We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fiddlers Elbow

The Fiddlers Elbow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Irish, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Fiddlers Elbow, located in the centre of Carrickmacross town. The bar, restaurant and nightclub is owned by the Mc Eneaney Family and has undergone major refurbishment in the past few years. A family run business which prides itself on creating a warm, homely atmosphere with genuine hospitality and an assurance of our utmost attention to your personal requirements. The Fiddlers Elbow offer carvery Lunch from €11 12pm - 3pm Daily, and a Superbly priced Bistro Menu from 3pm to late!! 4 course Weekend Special Menu for only €28.00. The Fiddlers Elbow also offers exclusive function/conference suites to suit your needs.
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Myself and my wife are regular visitors to The Fiddlers Elbow and we have never been disappointed. Whether it is a quick Carvery lunch with its fine range of dishes, or the evening menu it just keeps bring us back. On my most recent visit I had the garlic mushrooms and sirloin steak, my wife ate from the set menu which was fantastic value. The white chocolate cheesecake is a must!! The wine too was very good (a Rioja as far as i remember). Staff are always friendly and extremely efficient, the best I've seen in a long time. Delighted to see they have given the restaurant a make over (which was needed) as it totally transforms the dining areas. Always a great atmosphere here with some great music on a Saurday night with a musician playing and singing at the grand piano.

If you are visiting Carrickmacross The Fiddlers Elbow should be top on your list for dining. We will continue to return and will not hesitate in recommending these guys to anyone.

Keep up the good work everyone. Well done all round

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rlytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    55
    6
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Fiddlers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Fiddlers Elbow has recently been redecorated and as a frequent patron I feel it has breathed new life into the restaurant area. There is a carvery lunch on every day with a wide variety and it is somewhere I would'nt hesitate to bring visitors to as I know that you will never be disappointed. The staff are really lovely especially Kate who always does her best to make sure the customer Seamus McEnaney is also regularly on the premises and makes it his business to check that his customers are happy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Millie1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickmacross, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“christening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

i want to write a wee note about an excellent experience we received in the Fiddlers Elbow Carrickmacross. we had our babys christening party in the fiddlers and i cant recommend them highly enough. from our initial meeting with Barry the restaurant manager to the end of the christening party everything was flawless. the food was delicious and plenty of it, the service was top class, our every need was catered for! all of our guests were very complimentary of the day, the food and service.

i would completey recommend the Fiddlers for any event and want to thank Barry and the staff for a brilliant day !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank orla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stop and try the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We left Letterkenny the day after Paddys day to head or Dublin and while passing through Carrickmacross decided to stop off for a bite to eat. The only place that seemed to be open was the Fiddlers elbow, and what a find it was. On entering the premises we were shocked at how fantastic the décor was on the inside. From the outside it looked like a small Bar/restaurant but when you open the door to go in its like stepping into a medieval castle. The food was fantastic the service was professional and friendly and anybody eating there seemed to be a long term customer. I would defiantly go out of my way to visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Such an amazing building - very unusual decor but very nice. Had dinner here last night and absolutely loved it. They had a musician on a baby grand piano and sometimes a guitar. The place was busy but not overly so. Food was amazing with large portion sizes and a good choice. We were tempted by the set menu at 25 euros for 4 courses, but as we'd had a large lunch didn't think we could manage it!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fiddlers Elbow also viewed

Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
 
Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
 

Been to The Fiddlers Elbow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing