We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Wedding”
Review of Shirley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shirley Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickmacross, Ireland
1 review
“Dream Wedding”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had our wedding reception there on the 31st December 2012 and we couldnt have asked for more the staff were excellent and they help make our day very special.All our guests had nothing but good to say about the food and the accomidation. A special thanks to Micheal and Fiona for all their help in making our special day one to remember for everyone.
Mr & Mrs Wynne

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    59
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
48
67
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just returned from a family meal at the Shirley Arms Hotel in Carrickmacross, two adults and four children, only one word to describe it " Excellent" the food was second to none and the willingness to satisfy the customer is unrivalled. I have to say I am looking forward to getting back for more. The seafood chowder especially yummy.Thanks to everyone

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkemc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

I'm currently in this hotel having come home for Xmas. Very surprised at the quality of the interior.

Not long here but the service has been v good so far.

Now time to get up and hit Dublin for the last of my shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blonde_with_brain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have never slept in this hotel... however I eat here regularly... andtravel from Ardee esp for their seafood chowder... My only gripe is the varying standards of the food.. on certain days... it is 100% and on others it is 10%... I have recommended the SA to many friends.. and some have had the same experience as I have... other's though I was mad... as the food was sooo bad.. It probably depends on which chef is on... which is a bad sign...
I will continue to visit...and see

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darren f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micheal M, General Manager at Shirley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback following your recent experiences with us in Shirley Arms Hotel

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our famous Seafood Chowder because at the Shirley Arms Hotel,we endeavour to provide quality of service and especially of food. Because of this, I was disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with certain elements of our food. We encourage all our customers if there is a problem or issue with the quality of service, food or with their stay in the Shirley Arms to mention it to one of our staff or management on duty before they depart and we will do our utmost to resolve the issue. We strive to uphold top class service and food, consistency is vital in maintaining this.

I would gladly welcome the opportunity to discuss this in further detail with you.

Please find my contact details below.

Micheal Muldoon
General Manager
042 9673100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Having recently visited the nice little town of Carrickmacross in Co. Monaghan on a business trip, the Shirley Arms had been recommended by a business acquaintance.
I entered the hotel at approximately 6pm mid week from a blustery winter evening in November I was delighted to find a lovely warm comfortable and clearly newly refurbished foyer.
The smiley young receptionist was most happy to tell me that there was availability of accommodation for that night.
I duly booked in with her having been give a commercial rate of €70, but I did tell her I felt the rates mid week in November were a bit excessive but she assured me it was a very comfortable small hotel and they actually had absolutely no problem filling the hotel rooms at this price. She pointed out that there was FREE WiFi in the hotel. I mentioned to her that I might be interested in booking a meeting room in the future if the conferencing facilities were what I was looking for. She pointed to where the meeting room was but made no attempt to show me. When I asked if there was any special rates for dinner for residents the answer was no.
I advised the young lady that I required a secure car park she gave me instructions on how to find the car park and how to re enter the hotel through a slip way.
I parked my car, lifted out my four pieces of luggage and wandered around the car park for several minutes in the pouring rain before finding a set of stairs that led to two more flihgts of stairs to a side door in the hotel.
There was no signage what so ever to indicate how the hotel could be accessed from the car park.
I finally struggled through the side door to enter the foyer beside the check in desk.
When I mentioned to the receptionist that she might have let me know there were three flights of stairs to the hotel entrance she gaily giggled at me. When I suggested someone might help with my luggage as I am a disabled driver she promptly told me there weren't any porters.
I was delighted to get into a warm bedroom, only to discover there was no bath for me to soak my weary bones in.
I phoned reception and asked if it would be possible to have a room with a bath. I was told that that would not be possible as the only rooms with baths were to the front of the hotel. I presume these rooms didn't have the same breath-taking view of a block wall that I had.
I resolved to sit down at my laptop and do a few hours work.
Alas it was not to be - no WiFi reception.
Again I phoned reception and asked if it might be resolved and was told that in fact there was no problem with WiFi, there had been earlier but the manager had fixed it. Then she said the problem must be to do with the weather.
At this stage I was exasperated.
I told her I wasn't very happy and felt that I would like to check out, at which she replied I should speak to the manager.
I did say that I wasn't really interested in speaking to the manager unless there was something he/she could do for me.
I was put on hold for what seemed like 5 minutes but am sure it was probably no longer that 2 min.
The manager came on the line and wanted to know why I wanted to check out. I outlined my problems that I've detailed above and he told me that if I wasn't happy I could check out.
When I asked if he had the number of any local B & B he said he knew there was another hotel a few miles outside the town but I wouldn't get the quality of accommodation like this hotel had to offer and hung upon me.
Again as I struggled out the door I was offered no assistance, not even the door opened for me.
Looks can be deceiving.
I certainly was tired and probably a bit cranky that evening and I had even told the manager this, which in my mind would have been a perfect opportunity for him to sell his hotel's finer points to me.
Beautiful building from what I saw of it but as far as customer service goes - completely non existent.
About an hour later I found a nice modest little B & B on the outskirts of the town. It didn't have WiFi, but it hadn't advertised WiFi, it had a most gracious hostess who provided me with a bath even though there wasn't one in the room I stayed in.
She gave me a choice of bedrooms but suggested the smallest one as it was much warmer.
She made sure I knew how to use the new TV apparatus for the Saor View, and gave me extra blankets.
I will be visiting her again and I would suggest the Shirley Arms send their management there for a course in customer care.
The manager was correct I did not get accommodation to their standard, I found somewhere much better.
Ostentatious surroundings certainly are luxurious and welcome, but when push comes to shove give me a friendly face and somebody who's prepared to put their guest's needs first any day. Pity she didn't have meeting rooms.
Shirley Arms - you've just missed an opportunity of a corporate contract.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micheal M, General Manager at Shirley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent experience at Shirley Arms Hotel. Your constructive feedback allows us the opportunity to review and improve upon the hotels facilities and services. I was very disappointed to note that you experienced a far from perfect stay during your recent visit. The Management and Staff of the Shirley Arms Hotel pride themselves on quality of services and our business customers are extremely important to the hotel and are always treated with warmth and kindness by all our staff. We offer to all our business customers the newer end of the building as it suits their requirements and although we did have difficulties that particular week with the WIFI facilities & we apologise for this(WIFI is now in working order), but we do offer the service of accessing the internet through ""plug in" in all our rooms. The receptionist on duty on this particular night is extremely diligent in all her duties so to be honest I was quite surprised by your review. Our corporate clients who occupy 90% of our rooms Monday - Friday have often reflected how welcome they feel in the hotel and all our management and staff are on a first name basis with most of our corporate clients. It is most unfortunate that you did not feel this on your stay and we do wish you all the very best.

Kind Regards,
Micheal Muldoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Attended a fantastic wedding here in September. Beautiful hotel inside and out, food was fabulous and a special mention has to go to the staff who really went above and beyond for everyone. Really highly recommended! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuffyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micheal M, General Manager at Shirley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
I am delighted that the experience you had with us at the Shirley Arms Hotel, has prompted you to share your comments on Trip Advisor. We wish to provide the highest quality of service and food for all our bride and grooms and indeed their guests as it is the most important day of their lives. We are happy that you had a memorable time with us and I will share your kind words of appreciation with our team.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Micheal Muldoon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inishowen donegal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed 1 night for a 40th birthday at the shirley arms such a beautiful hotel warm and inviting . had such a lovely meal the quality of service was excellant the staff was so friendly and helpful a night to remember THANK YOU SHIRLEY ARMS XXXX

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickmacross
4.9 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,280 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
10.1 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
656 reviews
24.8 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,452 reviews
13.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Arms Hotel

Property: Shirley Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrickmacross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Carrickmacross
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shirley Arms Hotel is just an hour's drive from Dublin and Belfast, centrally located in the busy market town of Carrickmacross famous for its lace and where Patrick Kavanagh penned his famous poetry. If you are touring or on business, fancy a game of golf or just seeking a place to relax, the 4* Shirley Arms Hotel provides the perfect haven for lesiure or business traveller. The Shirley Arms offers something for everyone throughout the day and evening. From early morning we serve freshly brewed coffee, baked scones, pastries and traditional Full Irish Breakfast. Roast Carvery is served daily. In the afternoons the popular Shirley Grill Menu offers a wide and varied menu in luxurious surroundings, it is the perfect place to relax, wind down, meet friends and soak in the atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Shirley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing