We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveler rating
284
198
93
52
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
198
93
52
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseleisure centrebit datedseparate roomwedding receptionan upgradefamily roomtennis courtsfirst classbar foodrelaxing weekendround of golfsaturday nightsteam roommodern hotelhot foodbeef
Filter
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 654 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Went with 5 friends (all girls) on a Groupon deal - we had a lovely time. Golf (which was included in the deal for 3 of us) was rained off (not Hotel's fault - we went in February in the middle of a storm!) - but the girls who had booked spa packages rather than golf had good experience. Dined in Hotel Restauarnt (not part of the deal) on the Saturday night - good ambience, service, excellent food and at 30 euros 3 for courses very good value. Carrickmacross itself was good craic -we had a bit of a pub crawl watching rugby and football and met freindly locals, including taxi driver who brought us to and from the Hotel af few times for just a couple of euro a head. Hotel a bit dated (I'm sure it was absolutely stunning 25/30 years ago) - but rooms very comfortable, and a 'away from it all' location just 15 minutes off the motorway. Would go again for a short break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottonefiveone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuremoreHotel, General Manager at Nuremore Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear reviewer, I am delighted to read your kind comments on the treatment rooms experience, excellent food, service and good value. We are very happy you enjoyed your time as a group and look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Best regards, Eoin Pardy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Good value room and breakfast. Room v good, dinner good but only served in bar. Staff were very helpful and hotel was lovely and warm on a cold January night. Hotel quite isolated so not a lot to do if you're not a golfer

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuremoreHotel, Manager at Nuremore Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review and I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to confirm that at this time of year mid week, the A la Carte Dinner Menu is served in the Ivy Bar, along with a more bistro style menu. The Restaurant at Nuremore is currently open at weekends. For non golfers, we have the leisure club, tennis courts and snooker room on property. Carrickmacross town is a short distance from the hotel, is a market town with museums, restaurants and shopping. The Patrick Kavanagh Centre, Dun a Ri Forest Park and a host of activities are within a 10 mile radius. We also have walking and biking trails from the hotel. All information on local attractions and day trips are available from reception or on our website. We do hope you choose to return to the hotel one day and take advantage of all Monaghan has to offer. In the meantime, kind regards, Suzanne Gilhooly, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a groupon deal and for value it was 5 out of 5. We dealt with sinead when booking and she couldn't have been more helpful - organising our party with great efficiency.
Due to the wet weather we were only able to play 9 holes of golf but we found the course in great condition for the time of year and the pro was very friendly and helpful. The better halves went to the spa area and were a little disappointed the jacuzzi was cold and they were unable to book any treatments.
We booked the restaurant but unfortunately someone had stolen our table. However, Kevin, sorted us out and while we had to wait a while for a table we gratefully enjoyed a complementary drink. The food was great - much better than we anticipated. Two of our friends are celiac and the waiting staff were knowledgeable and helpful. The creme brulee is lovely.
Kevin proved his versatility later on in the bar and gave us an operatic rendition of 'You raise me up'. The craic in the bar was good and the crowd was younger than you might have thought.

All in all it was great to get away and we all felt we had a good value night. The hotel is a little dated and tired in places and if you are seeking indulgence then you will pay more elsewhere. But if you are looking comfort, warmth, enjoyment and value then Nuremore is a good a place to discover.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank alanandkarenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have just had a super weekend at the Nuremore. My whole family descended on the hotel for our annual weekend away. There were 17 of us, 12 adults & 5 children. While the decor could do with a bit of updating the level of service we received was outstanding. The standard rooms were large and the family rooms are well designed with two separate sleeping areas. The food in bar as great on our first night and the bar staff could not have been more accommodating. We ate in the restaurant on the second evening and had a really lovely meal. Again the level of service was excellent. The breakfast was standard enough but well presented. Even when the youngest member of the family came down with a raging temperature in the middle of the night the reception staff were able to provide us with some calpol. The pool was great, although it was a bit cold on the Sunday. All in all we had a super weekend and will definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fa_Darcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I got married in this hotel 5 years ago and went back to stay with my husband and son.

Room was lovely and we got an upgrade which was lovely, our room had a big bathroom and a room for our son, it was very clean however the TV was very poor.

Dinner was to a very high standard and it was a lovely evening. Very relaxing and great food!

Overall had a great stay however few problems, hotel needs a face lift and the pool area was very cold!
But first class staff and food!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews