We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding venue”
Review of Shirley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shirley Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding venue”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Attended a fantastic wedding here in September. Beautiful hotel inside and out, food was fabulous and a special mention has to go to the staff who really went above and beyond for everyone. Really highly recommended! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuffyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micheal M, General Manager at Shirley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
I am delighted that the experience you had with us at the Shirley Arms Hotel, has prompted you to share your comments on Trip Advisor. We wish to provide the highest quality of service and food for all our bride and grooms and indeed their guests as it is the most important day of their lives. We are happy that you had a memorable time with us and I will share your kind words of appreciation with our team.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Micheal Muldoon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    61
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
48
68
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inishowen donegal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed 1 night for a 40th birthday at the shirley arms such a beautiful hotel warm and inviting . had such a lovely meal the quality of service was excellant the staff was so friendly and helpful a night to remember THANK YOU SHIRLEY ARMS XXXX

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Even allowing for the fact we were after finishing 3 nights in the huge rooms at Harvey's Point in Donegal Town this room was abysmal. Be afraid of the mysterious Room that is 112 !! First off there is no signs for it, when we asked a cleaner she said it was behind the secret door, basically a plain white door which leads into a 3x3 corridor with two hotel rooms in it, one of which was Room 112.

The room was tiny, cold, noisy and had a large deep crack from bathroom door to ceiling. The room service breakfast card was still there filled in by the previous occupant (poor woman), assume even the staff couldn't find this room. If you are handed key to this room, leave !! Hotel was pretty empty so why they decide to dump people in this room a mystery, I assume (hope) the other rooms are better.

Staff were fine, breakfast was fab and lady serving was very nice indeed.

Watch out for the exit to the carpark which means walking across decking which was very wet, my wife took a very heavy fall, this could be extremely dangerous for older people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedGooseDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micheal M, General Manager at Shirley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Shirley Arms Hotel. We at the hotel appreciate reviews by our valued customers as it gives our guests the opportunity to give their opinion whether it is a compliment or constructive criticism. But unfortunately this review is not only untrue but is full of false innuendos. We pride ourselves on quality of service and product and all our 25 rooms are approved by Failte Ireland and the AA. Five of these room are part of the original interior of the hotel as we endeavored to keep the character of the hotel. These rooms have received a total refurbishment and one of these rooms is our Bridal Suite so the quality is extremely high. After an extensive investigation, the result of which is on check in these "guests" were advised that the hotel was full and had been for the previous two weeks as we had two Belgian & German groups staying with us. They would be staying in room 112, they were accompanied by a member of our reception team to the room and at no time where they speaking to a member of our housekeeping. Our hotel is a small boutique and unfortunately this guests reviews paints a very distorted picture of the hotel. Safety and security of our guests is of utmost importance of the Shirley Arms Management & staff, so we were shocked and concerned by this guests "alleged" fall on our decking area. We have in place since the construction of the decking area a non slip surface and is clearly lit around this area. We apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we shall certainly address some of the issues you have highlighted. The review in general was untrue and unfair to our future guests we hope we have the opportunity to prove this review to be incorrect.

Micheal Muldoon
General Manager
The Shirley Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, MI
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Shirley Arms...We were very surprised at the beautiful hotel.. So glad that the outside is the same as it looked in 1880s. But, inside you will be surprised at the modern rooms with a excellent restaurant area. Very relaxing setting, even if you just want a cup of coffee and sit to chat.. Very accomodating. Great breakfast too! Thanks to the wonderful staff. Jim also was so very helpful..If you are in Carrickmacross be sure and stay there.. Also just outside the steps take the free Tour with Charles..He is fantastic and you will enjoy the walk around Carrickmacross.. It is on Saturday morning at 11am.. Don't miss it if you are there. Thumbs up for Shirley Arms a very historical hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micheal M, General Manager at Shirley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
It was a pleasure to read such a positive review about the Shirley Arms Hotel and about the great Carrickmacross Tour! I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post it.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay with us and we certainly hope that we can welcome you back to the Shirley Arms Hotel

Micheal Muldoon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nice hotel, good evening meals & large portions. Good bar & service. Rooms are clean but can be noisy if you get one overlooking the rear when they collect the bins. Breakfast is average & served with some vigour by the lady serving! Overall, a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_A50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadington, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My whole family stayed here last month and really enjoyed ourselves. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and our rooms were clean and comfortable. It included everything we needed during our stay. My favorite part was the restaurant...the food was EXCELLENT!!! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_S564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here recently whilst on business, the hotel is very clean and the rooms are well equipped and have plenty of space. No noise at all from adjoining rooms which is a big bonus for me.
Restaurant food was good, portions are quite large but sometimes the menu goes a little OTT in describing the meals, leading one to expect more sophisticated food than is actually served. As for the "frying basket" that Fish and Chips is served in, it just makes eating the meal a major challenge!
Overall I would say that this is a well run hotel with friendly and efficient staff and suits both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickmacross
4.9 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,302 reviews
16.9 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
671 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
209 reviews
13.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
15.4 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Arms Hotel

Property: Shirley Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrickmacross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Carrickmacross
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shirley Arms Hotel is just an hour's drive from Dublin and Belfast, centrally located in the busy market town of Carrickmacross famous for its lace and where Patrick Kavanagh penned his famous poetry. If you are touring or on business, fancy a game of golf or just seeking a place to relax, the 4* Shirley Arms Hotel provides the perfect haven for lesiure or business traveller. The Shirley Arms offers something for everyone throughout the day and evening. From early morning we serve freshly brewed coffee, baked scones, pastries and traditional Full Irish Breakfast. Roast Carvery is served daily. In the afternoons the popular Shirley Grill Menu offers a wide and varied menu in luxurious surroundings, it is the perfect place to relax, wind down, meet friends and soak in the atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Shirley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing