We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service, cold food”

Douglas Hyde Restaurant - Kilronan Castle
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Roscommon
Cuisines: European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great service, cold food”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Went here for a communion recently, and had a great time. The staff at the castle were excellent, and the surroundings were very upmarket. As a large group of 25 we were catered for very very well. However one small issue the food was cold, which is simply not good enough for a restaurant like this. It was a shame cause everything else could not have been better. We will go again as we are sure this was just a kitchen issue at the time, we all have bad days.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

good food in a lovely olde worlde restaurant, great for a large group

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank niamh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The food here was simply fantastic. I could have eaten everything on the menu. There was great variety to suit everyones taste and the staff were incredible. They were so pleasant and helpful. I can't wait to go back!!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CazD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Excellent service, fresh locally sourced food and great presentation.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cabriolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fantastic local sourced food.”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

superb quality and small portions. 5 star cooking. Small portions for potatoes/ potatoe gratan/ - didnt bother me but some in our party asked for more.
Dessserts to die for

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Douglas Hyde Restaurant - Kilronan Castle also viewed

Roscommon, County Roscommon
 
Roscommon, County Roscommon
 
Boyle, County Roscommon
Roscommon, County Roscommon
 

Been to Douglas Hyde Restaurant - Kilronan Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing