We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning wedding venue”
Review of The Millhouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Slane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Millhouse
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Was here at the weekend for a friends wedding. what a beautiful venue. The ceremony room was stunning,really unique. the grounds were beautiful. The per dinner tapas and preseco went down a treat and the food at the reception was exquisite.would definatly recommend

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank DublinTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for The Millhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 78 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was here for an al fresco civil ceremony wedding on the banks of the river. 2012 was a terrible year for rain, but it kept off until after the dancing had started, so we were very lucky.
We had tapas outside in front of the house with seats and tables all round, bales of straw for people to sit on as well.
The venue was perfect and the couple had wanted a barbecue, so we had barbecued food and salads, etc. It was very nice.
First we had a band, then there was disco. The young enjoyed themselves.
The parents and immediate family on both sides took up all the available accommodation in the Millhouse, hence we stayed up the road at Failte B. & B.

1  Thank Margo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Attended a wedding at the Millhouse and enjoyed the property and its surroundings. Didn't stay but thought that the service I encountered was very good and the quality of food was high. Location is nice, beside the river Boyne and the stark old industrial revolution type tannery building provides and interesting backdrop. The building was used for the marriage ceremony that we attended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donalmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We hired the Mill House on a self catering basis and had the perfect family Christmas - 18 adults, 4 toddlers and plenty of space. Everyone had their own room with ensuite facilities, tea maker, tv / dvd – luxury! Cooking meals was made easy with a full catering kitchen and a dining table that seated everyone comfortably located between the kitchen and the main sitting room. The house was cosy and warm, a home away from home where we could all gather together and catch up but with plenty of space that if you wanted a quiet corner to read a book, that was no problem too. The games room was a great space for the toddlers to run around while the adults chilled out on the sofa. As an added bonus it is walking distance to the local pub and there is great food in the local bistro. The Mill House has everything you need and plenty to do and explore in the surrounding area for all ages. Overall a fabulous holiday and I would definitely recommend the Mill House for any large family gathering.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 974Jennifer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Stayed the weekend of slane concert and considering the event on in the locality the hotel was an excellent location for the gig. The staff were excellent over the weekend and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel for a small quiet weekend break for couples. The rooms are of good standard and clean. Thanks to the staff for making our break very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anonymou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We recently held my husband's 40th birthday at The Millhouse. We wanted somewhere that would provide us with good food, friendly service where our family and friends could enjoy themselves without feeling that we were in other guests way and we got this at The Millhouse. From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Brian and his team and nothing was too much trouble for them.

From the Pre-dinner drinks in the Drawing Room to the sit-down meal in The Pavillion we could not find fault with anything. The quality of the food was excellent and exceeded our expectations from a set menu. We required all eleven rooms and they were all well presented and clean, the four-poster rooms are truly beautiful!

I would highly recommend The Millhouse to anyone who is looking for a party/function in an exclusive yet friendly environment. The management and staff certainly know what they are doing and you feel in safe hands from the moment you first enquiry with them. We were encouraged to treat The Millhouse as our home for our stay and could not have chosen a more perfect venue for the night.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NK31London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We had our wedding party at The Millhouse in Slane in November 2010, on the first snowy weekend of the winter.

We had initially chosen the Millhouse for its beautiful location; its informal and relaxed feel as well as the general attitude of the staff who were so happy to accommodate our wishes for a low key "non-weddingy" wedding party. We were also very impressed with the food at our menu tasting.

When it came to the actual weekend, the weather was absolutely terrible. Thankfully everyone made it there but as the weather worsened over the evening it became clear that many of those staying elsewhere were not going to make it back! However this was no problem at all to the fantastic staff at the Millhouse who made up extra beds in every available space in the hotel, on floors and sofas. Some of the staff even gave up their own beds! All these unexpected guests were provided with the Millhouse's fantastic breakfast the following morning. Nothing was too much trouble!

The Millhouse is a fantastic place for a party. If you want a wedding or party that is completely tailored to you, it is the perfect place. And I honestly think it is great value for money - you get exclusive use of a lovely house with no venue hire charge, even for our small budget the choice of menu options was amazing.

All in all, the venue is great, the food is fantastic, the staff were so helpful and low key - we were very much made to feel that the house was our own for the weekend. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2010
6  Thank littlehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slane
2.0 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
3.9 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
318 reviews
7.1 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
372 reviews
7.0 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
8.8 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millhouse

Address: Slane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Price Range: $155 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 11 bedroomed Boutique Hotel.Specializing in bespoke weddings and private parties.Open for food all day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Millhouse Hotel Slane
Millhouse Hotel Slane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing