We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Treacys Hotel Monaghan(Carrickmacross)
$109
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shirley Arms Hotel(Carrickmacross)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookville Manor(Carrickmacross)
Booking.com
View Deal
Arradale House(Carrickmacross)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveler rating
280
195
91
51
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
195
91
51
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseleisure centrebit datedseparate roomwedding receptionan upgradefamily roomtennis courtsfirst classrelaxing weekendround of golfbar foodsaturday nightmodern hotelhot foodsteam roombeef
Filter
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 644 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

we have eaten here on a regular basis and always been very happy, but recently we had a meal here and were told we cannot have the al-la-carte menu just the set dinner menu, thought this was limiting our choice and there was a whopping extra 7 euro charge on steaks, the set menu was 30 euro and was good value, but if you just want a main course you didn't have this choice in the restaurant, can't speak for any other area, did notice how ever a steak in the bar area was almost 30 euro !!!! I think this is Expensive. Not sure if we will return, maybe if they go back to the previous way of having a choice of Set menu or al-l-carte. pity- because food and service is very good

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lara1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Went on a groupon deal. Very good value. Was impressed by the staff. Nothing was too much for them. Ate in bar and meal was excellent. Good location for one night stay if coming from north. Swimming pool was a good size and good opening times. Overall a very good stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Just getting ready to check out so thought is review whilst fresh in my mind.
On booking we were apprehensive due to some bad reviews.
On arrival I have to say we were delighted. The hotel has everything you need for a relaxing break. As a family of 6 adults, 2 children and a baby we were all happy. Beautiful lobby area, lovely bar and rooms were really comfortable.
The staff were probably some of the friendliest I've met in hotels.
The food was fab in both the bar and restaurant. The staff in the restaurant at night couldn't do enough. Exceptional.
My only quibble is the breakfast. Stuff ran out quickly and took awhile to be replaced. Minor prob tho as we were not rushing.
Yes as one reviewer mentioned the carpets on stairs were a little tired but certainly nothing to put us off whatsoever.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will deffo be back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at the Nuremore last week for a wedding. The hotel has a wonderful setting just outside Carrickmacross and even on an overcast weekend the grounds looked immaculate. The hotel has a lovely homely feel to it, very welcoming traditional lobby with some modern touches. Our room was great, plenty of space and a lovely view overlooking the grounds.
It is often difficult to get a proper feel for a hotel when at a wedding, but we were staying on for a second night so got to experience all of the facilities. The leisure centre, bar and restaurant are all great - relaxing and welcoming throughout. However, the two stand-out features of this hotel are without doubt the food and the staff. The wedding meal was wonderful but more importantly the food in the bar and restaurant over the rest of the weekend were really top class - a Saturday afternoon spent in the bar watching Ireland beat Wales with a relaxing late lunch and amazing Bloody Mary - life is good!
Breakfast is great and they even accommodated us after the official finish time on a lazy Sunday morning. I have to mention the staff throughout the hotel, they are a wonderful team and genuinely go above and beyond to please their guests - the barman even got in a fantastic rendition of "You raise me up" on Saturday night :-)
The Nuremore do the simple things really well and the staff truly make it a memorable experience. Looking forward to another visit soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Si0bhanOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Went with 5 friends (all girls) on a Groupon deal - we had a lovely time. Golf (which was included in the deal for 3 of us) was rained off (not Hotel's fault - we went in February in the middle of a storm!) - but the girls who had booked spa packages rather than golf had good experience. Dined in Hotel Restauarnt (not part of the deal) on the Saturday night - good ambience, service, excellent food and at 30 euros 3 for courses very good value. Carrickmacross itself was good craic -we had a bit of a pub crawl watching rugby and football and met freindly locals, including taxi driver who brought us to and from the Hotel af few times for just a couple of euro a head. Hotel a bit dated (I'm sure it was absolutely stunning 25/30 years ago) - but rooms very comfortable, and a 'away from it all' location just 15 minutes off the motorway. Would go again for a short break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottonefiveone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuremoreHotel, General Manager at Nuremore Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear reviewer, I am delighted to read your kind comments on the treatment rooms experience, excellent food, service and good value. We are very happy you enjoyed your time as a group and look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Best regards, Eoin Pardy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews