We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shirley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shirley Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great hotel, fantastic staff and the food, well that was exceptional. Cannot rate this hotel highly enough, its location is terrific for those who love a market town setting with terrific golf courses, fishing walking, etc all on the doorstep. The rooms are modern,spacious well maintained and cleaned daily. Don't expect a fitness suite or swimming pool but it has ample secure parking at the rear and the busy bar is frequented by locals, mainly family and couples. Will make a point of returning here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur r R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOK08, Public Relations Manager at Shirley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent visit to Carrickmacross and the Shirley Arms Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality and the entire team look forward to welcoming you back for another stay!

Siobhan O'Kane
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    54
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
43
65
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I visited the hotel with a group of about 15 on a Saturday night during March for a meal which was arranged at short notice.
The hotel bar was full and lively and certainly looked 'the place to be' for the locals and their guests.
With such a large party for a meal in the restaurant, some tables had to be moved around so we could all sit together. This was no trouble at all and the staff were warm, very friendly and more than helpful and certainly had a good knowledge of the food on the menu.
The food we ate was absolutely wonderful and certainly worth our visit.

We were also able to look at some of the vacant hotel bedrooms to see what facilities they offered and this was worthwhile because as a result, we will now be staying at the hotel later in the year.

A great experience, very good staff and service and one to add to your list for future reference.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Do not judge a book by its cover. That saying could not sum up this hotel any better. I'm just back from a golf weekend, we stayed 2 nights which included B&B and a round of golf at Concra Wood golf course all for €165. The rooms are clean, comfortable and warm, the staff were exceptional and are more than helpful. The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious first class service. I would gladly go back anytime and would recommend it to anybody especially for the quality of food and service, all round I had the most pleasurable stay.

Room Tip: ask for family room, spacious and lovely king sized bed also have the 14oz Sirlon steak & Hot Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Attended a birthday celebration here recently and have to commend the hotel for the service and the food. Not always easy to cater for large crowds but the hotel did it in stlye. Highly reccomend for functions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway city
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with the Mrs and we were more than happy with the stay. The rooms are warm, clean, comfortable and the staff are more than helpful.

The food is excellent in the restaurant I really couldnt get enough of it it was lovely, one of the better hotels I have stayed in and through work and family getaways over the last 10 years ive stayed in quite a few.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ben b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor County Down
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Another one night stay in County Monaghan. Interesting hotel with original facade and a complete new build behind it. Too late again for dinner but helpful staff produced a good sandwich.
Room a little dark for easy reading in bed but good amenities and spacious.
Breakfast excellent and better than the run of the mill that plagues many Irish hotels. Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon -first class.
All staff interested in their guests and helpful. A good rate added to the experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangotangocharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Just had a 2 night stay in Shirley Arms Hotel. Had a really great time. Absolutely wonderful experience. Staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Food in restaurant was exquisite. Will definitely be back

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dermot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickmacross
4.9 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
16.9 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
16.3 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Arms Hotel

Property: Shirley Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrickmacross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Carrickmacross
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shirley Arms Hotel is just an hour's drive from Dublin and Belfast, centrally located in the busy market town of Carrickmacross famous for its lace and where Patrick Kavanagh penned his famous poetry. If you are touring or on business, fancy a game of golf or just seeking a place to relax, the 4* Shirley Arms Hotel provides the perfect haven for lesiure or business traveller. The Shirley Arms offers something for everyone throughout the day and evening. From early morning we serve freshly brewed coffee, baked scones, pastries and traditional Full Irish Breakfast. Roast Carvery is served daily. In the afternoons the popular Shirley Grill Menu offers a wide and varied menu in luxurious surroundings, it is the perfect place to relax, wind down, meet friends and soak in the atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Shirley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing