We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, first class staff and facilities-highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nuremore Hotel and Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I have stayed previously at the Nuremore and find it never disappoints. Our reason for going this time was a family birthday and we were a mixed group of families with young teenagers, some with small infants and elderly. The hotel meets everyone's needs. For the family members with small children there were family rooms with a a smaller bedroom adjoining the main room. This balanced privacy with proximity. the teenagers were delighted with the free internet plus the pool, whilst the fitness centre had excellent quality gym complete with TV consoles to distract one from the slog of post Christmas exercise.

The restaurant is worth a visit in itself. Two days post Christmas the menu ranged from steak, pigeon, rabbit, fish and venison all sourced from top quality producers. Variety in desserts and cheeseboard as well as an excellent wine list followed. This restaurant provides fantastic food at a reasonable price as part of the package.
However it is the people who make the Nuremore a pleasure to stay in and thanks to Sinead, Patricia, Eloise and Kevin to name just a few of the attentive staff who are always helpful and cheerful and never pretentious. The recent snow may have put some people off travel but if you want to be pampered ( I forgot to mention the spa treatments) and at the same time made feel one of the family go there. This is Irish hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NIguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 602 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2010

Had the most fantastic weekend. Food in the restaurant was out 10 out of 10 while the service and personal attention given to us by Mona and Kevin on this special night was more than we could have wished for. They were just great, gave us a real treat and a banquet of food from the top drawer. Music in the bar was excellent and we danced the night away. This is a traditional hotel where the staff are trained how to look after their guests and make them feel welcome and special. Go there to relax, enjoy the food and let the world on the N3 pass by. And its only one hour from Dublin Airport.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coolaney186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Was here with my partner for a meal, went for the prestige menu which gave a surprise course except for your main ,was a 7 course meal that was fabulious, service was excellent would recommend this restraunt any day

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dakar50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Enjoyed our stay at The Nuremore Hotel very much. Very relaxing place. Lovely surroundings and restaurant was excellent for both breakfast and dinner. Staff handled our few minor problems very satisfactorily. The only downside to the hotel is that there is very little of interest in the immediate vicinity if you don't play golf.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateCo.Down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I stayed here for two nights, attending a wedding on the second night. I had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and both the food and service was very good. The wedding meal on the second night was also very good. The hotel bar is relaxing with friendly staff. The surroundings are very nice and the golf course and club house look good. The hotel is a bit dated but is very much in the style of a country club.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

My husband and I booked in for a relaxing night away from the kids to find they had assigned us an adjoining room. On the other side of the door was a young family which we could hear all too clearly. We asked to be moved which they kindly facilitated but we were moved to a room that had not been used in goodness knows how long. I was so cold after sitting with coat and scarf for half an hour and killing about 10 small flies I had a bath to warm up whilst they brought an additional heater to the room. Service in the restaurant was all over the place - we were asked if we wanted a drink before dinner which we ordered but never received even though it appeared on the bill nothwithstanding the fact we asked for it twice. At breakfast we had to wait half an hour for our tea and toast to arrive, usually the thing that shows up first. I asked for scrambled eggs with smoked salmon but got a 'bucket load' of uncut salmon and a smiggen of scrambled eggs good value but not what you want first thing in the morning. The corridors looked like they hadn't been hoovered in weeks, the windows were dirty and the beetle outside our door looked suspiciously like a cockroach but I had to tell myself it wasn't or I would have gone home in tears. We weren't even asked when I checked out if I had enjoyed the stay so I had no opportunity to feedback our experience. The carpet at the reception was lifting and shabby, of all places you would think they would have put some effort into that area! We only go away once a year without the kids so it was very disappointing overall.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

I stayed here for a wedding with my partner and have to recommend the staff. They were excellent, Derek in the restaurant was brilliant to say the least along with Caroline and the young gentleman in the reception. The young gentleman looked after us brilliantly, didnt catch his name. The rooms were dated and definitely need to be updated. The estate looks amazing in the snow. The standard of the entrance hall, the rooms and atmosphere in the restaurant were low, but the food could just be the best I have ever had. Rates were a little steep. The wedding was fantastic, excellent wedding planner! The couple getting married were delighted. HAVE YOUR WEDDING HERE!!!!! Can not recommend the staff enough, they really made our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KingBlokeAndBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickmacross
1.4 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
244 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,376 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
11.1 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
225 reviews
23.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuremore Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuremore Hotel and Country Club

Address: Carrickmacross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Carrickmacross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Price Range: $111 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nuremore Hotel and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Nuremore Hotel is a Family owned hotel located ideally only one hour from Dublin and Belfast, the perfect location for your next leisure, business or holiday break in Ireland. With our beautifully appointed accommodation, unrivalled cuisine, superb leisure and health facilities, elegant reception areas and landscaped gardens, the Nuremore Hotel has something for everyone. Renowned for having one of the best championship length golf courses in Ireland, the Nuremore Hotel and Country Club offers golfers and non-golfers alike the chance to relax, unwind and enjoy a little luxury. With our banqueting facilities and custom-built conference centre the Nuremore Hotel is the perfect venue for weddings, family functions and business meetings in Ireland. Located in the beautiful rolling Monaghan countryside, take the time to discover an area 'less travelled' - but all the more beautiful and authentic for it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nuremore Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuremore Hotel And Country
Nuremore Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing