We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of heaven”
Review of Tankardstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tankardstown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Certificate of Excellence
Enniskillen
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Enjoyed a wonderful evening here recently, the food, the atmosphere, staff & wine were all excellent. Not to expensive for what we had. If you are looking for something special well this is your place. I would reccommend any day. Overall a great experience. Look forward to returning soon. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flynn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaMullin, Manager at Tankardstown, responded to this review, March 6, 2010
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. It is always nice to hear that people have enjoyed themselves here at Tankardstown. We look forward to having you return!

Yours sincerely

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    27
    14
    15
    8
See reviews for
67
131
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Meath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Having been to Tankardstown House a couple of times, i am still very unimpressed with the food and service. We went to the bistro on a weekday afternoon and the service we got was awful, the waiter seems as if he wanted to be anywhere but work and seems to have absolutely no manner or interest in his customers, which is totally off putting! On my 3rd visit yesterday, we went to the restaurant, food is not good, very basic, expensive and what the menu says sounds much posher and tastier than what we actually got. Service was ok, but not great. Tankardstown House is in the middle of nowhere and to be quite honest any pub food is better!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeathFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

After reading some of the brilliant reviews below we set off for Tankardstown with rather high expectations! We stayed in the main house and although the reception staff were lovely and very helpful, however that seemed to be the extent of it, we waited over an hour for our food in the restaurant and wished we had just left, when it eventually arrived there were no apologies made about the delay and the manager seemed to be doing nothing really, the food was very disappointing and there was a limited menu choice, pricing would have been reasonable if the food was of a higher standard, we were told of a gift shop but it seems to be permanently closed, i feel they need to review their situation and possibly raise the standards of service...very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martini2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tconroy, Owner at Tankardstown, responded to this review, March 1, 2010
Having read the recent review of your experience at Tankardstown, I would like to respond and say how disappointed we are that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Firstly and most importantly the dining experience is not acceptable, I fully accept and understand your criticism and have brought this to the attention of the head chef and the restaurant manager...delays of this nature should not happen, and for this we apologise.
Unfortunately the shop is not staffed for the months of January and February, usually a very quiet period in retail (especially as we do not have a Sale), however we do have staff from the bar available if guests would like to visit the shop. We used to leave the doors open but as you can imagine stock started to walk! It would have been sensible to have brought this to your attention and we would have been delighted to open up and let you have a browse.
I hope you accept this response in the light it is offered and sincerely hope that you will visit us again. Please contact me directly and I would like to make amends.

Yours sincerely

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Could not fault Tankardstown House, excellent in every way - decor, food, service all perfect. Real 'Blue Book' style property...it's everything that Bellinter House wants to be but isn't! The finish is fantastic, no expense spared...the main house is just gorgeous. Thoughtful little touches like ordering in wheat-free breads (unprompted) for food intolerant diners raise it to the next level of customer service. I would recommend eating in Brabazon over the bistro though.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayjunkieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Having spent many long hours on the internet looking for a suitable venue for a small family wedding, we eventually stumbled across Tankardstown. I wanted somewhere that our families could relax, feel at home and at the same time take with them some special memories of warmth and elegance (within my budget!!). As it began to dawn on me that perhaps what I wanted just did not exist, we found it, 'That Special Place', and it was. From the moment we made the first phone call I had a good feeling. Our contact person was Debra, she is something else, friendly, efficient, a genuinely nice Irish girl that makes this house a home for each and every guest.

Our wedding passed, all twenty of us sat at the same table, had the craic and then retired to the small bar and dance area, where we had a small string band play for a few hours. I felt like I was hosting a dinner party for a few friends. The food was more home cooked than state of the art but that was okay. My husband was truly delighted with our choice. He still talks about Tankardstown and how we must return.
Thank you to all connected to this wonderful place, it's affordable, elegant, romantic, relaxing and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A 'TA' Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Stayed here as a family with three young children at the beginning of June. The fact that the weather was wonderful just added to the experience but we would enjoy coming here during the harshest of Irish winters. This is the type of property that even if there were to be a small problem (and there definitely wasn't for us) you would just forget about it immediately because of the magical feeling of the place. We were there midweek and stayed in one of the Courtyard 'cottages'. There is a feeling of genuine hospitality and warmth. No stuffiness, just genuinely nice people who have created a truly beautiful property. I could imagine coming here with a large family, a group of friends, having a romantic weekend away etc. As hotel operators ourselves we are very astute to what works and what doesn't. Tankardstown House is just one of those places where everything gels. From the dogs in the courtyard (kids adored them) to the walled garden with hot tub, the kids playground in the parkinglot and the lovely bar. When we were there they were in the process of building a restaurant beside the bar which should be the perfect addition to the facilities already in place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcsoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Wow!

We've just returned from a 2 night stay in Tankardstown and I can't recommend it enough. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom cottage which was fantastic. Lovely spacious sitting room with double doors opening to the courtyard and a good size kitchen which also had double doors onto the courtyard. Upstairs were 2 large en suite rooms decked out with lovely Molton Brown accessories.

The main house is absolutely fab! Would be an ideal location for a special private party. My boyfriend fell in love with the place and I thought I'd have problems getting him to leave.

One of the best parts of Tankardstown are the dogs! I'm a huge dog lover so to have 4 dogs roaming around all day was heaven. If you're not a dog lover, don't be put off, they're very well trained and don't come over to you unless you call them. We had them in the cottage 1 of the nights while we were watching tv, it was great!

As Tankardstown is set on 80 acres, we weren't short of somewhere to go for a walk. We managed to pick up 2 passengers on the way - Millie & Coco and had a lovely time walking around with the dogs in tow.

We had dinner in the new opened restaurant on our 2nd night. The menu isn't huge but the food is really good and very reasonable. The restaurant is a lovely old stone building located at the back of the courtyard. If you're staying in a cottage, breakfast is delivered to your door in a wicker basket, followed by a lovely full Irish.

If you're interested in spa treatments, they can arrange for a therapist to come on site and it's very reasonably priced.

All in all, I can't wait to go back to Tankardstown, get there while you can!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatsCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slane
3.5 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
10.1 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
14.7 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
23.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
6.8 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankardstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankardstown

Property: Tankardstown
Address: Tankardstown House | Rathkeny, Slane, County Meath, Slane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tankardstown 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 80 acre estate, comprising a luxurious 18th century Manor House, adjacent courtyard of beautifully appointed Cottage Suites, and lower courtyard where award winning Brabazon Restaurant, the more casual Cellar Restaurant and The Tea Gardens are located. Understated elegance, relaxed atmosphere, just some of the adjectives used to describe our beautiful property. Located in Co. Meath, the country estate is only 40 minutes from Dublin and just over an hour from Belfast. A true oasis of tranquillity and beauty, Tankardstown House has been superbly restored throughout and offers you, your family and friends a unique opportunity to experience hospitality in a beautiful privately owned home. The country estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on bicycle or foot. Tankardstown House is situated just 15 minutes from the World Heritage site of Newgrange, the Battle of the Boyne Site and Slane Castle, renowned for its own History & Whiskey Tours. For Golfers, the nearby parkland course of Headfort or the links at Baltray, will challenge any level of golfer. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a spa treatment at the 'Hide-Out' to end an activity packed day, relax in the outdoor hot tub or unwind with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides, clay pigeon shooting and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Tankardstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankardstown Hotel Slane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing