We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed never left a restaurant hungry before”

The Riverbank Country Pub And Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
galway city
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very disappointed never left a restaurant hungry before”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This pub/restaurant is in a nice country location, the place itself is nice and country style and really welcoming, the service is very good and the food is serviced out fast, you need to book in advance as it is small and any small number of people and its nearly full.

So that all the good bits, the food was tasy but the portions wouldnt fill a child, they really want you to be buying extra portions say chips, mash, veg etc at 5euro a go, there was a party of 8 of us and no one was impressed with the portions, yes the fod was tasty and well cooked and the 20euro 4 course sounds good but leaving a restauant hungry is not a good sign..

I did mention it to the waitress about the portion size and she did get embarassed and said thats the way the chef serves the dishes, the ceaser salad as a starter was a joke, 1 leaf lettuce with about 5 croutons and couple bit bacon it was really a let down, most got this as a starter and were very disappointed, i got the supreme chicken on a small bed of mash that wouldn't fill a child, for 8 people we got 3 little bowels of veg and 2 wee buckets of french fries, as the portions were so small we ordered extra chips and veg, the chips then came out cremated and while I did tell the waitress she told me the kitchen was now closed!!

So no I won't be back again when there are so many places doing a deal on 3 or 4 courses for similar money and after them you wouldn't be fit to move, so very disappointed in all and I wouldn't recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ben b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    23
    3
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty and affordable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Lovely place for food and a quiet drink. Four courses are just 20 euros at the weekend and it is advised that you make a booking. There are other deal options to choose from also and the food is very tasty. The fishcake starter is always a favourite with us and the lemon tart with ice-cream is a nice way to finish.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickmacross
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Homely Food-Quirky design”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stopped in out of the rain for dinner here with the kids...herself is away! Was nicely surprised with the decor, very rich and individual. The waitress was friendly and made time for Jack and Amanda, giving them umbrellas in their cordial. We just had main courses, the kids had beef stroganoff with popadoms which they polished off with no complaint (they are fairly fussy so well pleased with an hour's peace!) I had a steak which was excellent and came with baby potatoes. The portion was large which suited me. I ordered coffee which was filtered and could have been hotter for my taste. First time here although from Carrick....will be back. Thanks to the waitress with the red hair, Emma, I think, for looking after us.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“so very very let down....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

went out to the riverbank this evening after booking last night , to assure they actually catered for vegetarians... wow what a let down, while booking a gentleman with an English accent (whom i now believe to be the chef) assured my husband that yes i would be catered for.. he mentioned one option, but confirmed to my husband that there would be others. while settling with my four children on our arrival i was informed there was no vegetarian menu. the young guy in behind the bar said he would ask the chef could he do anything apart from mushroom stroganoff, contrary to popular opinion not all vegetarians eat mushrooms.. was told the chef was only prepared to offer a pasta solution. so i decided on salad .. enough said there for vegetarians. so sat quietly while hubby and children placed their orders.. fishcake to start with followed by chicken wrapped in ham . kids ordered the perfunctory chips..took 50 minutes for chips to appear, but only after my son asked about their whereabouts... the menu led us to believe that the chips were home cut!! they were frozen and burned, might explain the delay. the fishcakes were without doubt from lidl. and the following main dish of chicken was smothered in what hubby believes to be erin packet gravy .. and according to my eldest son mcdonalds would have been like a 5 star restaurant compared to the riverbank...i agree. to say that the food was poor is being charitable.. the service extremely poor. nothing good to say about this restaurant whatsoever.. keep your money in your pockets... while trying to complain said manager couldn't manage the time to pacify customers.. seriously stay away....

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Clarkemc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrickmacross
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“quite and peacefull”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

nice place to eat some of the seats were a bit uncomfortable bur food was good

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank olachas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverbank Country Pub And Restaurant also viewed

Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
 
Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
Carrickmacross, County Monaghan
 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 

Been to The Riverbank Country Pub And Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing