We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing good value weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nuremore Hotel and Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nuremore Hotel and Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing good value weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We got a very good deal for 2 N/B/B and spa treatment which turned out to be very relaxing. There was an offer of a round of golf but we are not golfers. We made good use of the spa facilities. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The restaurant which had a 2012 Bridgestone award served fantastic food for both breakfast and dinner. The first morning was quiet and the staff said they could cook up anything we wanted for breakfast and to our amazement with over a 100 to serve the next morning the staff were just as helpful. It was a pity we didn't have the weather to enjoy the lovely gardens. Some areas of the Hotel may have looked a little tired and old but this didn't take away from the stay. We would go again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course have lovely views and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    166
    73
    43
    22
See reviews for
156
225
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here recently for a friend’s wedding.

The hotel itself is set in a beautiful setting and is very impressive as you come through the entrance way.

The greeting from the staff at reception is as good as I've ever experienced and we found that was to continue throughout our stay.

Unfortunately our room was a little dated and we had a problem with the toilet not flushing. The staff did their best to fix the problem but it wasn't remedied by the time we left.

Our visit to the leisure centre was fine but we just felt it wasn't as good as it could have been. Again this was due to it being a little dated and perhaps needing a facelift.

The following morning’s breakfast was not up to scratch in my opinion. It was a buffet style breakfast but with you being served your hot items by a member of staff. Unfortunately, for me, for the price of our stay I would expect to be served a freshly cooked breakfast delivered to my table.

All in all the hotel is nice and the staff very pleasant, but to me it’s just a little over priced for its current condition. Pity, because it is so close to being great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cobtageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a 3 star hotel, which has a 4 star rating but charges 5 star prices. The hotel overall is 10 years past a makeover and is well short of 4 star standard. The public areas are generally very shabby, worn carpets, shocking lifts and unwashed windows. Leisure centre is very poor - worn carpet tiles etc.
Staff are friendly and nice - no complaints there. We were quoted €325 for a family room for 1 night including dinner, but left within 1 hour of check-in.
To put my review in context here are some other 3 and 4 star hotels with leisure centres, in which we have stayed recently, all of which were far superior and substantially cheaper:
Hillgrove Hotel, Monaghan; Maldron Hotel, Barrow street Dublin, Radisson Blu, Galway; Lady Gregory, Gort (3 star). The 5 star Druids Glen in Wicklow is the same price and infinitely superior.
Overall very disappointing and not recommended at the prices charged.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 123West123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed here with the Groupon deal which was good value including a massage and bottle of wine plus b&b for 99 euros. The hotel was adequate and quiet cosy, rooms were spacey and comfortable but could be updated a little.

Food was tasty and good quality but service was terrible, i was waiting nearly 1 hour for bar food . The portion was also tiny for the amount paid so i was quiet annoyed.

The massage was nice and the leisure facilities were ok, but again needs some work, but not too bad.

Overall was a nice stay but wouldnt come back because of the bar food portion size and bad service we got that night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colin_morrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuremoreHotel, Manager at Nuremore Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Colin,
Thank you for your review and I am most disappointed to read your comments about a delay in service in the Ivy Bar. . Please accept my sincere apologies if you were unhappy with your dinner experience and I will discuss your feedback with the relevant staff. If you do give us the opportunity to cater for you again, please let me know. Best regards, Suzanne, Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The restaurant only opens Fri - Sun although bar food is available throughout the week. We booked a table on Saturday night and had a wonderful meal - great food, top class service and a great atmosphere for a hotel dining room. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at the Nuremore on the weekend of the 22nd February with my husband and some friends. The rooms were beautiful and a good size. The facilities were very good. I had a treatment on the saturday morning in the spa and it was lovely, really relaxing. The men in the group played golf on the Saturday and the course was very good for the time of year.
We had a meal in the restaurant which was excellent. I ordered scallops for starters but was dissapointed at the size of them. But the rest of meal was great. Wine a bit pricey.
Overall great stay and would recommend the hotel for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuremoreHotel, Manager at Nuremore Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Sandra. Thank you for review and I am delighted to read your comments regarding your stay with us. I do hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Nuremore in the future. Kind regards, The Team at Nuremore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were attending a wedding so only stayed the one night. Had never stayed there before so didn’t know what to expect. Once you enter the hotel grounds the drive to the hotel itself was very picturesque. On entering my first impression was that the hotel was not exactly modern and had a combined powdered carpet freshener / musty smell but this did not take away from its charm. It was spotlessly clean throughout. We didn’t use the leisure facilities but the pool & tennis courts looked good. Our room was on the second floor & was quite spacious for a basic. It was close to reception so I presume it was in the original part of the house-i.e. old! The décor was like the hotel itself not exactly modern but once again did not take away from the room. The TV was of the old big silver box type which is getting rarer these days and the channel selection was poor. The wardrobe had white French doors which once again added to the charm. The bathroom was bright & up to date and had a heated floor. The bed was HUGE!! I’d say 3 people could have slept in it-it even had 6 pillows. We had a quick bite to eat in the bar & our food arrived fairly quickly and was lovely. The young staff were very polite and a pleasure to deal with. Couldn’t see a tv so if there was a sporting event on I don’t know where I could have watched it. it.
The wedding reception seemed to be in a different building as we couldn’t walk through the main part of the hotel to get to it but instead had to go outside and walk across to another area and it was FREEZING COLD that night. Breakfast the next morning was the usual fry/continental, and was fine; we were givens loads of hot toast too. Overall we enjoyed our stay, it’s a very relaxing hotel but more suitable for the mature type of visitor. Having said that I’d probably go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rodzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickmacross
1.4 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
14.7 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
16.6 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
12.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuremore Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuremore Hotel and Country Club

Property: Nuremore Hotel and Country Club
Address: Carrickmacross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Carrickmacross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nuremore Hotel and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Nuremore Hotel is a Family owned hotel located ideally only one hour from Dublin and Belfast, the perfect location for your next leisure, business or holiday break in Ireland. With our beautifully appointed accommodation, unrivalled cuisine, superb leisure and health facilities, elegant reception areas and landscaped gardens, the Nuremore Hotel has something for everyone. Renowned for having one of the best championship length golf courses in Ireland, the Nuremore Hotel and Country Club offers golfers and non-golfers alike the chance to relax, unwind and enjoy a little luxury. With our banqueting facilities and custom-built conference centre the Nuremore Hotel is the perfect venue for weddings, family functions and business meetings in Ireland. Located in the beautiful rolling Monaghan countryside, take the time to discover an area 'less travelled' - but all the more beautiful and authentic for it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nuremore Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuremore Hotel And Country
Nuremore Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing