We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Feb 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nuremore Hotel and Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

From the moment we decided to book The Nuremore for our wedding, we were confident that the team there would look after us well.
Not only did they look after us so well, they made our day even more special by the memorable experience they provided to all our guests.

After all the madness, the preparation, the organisation and the day itself, the one thing that shone through on our wedding day at The Nuremore was the outstanding service provided by “Team Nuremore”.

Every single member of the team was fantastic, from Sinead in reservations to Brian, Kevin and John in F&B, everyone was so friendly and helpful. Reda served the top table and was absolutely brilliant, and of course Eoghan (GM) was on hand at all times to make sure everything went smoothly! A special mention must go to Louisa our Wedding Coordinator for making sure we were so relaxed on the day and looked after us so well!

The food was absolutely superb, the beef was a big hit and I am sure the kitchen team were under severe pressure trying to get the dishes out – which they did in super quick time and it was cooked to perfection!

The night after our wedding we had what was supposed to be a smaller gathering however numbers were a lot higher than expected, but there didn’t seem to be any problems at all, everything went smoothly throughout.

We would like to sincerely thank everyone for making our day so special. Since getting back from honeymoon we have been talking to many people who attended the wedding and the one thing they have all commented on was the Hotel and its friendly team and homely atmosphere – thanks again!

Niamh & Alan

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niamh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for Nuremore Hotel and Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 591 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Think it is unfair to critise the hotel and call it "dated" ,agree it is not a trendy modern hotel, more traditional, though extremely comfy. Our room was amazing, very spacious with nice view of the golf course. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, breakfast well presented with good choices, a pleasant location for a nice relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrymcsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Four of us stayed here recently & it pains me to write about our experience. I believe The Nuremore would have been excellent in days gone by, unfortunately standards are poor & I put the blame square on the the managements shoulders. Staff are poorly trained & lack direction at breakfast we had finished eating before our tea arrived and this only happened after twice requesting same.A large capital injection is required to bring the building back to some sort of acceptable standard for a four star hotel. A beautiful place let down by the owners & management. Please up your game before it's too late.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JIM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here with 3 friends on an overnight in hotel and two rounds of golf. Found all staff very friendly and helpful. Golf course was in great condition for time of year. Hotel bar and restaurant lovely and very reasonable. Rooms clean and spacious. Lovely leisure centre. All in all a great golf break. Reasonable rates, good hotel, nice golf course and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveandMary7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuremoreHotel, Manager at Nuremore Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Daveandmary, Many thanks for taking the time to write your very kind review. We are delighted you had a good time in the hotel and would be delighted to welcome you back in the future. In the meantime, best regards, Suzanne and the team at Nuremore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed for a night at the Nuremore on a Groupon deal. Was very impressed by standard of the restaurant food and the waiters (think our main one was Kevin?) were really friendly and gave great service. As others have mentioned the leisure centre area could do with being cleaned more often and the jacuzzi had a strong smell of chlorine. Other than this our stay more than met our expectations and would recommend if you can get a good deal.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Woodskaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Groupon had a great deal for 2 people B & B and golf which we purchased and used recently. Our first impression was overall fairly positive though reception did ask for a copy of our voucher, which we emailed to them for the 3rd time. On check out we were asked again, so 4 emails and they finally accepted they had our voucher.

Our room was very pleasant, much bigger than we had anticipated and covered all our needs.

We visited the spa area, hats are needed for the pool so we planned on using the jacuzzi and steam room. The jacuzzi was not warm enough and didn't appear too clean either, steam room was fine but the showers in both the ladies and gents were freezing. I couldn't find anyone to report this to but found out later that my husband did.

Dinner in the bar, restaurant was closed, was adequate though we did wonder what the Chocolate Brownie was - unlike anything we had before. Breakfast is good and will suit everyone's needs.

Our impressions were the staff were very friendly, bar was very quiet with only 15 rooms occupied and overall the hotel needs a facelift, it looks and feels tired, which is a shame because it is in a lovely setting and looking at their function room would be fantastic for a wedding.

The following morning we played golf, as we were leaving the 18th it started to rain and we both agreed if it had rained earlier we would have abandoned the golf and we're not fair weather Golfers. The course is in a fabulous location with beautiful views but, even with the recent bad weather, it was obvious that it hasn't been maintained, for financial reasons probably, which is a huge shame.

All in all it was a lovely 24 hours away, was it good value? Hmm I suppose so but I left relieved I hadn't paid any more.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carnsoreboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

we have eaten here on a regular basis and always been very happy, but recently we had a meal here and were told we cannot have the al-la-carte menu just the set dinner menu, thought this was limiting our choice and there was a whopping extra 7 euro charge on steaks, the set menu was 30 euro and was good value, but if you just want a main course you didn't have this choice in the restaurant, can't speak for any other area, did notice how ever a steak in the bar area was almost 30 euro !!!! I think this is Expensive. Not sure if we will return, maybe if they go back to the previous way of having a choice of Set menu or al-l-carte. pity- because food and service is very good

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lara1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickmacross
1.3 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
233 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,344 reviews
16.6 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
22.2 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
12.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuremore Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuremore Hotel and Country Club

Address: Carrickmacross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Carrickmacross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Price Range: $106 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nuremore Hotel and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Nuremore Hotel is a Family owned hotel located ideally only one hour from Dublin and Belfast, the perfect location for your next leisure, business or holiday break in Ireland. With our beautifully appointed accommodation, unrivalled cuisine, superb leisure and health facilities, elegant reception areas and landscaped gardens, the Nuremore Hotel has something for everyone. Renowned for having one of the best championship length golf courses in Ireland, the Nuremore Hotel and Country Club offers golfers and non-golfers alike the chance to relax, unwind and enjoy a little luxury. With our banqueting facilities and custom-built conference centre the Nuremore Hotel is the perfect venue for weddings, family functions and business meetings in Ireland. Located in the beautiful rolling Monaghan countryside, take the time to discover an area 'less travelled' - but all the more beautiful and authentic for it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Nuremore Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuremore Hotel And Country
Nuremore Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing