We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Irish Perfection!”
Review of Shirley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shirley Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is a place I have been driving past for years and whilst attending the hustle and bustle of the Carrickmacross festival, decided to wander in for a bite to eat with some friends! Well we were simply blown away by the overall experience!
- The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more efficient.
- The food was out of this world and plenty of it. The is no compromise on quality for value!
- The ambience was delightful.
- The interior was trendy and simply stunning.
Overall, just a fabulous gastro experience!

Plus, but perhaps most importantly, the lovely friendly barman Brendan! He is the type of barman that Irish pubs were once famous for, knowledgeable, charismatic, witty and with a great smile, but alas, now unfortunately, are a rarity! If we could clone him, we'd make a fortune again and rise out of the ashes once more!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreifneSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOK08, Public Relations Manager at Shirley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for choosing The Shirley Arms Hotel for your recent trip to Carrickmacross.

It is a pleasure to read such a positive review and we appreciate you taking the time to post it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a memorable experience.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

The Shirley Arms Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 237 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Happy to recommend this hotel.
Staff cheerful, helpful and made us feel relaxed from the very start. We stayed in a room in the new extention . It was very large (by todays standards) spotlessly clean with a massive bed which guaranteed a very good sleep especially as the hotel was quiet at night., A good sized bathroom had a power shower that I had trouble getting my husband out of!.We ate in the hotel one night and were more than happy with the meal, The breakfasts were very good. There is a popular and comfortable lounge bar which is basically open until you want to go to bed!
We didn't have time for spa facilities but the hotel is also close to a good golf course and was great for touring the area.

Room Tip: we were happy in the new extention overlooking the back of the hotel as very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewirraltwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOK08, Public Relations Manager at Shirley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Shirley Arms Hotel.

It is encouraging to hear that the service you received from our staff was good. They work hard to ensure that each guest has a memorable experience and we will be sure to share your kind comments with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

The Shirley Arms Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

single traveller staying for the weekend;greeted at reception and checked in quickly;given directions to the Sulis Holistic centre(class!!!) for a hot stone massage which was fantastic!Room was spacious,clean and had all amenties listed.THe breakfast was substantial and evening meal delicious.Housekeeping left my undisturbed with extra towels and toiletires etc outside my door which I appreciated.I left my phone in the room on departure and a girl ran out after me and returned it which Im very grateful for.Overall a very central hotel with a friendly staff.lots to do in Carrickmacross with lots of little shops especially Sineads in the centre.Will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackyguggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOK08, Public Relations Manager at Shirley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted your room was comfortable and that you enjoyed your evening meal. We work alongside the Sulis Holistic centre for 'Pamper Me Packages' and other types of packages. They offer a fantastic service and we are delighted that you enjoyed it.

Many Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

The Shirley Arms Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Ate here last week with my friend. Not a great choice on menu sadly. Opted for a cweet chilli chicken wrap which was thrown together and fell apart on picking it up. I was also disgusted to see a line of yellow scum on rim of milk jug,it obviously hadn't had a good wash in a day of two. We left hungry, and with a price of over 9 euro for tea and a wrap I felt hard done by. On a good note,toilets are spotless,staff pleasent and they have a Slimming World menu!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Cliodhna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you for your recent contribution to Trip Advisor. We pride ourselves of quailty of product and of service and we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your food experience here in the Shirley Arms Hotel. We have a extensive Lunch Menu that caters for any type of tastes if you are vegetarian or coeliac we can cater for you. We advise all customers that if they are not enjoying any part of their visit to the Shirley Arms Hotel please bring it to the attention of a member of staff on duty and the matter will be dealt with effectively and efficiently as we can. We hope that you will visit our hotel again and we know your experience will be a good one.

Many Thanks
Siobhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Recently we held a Birthday party at the Shirley Arms Hotel and from the time we booked it to the time it finished we were wowed by the wonderful helpful staff and the absolutely fantastic buffet on the night which suited both meat eaters and vegetarians and the desserts were to die for.
We had friends stay in this hotel on the same night and said the rooms were really good.
I have also had lunch in this Hotel and have never been disappointed. I look forward now to trying out the restaurant in the evening.
Great to have such a fab place to go right on your own doorstep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great hotel, fantastic staff and the food, well that was exceptional. Cannot rate this hotel highly enough, its location is terrific for those who love a market town setting with terrific golf courses, fishing walking, etc all on the doorstep. The rooms are modern,spacious well maintained and cleaned daily. Don't expect a fitness suite or swimming pool but it has ample secure parking at the rear and the busy bar is frequented by locals, mainly family and couples. Will make a point of returning here in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arthur r R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOK08, Public Relations Manager at Shirley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent visit to Carrickmacross and the Shirley Arms Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality and the entire team look forward to welcoming you back for another stay!

Siobhan O'Kane
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I visited the hotel with a group of about 15 on a Saturday night during March for a meal which was arranged at short notice.
The hotel bar was full and lively and certainly looked 'the place to be' for the locals and their guests.
With such a large party for a meal in the restaurant, some tables had to be moved around so we could all sit together. This was no trouble at all and the staff were warm, very friendly and more than helpful and certainly had a good knowledge of the food on the menu.
The food we ate was absolutely wonderful and certainly worth our visit.

We were also able to look at some of the vacant hotel bedrooms to see what facilities they offered and this was worthwhile because as a result, we will now be staying at the hotel later in the year.

A great experience, very good staff and service and one to add to your list for future reference.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickmacross
4.9 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,361 reviews
13.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
16.9 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
10.1 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
219 reviews
13.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Carrickmacross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Carrickmacross
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Price Range: $123 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shirley Arms Hotel is just an hour's drive from Dublin and Belfast, centrally located in the busy market town of Carrickmacross famous for its lace and where Patrick Kavanagh penned his famous poetry. If you are touring or on business, fancy a game of golf or just seeking a place to relax, the 4* Shirley Arms Hotel provides the perfect haven for lesiure or business traveller. The Shirley Arms offers something for everyone throughout the day and evening. From early morning we serve freshly brewed coffee, baked scones, pastries and traditional Full Irish Breakfast. Roast Carvery is served daily. In the afternoons the popular Shirley Grill Menu offers a wide and varied menu in luxurious surroundings, it is the perfect place to relax, wind down, meet friends and soak in the atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Shirley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing