We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tankardstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tankardstown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

i wanted to book something special for my spouses birthday,i emailed one week ago to reserve a table in restaurant on their website contact form,never contacted me back to confirm reservation.so i rang to enquire i was told that the menu's advertised on their website are not running and new menu's wont be posted onto their website until next week,one day before the date i was looking to reserve.manner on phone was very poor and unhelpful.did not make any effort to try to accomodate a customer. would not recommend,very poor service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rangerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaMullin, Manager at Tankardstown, responded to this review, March 6, 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am sorry to hear that you have not been happy with our service here at Tankardstown. Unfortunately we are not able to guarantee that any menu on our website is the menu that you will receive in the Restaurant the night you dine there. The website menus are a guideline to what is available in the Restaurant. This is because the kitchen places emphasis on fresh seasonal produce and therefore sometimes the menu will change slightly from time to time.

Our menus are about to change for the new season and as soon as the new menu has been completed it will be put straight onto the website.

If you would like to contact me directly, I would be happy to discuss menu options with you.

Yours sincerely

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    27
    14
    15
    8
See reviews for
66
127
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ballybay and Drogheda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

My wife, and I had a most enjoyable early evening dinner in Tankardstown House two weeks ago - so much so that we went back last weekend for another meal and i have to say we weren't disappointed!!

This gem is everything you could want in a country manor hotel - cosy, tastefully finished, and professionally run - our first experience of the hotel was the vaulted ceiling and stone walls of the pub in the bistro section, this was only topped by the steak sandwich I had, i asked for it rare and it came exactly that way - my wife had the salmon, again cooked to perfection.

Last weekend we returned to eat in the main restaurant and once again could find no fault here either - all I can say is we're looking forward to the next time we get over to Tankardstown

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BallybayCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaMullin, Manager at Tankardstown, responded to this review, March 6, 2010
Thank you for your lovely feedback! We are delighted that you have enjoyed your meals here at Tankardstown. Our Early Bird has proved very popular! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

Enjoyed a wonderful evening here recently, the food, the atmosphere, staff & wine were all excellent. Not to expensive for what we had. If you are looking for something special well this is your place. I would reccommend any day. Overall a great experience. Look forward to returning soon. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flynn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaMullin, Manager at Tankardstown, responded to this review, March 6, 2010
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. It is always nice to hear that people have enjoyed themselves here at Tankardstown. We look forward to having you return!

Yours sincerely

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

Having been to Tankardstown House a couple of times, i am still very unimpressed with the food and service. We went to the bistro on a weekday afternoon and the service we got was awful, the waiter seems as if he wanted to be anywhere but work and seems to have absolutely no manner or interest in his customers, which is totally off putting! On my 3rd visit yesterday, we went to the restaurant, food is not good, very basic, expensive and what the menu says sounds much posher and tastier than what we actually got. Service was ok, but not great. Tankardstown House is in the middle of nowhere and to be quite honest any pub food is better!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeathFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

After reading some of the brilliant reviews below we set off for Tankardstown with rather high expectations! We stayed in the main house and although the reception staff were lovely and very helpful, however that seemed to be the extent of it, we waited over an hour for our food in the restaurant and wished we had just left, when it eventually arrived there were no apologies made about the delay and the manager seemed to be doing nothing really, the food was very disappointing and there was a limited menu choice, pricing would have been reasonable if the food was of a higher standard, we were told of a gift shop but it seems to be permanently closed, i feel they need to review their situation and possibly raise the standards of service...very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martini2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tconroy, Owner at Tankardstown, responded to this review, March 1, 2010
Having read the recent review of your experience at Tankardstown, I would like to respond and say how disappointed we are that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Firstly and most importantly the dining experience is not acceptable, I fully accept and understand your criticism and have brought this to the attention of the head chef and the restaurant manager...delays of this nature should not happen, and for this we apologise.
Unfortunately the shop is not staffed for the months of January and February, usually a very quiet period in retail (especially as we do not have a Sale), however we do have staff from the bar available if guests would like to visit the shop. We used to leave the doors open but as you can imagine stock started to walk! It would have been sensible to have brought this to your attention and we would have been delighted to open up and let you have a browse.
I hope you accept this response in the light it is offered and sincerely hope that you will visit us again. Please contact me directly and I would like to make amends.

Yours sincerely

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

Could not fault Tankardstown House, excellent in every way - decor, food, service all perfect. Real 'Blue Book' style property...it's everything that Bellinter House wants to be but isn't! The finish is fantastic, no expense spared...the main house is just gorgeous. Thoughtful little touches like ordering in wheat-free breads (unprompted) for food intolerant diners raise it to the next level of customer service. I would recommend eating in Brabazon over the bistro though.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayjunkieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

Having spent many long hours on the internet looking for a suitable venue for a small family wedding, we eventually stumbled across Tankardstown. I wanted somewhere that our families could relax, feel at home and at the same time take with them some special memories of warmth and elegance (within my budget!!). As it began to dawn on me that perhaps what I wanted just did not exist, we found it, 'That Special Place', and it was. From the moment we made the first phone call I had a good feeling. Our contact person was Debra, she is something else, friendly, efficient, a genuinely nice Irish girl that makes this house a home for each and every guest.

Our wedding passed, all twenty of us sat at the same table, had the craic and then retired to the small bar and dance area, where we had a small string band play for a few hours. I felt like I was hosting a dinner party for a few friends. The food was more home cooked than state of the art but that was okay. My husband was truly delighted with our choice. He still talks about Tankardstown and how we must return.
Thank you to all connected to this wonderful place, it's affordable, elegant, romantic, relaxing and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A 'TA' Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slane
3.5 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
10.1 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
14.7 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
23.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
14.9 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankardstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankardstown

Property: Tankardstown
Address: Tankardstown House | Rathkeny, Slane, County Meath, Slane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tankardstown 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 80 acre estate, comprising a luxurious 18th century Manor House, adjacent courtyard of beautifully appointed Cottage Suites, and lower courtyard where award winning Brabazon Restaurant, the more casual Cellar Restaurant and The Tea Gardens are located. Understated elegance, relaxed atmosphere, just some of the adjectives used to describe our beautiful property. Located in Co. Meath, the country estate is only 40 minutes from Dublin and just over an hour from Belfast. A true oasis of tranquillity and beauty, Tankardstown House has been superbly restored throughout and offers you, your family and friends a unique opportunity to experience hospitality in a beautiful privately owned home. The country estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on bicycle or foot. Tankardstown House is situated just 15 minutes from the World Heritage site of Newgrange, the Battle of the Boyne Site and Slane Castle, renowned for its own History & Whiskey Tours. For Golfers, the nearby parkland course of Headfort or the links at Baltray, will challenge any level of golfer. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a spa treatment at the 'Hide-Out' to end an activity packed day, relax in the outdoor hot tub or unwind with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides, clay pigeon shooting and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Tankardstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankardstown Hotel Slane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing