We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss Killyliss House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Killyliss Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Ballybay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't miss Killyliss House”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My family stayed only one night at Killyliss House and wished we had stayed longer. We had three separate rooms and all were wonderful--very clean, well decorated, and had really comfortable beds. Breakfast was great, with many delicious homemade items.
Pauline, the owner, was especially grand. She gave us a dinner recommendation that we really enjoyed and was extremely helpful in directing us to the various places we needed to go. We had to check in later than expected and she was very gracious.
I heartily recommend Killyliss House.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryc93_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
56
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Picked up at a bus stop 15minutes away by our host Pauline, we were given an amazing tour around the local area including local fishing areas, where to ride bicycles (supplied!) and local pubs/shops. I fell in love with their dogs and the fantastic view surrounding.
She accommodated our vegan diet and gave us an amazing week in Ireland, it was sad to leave !

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank emily v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had a great time at Killyliss Country House. We stayed in the lodge which was perfect for a family. After traveling all over IR, UK, and Paris....hands down Pauline's Irish breakfast was the very best! Great homemade breads, granola, and jams. I will be missing the Irish bacon for a long time! Could not ask for better hospitality and superb directions. We loved the Irish countryside and want to go back and visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stpetegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights, we booked at short notice but everything was just perfect when we arrived. Pauline the owner was absolutely wonderful she made our stay so comfortable and could not be more helpful (thank you so much Pauline) breakfast was lovely and there was so much choice, the rooms were amazing, so was the suroundings and views. would stay here again for sure. anna & isabelle (from the blackford party)

Room Tip: we went as a group and had 2 rooms and the lodge all room were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Eight months after our trip to Ireland and a brief stay at the Killyliss Country House we still talk about our hostess Pauline as through she was a treasured relative. Our stay was wonderful, Pauline made us feel welcomed and at home. The accommodations were lovely and the house was very clean. The breakfasts were delicious. Most of all, Pauline gave us excellent advice about the area and was a pleasure to speak to in general. I would highly recommend the Killyliss Country House and would love to visit again.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I booked this accommodation via Hotels.com at an excellent offer only to be rang by the owner to say that she could not give me the accommodation at that price and went to great lenghts to describe how they didn't get their money for sometime for any bookings made in this way - not my problem. Basically I was told to cancel my booking unless I was prepared to pay further monies when I came to the property
I wanted to put this out there for everyone as I advised the owner she should ensure she is removed from Hotels.com site if she doesn't want to get more customers the same. I was looking on Tripadvisor today before posting this and see that I can still book this facility at a similiar cost but don't want to drive all the way there tomorrow to be told at the door I will have to pay more
AVOID and book elsewhere

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAMcC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killylisscountryhous, Owner at Killyliss Country House, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
The excellent offer that this lady refers to was an amount that would have worked out at approx £12 pp for bed and freshly prepared full Irish breakfast for 2 nights in a twin room and not a single room as booked . She made a reservation that was a mistake, was made aware of it and was given several options and she choose to cancel with no charges applied.Staff at Killyliss House do their very best to help all customers whether the they choose to book or not but sometimes we just say well we tried, and agree that we cannot please everyone all of the time.We have done wonderful business for many years with Hotels.com and look forward to many more.Management here choose not to thank guests publicly on Tripadvisor but can we on this occasion thank all our guests who have taken the time to write a review, we sincerely thank you , we are very humbled indeed by your kind words and look forward to welcoming many new and previous guests to Killyliss House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night at Killyliss in late October as part of an ancestral trip to Co. Monaghan. Even though our reservation was made at the last minute, Pauline welcomed us warmly, and quickly did what needed to be done to prepare the room. The accommodation was very comfortable, and the breakfast excellent, served in an elegant setting. Pauline was so helpful in providing leads and local contacts for genealogy research. She is a great hostess, and we would stay there again without hesitation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nordic1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybay
4.5 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
11.3 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
14.9 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
15.7 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
721 reviews
16.8 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killyliss Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killyliss Country House

Property: Killyliss Country House
Address: Lisnalong | Monaghan. County Monaghan, Ballybay County Monaghan, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Ballybay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Killyliss Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful small country house 4 star B&B,, just 1 hour by car from Dublin,all rooms ensuite, offers free car parking, free wifi throughout the property. Home cooking a specialty, dinner each evening accompanied by fine wines. Ideal base for touring famous sites , Giants Causeway, Titanic Centre Belfast, Bushmills Distillery, Castle Leslie etc etc. A guaranteed peaceful nights sleep in the irish countryside, heated electric blankets on beds, and wake up in morning to a delicious home cooked irish breakfast with fresh baked breads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Killyliss Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing