We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There really is something very special about Cuisle.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cuisle Holiday Centre
Monaghan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There really is something very special about Cuisle.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have been lucky enough to have spent every May Bank Holiday in Cuisle with my son and about another 40 plus people some with disabilities and others without a disability for 10 out of the past 11 years. I am also involved in our local Special Olympic Club and in May this year two other parents and myself decided to book a weekend for our athletes and a parent over the Bank Holiday weekend in Oct. We had no problem selling it to those who had been there every year but we were hoping to bring new famillies with us and just to give you an idea of how it went. By Friday night the families who had never been in Cuisle before were asking me if we could make it an annual event!!, that speakss for its self.
Ailish had worked so hard in the run up to our arrival, organising 10 pin bowling, music each night, a fancy dress disco, treasure hunt, parents had massages as well as use of the jacuzzi. From the moment 49 of us arrived on Friday evening we were treated like old friends nothing was too much trouble, tea/coffee on tap
The food as usual was mouthwatering with a great varity all cooked to prefection. Each member of staff could not do enough for us.
We had an absolute ball (as usual) whatever your recipe for success is, please dont change it.
It was great to see all the familiar faces again Fergus, Geraldine, Kathleen and as for Noel, your fan club has doubled. God Bless you all.

The care given to other guests with disabilities who were staying at the same time as us was second to none I have ever seen, they were so well looked after.

Its very hard to find words to describe what Cuisle is, something very special happens here and I feel it must be witnessed to be believed.
PLEASE DON'T EVER CHANGE A SINGLE THING IN CUISLE perfection cannot be improved on.
Can't wait to go back again and again and again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmckenna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean C, Manager at Cuisle Holiday Centre, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Sincere thanks for the great feedback. Delighted to hear the weekend was such a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CORK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have recently had the pleasure of spending the August bank holiday weekend in Cusile with 14 friends some of whom a special needs. It wasnt our first visit and with the help of God wont be our last. The facilities are second to none and with the new Jacuzzi installed great fun was had. The food and service you wouldnt get in a five star hotel! Thank tou to Fergus, Noel and Alish and all the staff for their care and attention to us.

Looking forward to our next visit already!

Antoinette Geaney and the Group from Cork!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 165ANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean C, Manager at Cuisle Holiday Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Great to hear you all had a good weekend. Thanks for the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

For any age, any disability, and able-bodied the facilities and caring nature of staff ensure a truly delightful experience. With a husband who has become "locked in" to a body that doesn't function properly although his mind is relatively normal, it was for us both a relaxing and rewarding break.
Excellent food, plenty of entertainment and the beautiful setting of Donamon Castle. We will return whenever possible!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean C, Manager at Cuisle Holiday Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks so much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We choose Cuisle to oils out wedding reception - actually I choose it ! Why because I knew of the chef Glen Campbell and the high quality food . But after speaking to Ailish and meeting all the other staff I was sure I had made the right decision . They must go through more tea/ coffee as any time i called over they were trying to feed us or get t/c into us !! They are all so welcoming and friendly and nothing is any trouble and I do mean nothing . No 5 star could beat it . Reception area lovely and lovely tables and chairs. Lovely size bar which looks out onto big green for children to play football and general playing . Rooms spacious and so clean and lovely showers . We had 90 guests and each and everyone raved about it. Not one person complaint and well to be honest how many weddings or functions can you say that about and before you say it - my gang would have told me if anything was wrong !! The grounds are fantastic for pictures and a stroll around . When you book it for a large function you have the while place to yourself which means not worrying about children walking around or going to bed on their own . Not enough can be said but to see it for yourself .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacintalavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean C, Manager at Cuisle Holiday Centre, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Delighted to hear all the positive feedback from you and your wedding guests. Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We chose Cuisle as our dream wedding venue and would recommend 110% for a number of reasons.

The magnificent setting of Cuisle set on the grounds of Donamon castle, one of Irelands oldest inhabited castles, on the banks of the River Suck on the beautiful Suck Valley Way speak for itself!

The kind friendly staff at Cuisle are second to none in terms of professional high quality standards that they set, Ailish, Noel,Glen, Fergus, Jean, Geraldine, Tina, Mary and it's impossible to name everyone working in Cuisle that were so wonderful in preparing our dream wedding day!

They are among the nicest people we have ever met and went above and beyond the call of duty to assist in any way they could throughout the planning of the wedding. I call Ailish my 'wedding planner' as she in particular was fabulous to deal with and made the organising of the wedding go as smoothly as it did. There was nothing she didn't think of and was so so helpful and pleasant to correspond with.

The food, oh my the food!..It speaks for itself and we cannot fault it any way whatsoever! Glen the head chef and his team are outstanding. We had a pre-wedding BBQ the night before our big day which was hugely enjoyable and food outstanding. A few stragglers that came late were looked after and food cooked especially. The wedding was followed by yum summer punch and prosecco, beautiful scones and canapés that I have only seen in a 5 star hotel. The meal was outstanding, Beef/Seabass choice and the menu was negotiated to our taste with Glen who was fabulous to deal with.

There were 2 minor worries prior to the big day that transpired not to be a concern at all.The first was the small size of the dance floor. However this proved not to be an issue as it turned out there was plenty of dancing room and our fantastic musicians kept the dance floor full all night! The second only worry was the limited number of double beds however our guests were not concerned about this one bit as it turned out.They were only raving about the fantastic accommodating staff and the fantastic food and commended us on our excellent choice of wedding venue!

We had a pre-wedding cocktail making session and picked a 'wedding cocktail' for our guests made by the wonderful friendly Fergus. This was a huge hit with everyone!

Cuisle was very accommodating in allowing us to store our wedding items in a secure room as we don't live locally to the venue. They allowed us come and go as we wished and was so helpful in helping us to decorate the venue as we wished and were so much fun in doing so. We did a lot of the flower arranging ourselves with a lot of help and Cuisle were super in allowing us the use their facilities to store and prepare these arrangements.

Definitely excellent value for money. Just chat to Ailish or one of the fabulous staff who are happy to answer any questions whatsoever.

Some of our guests with disabilities were provided care on site. Cuisle is a wonderful venue for a stay for those with and without disabilities equally and I cant emphasize this enough.

There were about 13 children and 3 babies as well as our 115 guests and Cuisle catered for all ages impeccably.

As a wedding venue we would recommend 110% and would be delighted to chat with anyone interested about booking Cuisle as an alternative wedding venue.

Forever grateful to all the Cuisle staff for our wonderful dream wedding day!!!

Margo ryanm7@tcd.ie
and Anthony ahannon6@gmail.com xxxxxx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kxsjgh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean C, Manager at Cuisle Holiday Centre, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
WOW. Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I just came back from my visit. I go every year with a group and we are always looking forward to going back! My visit was amazing. The food was excellent and their service. At this hotel you never go hungry. The staff were so understanding and anything I asked for was done without a second thought. The rooms were very spacious and the views from the rooms were excellent. The grounds are utterly fantastic! The castle, the church and the walks around the grounds are amazing. You couldn't ask for better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean C, Manager at Cuisle Holiday Centre, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks Ann. Staff at Cuisle Holiday Centre also look forward to the visit from the Faith and Light group!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was here for a wedding and of course a few of us came a day early to settle in. I must say it was not what I expected! The grounds are massive!!!! Huge field and on site parking. The wedding couple rented two large gazebo like tee pees that housed the entire wedding for dinner and drink and there was still loads of space!! The staff and especially the manager were very friendly and accommodating, even rocked up with the morning paper :) the rooms themselves were spacious beds comfy and showers great. I have recommended this place to a couple I know for their wedding as I feel it is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathanjhatch85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean C, Manager at Cuisle Holiday Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hope to see you and your friends again soon. Thanks for great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roscommon hotels
5.0 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
655 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
222 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ross House B&B
Ross House B&B
#2 of 5 in Roscommon
62 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jacksons Restaurant & Guesthouse
5.4 mi away
No photo provided
Arch House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Roscommon
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuisle Holiday Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuisle Holiday Centre

Property: Cuisle Holiday Centre
Address: Donamon, Roscommon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Roscommon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuisle Holiday Centre is the Irish Wheelchair Association's national holiday centre and Ireland's leading wheelchair accessible resort.Cuisle has been providing respite breaks and holidays to people with disabilities from home and abroad for 18 years.This resort has 34 fully accessible bedrooms and also offers personal assistance, nursing care, a wide range of aids and appliances, a restaurant and onsite bar, leisure suite with Jacuzzi, sauna and gym, outdoor gym, fishing, indoor games room and a fleet of accessible transport. It is a truely unique place and the only such facility in Ireland. People with and without disabilities can holiday together at Cuisle Holiday Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cuisle Holiday Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing