We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, charming, with excellent food and atmosphere..”
Review of The courthouse

The courthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quaint, charming, with excellent food and atmosphere..”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were in Carrickmacross, a beautiful little town, around noon and needed a place for lunch. Someone recommended The Courthouse. We had an excellent meal in this charming Irish restaurant. The service was great, food wonderful and everyone was very friendly. There is even a cute Irish pub with a piano downstairs from the restaurant. Bring your singing voice!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    34
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford City, Ireland.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I Have visited this restaurant a couple of times Well worth the detour from the M1. Good food , excellent service and well priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kool_Thing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend ate here recently on his recommendation. I found that the menu wasn't that varied. There was a god few fish dishes, and I don't like fish, so for me there wasnt much choice. In the end I had the chicken and my boyfriend had the duck. It took a while to arrive, but we were warned about this. It was very tasty and well presented. I would have liked a bit more potatoe and veg though.

the best part about this place for me was the dessert. We both got the hot chocolate bowl and oh my god it was sooooo good!

Overall it was a good place, but it depends on what you like. Im not big on fancy places, and this was more on the fancy side of things"

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nature_geek_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clones, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, but with a twist”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I eat in this restaurant fairly often, and recently had Sunday lunch here with my husband and two young children. The menu is great, excellent value and the food is fabulous! The staff are always very friendly and approachable, even if you have forgotten to book! However I am hiding behind trip advisor to point out their major downfall. The management and chef do not appear to get along very well. Several times we have dined here at tables within earshot of the kitchen and several times we have had to distract our children so they do not hear the language being used. Whilst I understand that it is a pressured situation, I do not pay to have my family subjected to foul language and crass insults. I would just like them to be aware that the customers can hear this and that it is not exactly great family entertainment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Susanmurphykerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Michelin Quality Food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I would consider this one of the best restaurants in the area, on par with the Nuremore and Cabra Castle for flavours, but without the high prices.
There is genuine knowledge and experience put into everything; from the accompaniments the main courses etc.

They always have specials and a great early bird/lunch menu. If you love fresh, well flavoured sensible food then you simply must call in here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClanNaGaelige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The courthouse also viewed

Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
 
Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
 
Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 

Been to The courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing