy with missing tiles and dirty floors, windows and outside areas extremely dirty. A power washer would'nt go astray. Management were rude and abrupt, we felt sorry and embarassed for staff. All in all if it's a break you want stay at home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank passtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhotel3, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Member

Thank you for your review and taking the time to post it on line. We welcome all feedback from our customers and examine all such feedback to see where we can improve our service to our customers. I am disappointed to read that you found so little that appealed to you about your stay with us. We would be interested to speak to you to discuss your issues more specifically. It seems that taken individually your points were small ones that perhaps could have been dealt with during your stay had they been communicated to us. Showers and air-conditioning units can break down but when we are told that they are broken they can be fixed quite easily. Our leisure centre we believe is of exceptional quality as evidenced by the fact that it has just received its 8th successive ILAM White Flag Award. Our restaurant is the 2011 RAI/ Bord Bia County Roscommon Hotel Restaurant of the year. We welcome children of all ages and our menus conform with the IHF good food for kids campaign. We are prepared for good and bad feedback from our customers. However, we would with respect point out that the above review and the byline in particular, does not in our opinion give an accurate reflection of our hotel.
We would be very interested in talking to you however, please feel free to contact me at sales@abbeyhotel.ie.ie / 090 6626240.

Tom Grealy Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Recently had a 2 x night stay with 4 other couples from Thurso. We all agreed that the meal we had on our first night was as good as any of us have eaten. The service by the waiting staff was first class. The room were all i good condition, some smaller than others but perfectly adequate for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here and organised an event here. Was a bit apprehensive as some of the reviews I had read were not so great. But was pleasantly surprised. The decor is old fashioned but well maintained and clean. Actually the place has a bit of character compared to many modern hotels. The rooms were very comfortable. The food in the resteraunt and at break fast was excellent. The prices were just about OK - not particularly wonderful value, but certainly not expensive for what we got. I've stayed in more expensive places that were not as good. The staff were unfailingly helpful and courteous. Would have no hesitation in going back. Only flaw I found was what looked like a small hole burned by a cigarette in my bed spread, but there was no smell of smoke in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fachtna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed with my family here for a short break in May. The hotel is situated in the centre of Roscommon town and hotel guests are greeted with wonderful gardens in an enclosed and provate surroundings.
What makes a stay great for me is when the staff are welcoming and friendly. They were all wonderful and made us genuinely feel at ease - nothing was a problem.
The food was fresh and delicious, breakfast could have had more of a selection of breads/pastries etc but it was more than enough.
The rooms are very clean and well maintained to a very high standard.

All in all a very worthwhile and relaxing break - just what every parent looks for!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrelandJaguarXK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

A truly lovely hotel, we were greeted very warmly on arrival, the room was very spacious for two adults & three children. Both the food & leisure facilities were excellent. The kids had a wonderful time at the kids club with Mark & the girls. We will definitely return again soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tdem_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed here for one night getaway 2 adults and 2 teenagers, shared family room- clean but basic. lovely leisure centre- nice pool. reception nice and staff nice, No set menu for dinner only a la carte which looked very expensive- had to eat in bar. poor selection - no healthy option and service slow and unfriendly, didnt seem good value, Breakfast - tepid buffet - if that is what you want - 3 star standard definitely not 4 star. very frightening signs on way into Roscommon- if you get a stroke or heart attack you will die as no emergency service within 125km, even sign in carpark of hotel , no intentions of returning.

Room Tip: bridal suite looks ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruzdublin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
1.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
215 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,847 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
17.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
15.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Property: Abbey Hotel
Address: Galway Road, Roscommon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run 4* Abbey Hotel located on the Galway Road in Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Castle Style Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds and gardens. With an ambiance described as one of "casual elegance in a timeless relaxed atmosphere", The 4* Abbey Hotel boasts 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms. For that extra touch of luxury the hotel offers superior deluxe bedrooms. Guests can avail of free and unlimited accces to our Diamond White Flag award winning Leisure Centre which boasts a 20m Indoor heated Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, plunge pool and Fully Equipped state of the Art Gymnasium and Treatment Room. We are also proud winners of the prestigious Restaurant Association of Ireland Award for Best Hotel Restaurant in County Roscommon (Connaught Winners) for 2014/15. This family run property is the ideal location for your relaxing family break with our complimentary supervised kids club available during the school mid –term breaks and holidays. Our RAI Award Winning Restaurant, situated overlooking the ancient Dominican Abbey ruins offers a range of innovative dishes, all made from fresh locally sourced produce and served with great attention to detail and presentation by our dedicated team of chefs. Centrally located in the heart of the Midlands, 90 minutes from Dublin and Westport and under an hour from Galway and Sligo, the hotel is easily accessible by rail and bus and there is also a Heli Pad on the property for those who choose to travel in style. Those travelling on business can avail of our comprehensive conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day with it’s vast private gardens, and magnificent bridal suite beautifully appointed Ballroom and banqueting facilities.We are also a fully licensed Civil Ceremony Venue. The Award Winning Abbey Hotel, Roscommon ~ hosting events and weddings of distinction since 1963. ~ John Drennan, Journalist Irish Independent " The Abbey is a real gem of a hotel in Roscommon" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing