We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riverbank Country Pub And Restaurant

The Riverbank Country Pub And Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unbelievable place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had two nights dinning in the Riverbank. We were so overwhelmed with the Restaurant that we just had to go a second time.
The place is so picturesque and the food is simply the best you will ever have.
The menu is to a fabulous standard and the taste is just out of this world.
The service is of the highest quality and the staff are the friendliest you could ever meet.
Do yourself a favour and check this place out.
My description won't even justify the magnificence that the Riverbank is.
Will be back as often as we can
Thank you to all at the Riverbank

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    23
    3
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
monaghan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“cant fault it one bit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Ive been here several times with family and friends, and each time we have had great service, and great food. The place has a really warm atmosphere, and very welcoming staff. The menu have always a great selection to choose from, and great value for money. My husband has a strict diet and the Manager Lochlainn and staff ALWAYS accomodate him in finding a suitable meal, which is always very tasty. I ordered Pork and Spinach stuffed with Choritzo and it was the nicest meal ive had in a long time..10/10. We havent always booked, but were are always happy to wait and have a drink at the bar until a table is ready...def no complaints from us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andreamissyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gem of a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was my 3rd visit to this "Gem of a restaurant" and had liked it so much I encouraged 8 other's to accompany us last night. Everyone was equally as impressed as me which in itself says it all. Staff were great and Lochlainn is a great host. A fabulous getaway in the middle of nowhere with no phone signal, a must for anyone who wants to get away from it all....great food, great atmosphere, great value. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie3555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The customer is always WRONG!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our group visited here again on 12th jan 2014. Not a nice experience. After waiting half an hour for our meal although the place not busy, we learned that the staff become argumentative and full of excuses when you complain. The portions were small and when we asked for more vegetables, we were met with further resistance and they didnt arrive until after we had finished our meal. The food was fine - if you could get enough of it! World war three nearly broke out at the counter as we were paying when all staff members joined in to argue and offer excuses. Instead of trying to remedy the situation they overcharged us AGAIN! (This happens every time we go there). We will definitely not be returning and my advise would be if you are thinking of visiting, dont veer off the main route to this establishment, there are plenty of other options where you can get a good swift meal, served with courtesy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank carrick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“It is what it says on the label”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Visited here recently with friends. Had booked a table for 8.30 and finally sat down at 9.30 - excuse was that they had a function to cater for. Service was friendly. Food was what I expected - good pub grub. Would prefer to be told to expect delay. Will return but will insist on seating time.
Place was too busy to relax with no seating room at bar so available table a must.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank conagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverbank Country Pub And Restaurant also viewed

Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
 
Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
 

Been to The Riverbank Country Pub And Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing