We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tankardstown
Nearby Hotels
Conyngham Arms Hotel(Slane)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newgrange Hotel(Navan)(Great Value!)
$92
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardboyne Hotel(Navan)(Great Value!)
$91
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westcourt Hotel(Drogheda)
$135
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The d Hotel(Drogheda)(Great Value!)
$191
$145
Official Site
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$136
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$124
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenside Hotel(Drogheda)(Great Value!)
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
265
34
14
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
34
14
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrabazon restaurantthe main housethe cottagessteaktasting menuspecial occasionfrom start to finishwedding receptionwedding venuecellar barsarah janelevel of serviceduckhigh standardfabulous weddingcourtyard cottagemouth watering
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 338 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Wow!

We've just returned from a 2 night stay in Tankardstown and I can't recommend it enough. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom cottage which was fantastic. Lovely spacious sitting room with double doors opening to the courtyard and a good size kitchen which also had double doors onto the courtyard. Upstairs were 2 large en suite rooms decked out with lovely Molton Brown accessories.

The main house is absolutely fab! Would be an ideal location for a special private party. My boyfriend fell in love with the place and I thought I'd have problems getting him to leave.

One of the best parts of Tankardstown are the dogs! I'm a huge dog lover so to have 4 dogs roaming around all day was heaven. If you're not a dog lover, don't be put off, they're very well trained and don't come over to you unless you call them. We had them in the cottage 1 of the nights while we were watching tv, it was great!

As Tankardstown is set on 80 acres, we weren't short of somewhere to go for a walk. We managed to pick up 2 passengers on the way - Millie & Coco and had a lovely time walking around with the dogs in tow.

We had dinner in the new opened restaurant on our 2nd night. The menu isn't huge but the food is really good and very reasonable. The restaurant is a lovely old stone building located at the back of the courtyard. If you're staying in a cottage, breakfast is delivered to your door in a wicker basket, followed by a lovely full Irish.

If you're interested in spa treatments, they can arrange for a therapist to come on site and it's very reasonably priced.

All in all, I can't wait to go back to Tankardstown, get there while you can!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatsCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

My husband & I travelled to Ireland with our 3 children (10, 8 & 4) and we made Tankerdstown our base to visit around. We stayed 4 nights.
We couldn't choose better!
The whole experience was fantastic, since the booking till the farewell.
About the property, a lot is already written in the other reviews. That is exquisitely remodelled with great taste and charm.
But what made the real difference to us, was the warm and friendly service. Families are more than welcome, and children can play around in the huge gardens and their joy and inevitably noise is accepted and appreciated. We were all the time relaxed even when the property had more guests.
We stayed at one of the fantastic 2 bedroom cottages, which are perfect for a family stay. Plus service includes a very good and complete breakfast. If you want to stay in the house at dinner, you can order from the Bistro and they bring you your order. They also gave the children a lot of games and DVD’s to play.
It’s like staying in a 5* hotel, with all the convenience and privacy of your home.
We visited Newgrange in the area and also Dublin, which is a 40 minutes drive.
Trish (the owner) made a superb job in restoring the property and decorating it. She also managed to gather around her, very competent staff that helps hers to make the environment in Tankerdstown special.
I would go back any time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filipa_Campilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Tankardstown is truly a gem of a place. My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights as a treat to ourselves for working so hard in the previous months. The staff were incredible from the first inquiry email until we left. It was a real pleasure to deal with such friendly and accommodating people. They really did help to make our stay that much better.

We stayed in one of the cottages, which is a bit of a misnomer since they are so huge! The bed was the most comfortable we ever had the pleasure of sleeping in, everything was so clean, fresh, and decorated so tastefully. We took advantage of an internet special offer and had dinner and breakfasts included. Dinner was lovely and they were most accommodating when I asked for a vegetarian meal. Breakfasts were equally tasty and fresh.

I'll be raving about Tankardstown to anyone who will listen. We already plan to go back for a longer stay to just relax and unwind in the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slj1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We stayed for the weekend as part of a dinner party invite. The property is a lovingly restored Georgian house dating back to the middle 1700's, extended in the 1840 's onwards & now renovated by the present owners Brian & Tricia. The quality, attention to detail, & mix of modern & antiques is truly a work of genius. There is no interior decorator at work here, just the exquisite elegant taste of Tricia, who has an eye for the specialist piece of art or furniture.
There are approx 8 reception rooms to use during your stay, with 6 bedrooms in the main house & further courtyards rooms available in another beautifully restored block. Please check out their website, only then will you appreciate the facilities on offer here. We would highly recommend this property, either for a stay in the Courtyard,a wedding in the main house or a private family party.
Go enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

I recently held a party for 70 guests at Tankardstown House. It was the most magical day/night of my life and it was made extra special not only by the fantastic surroundings but by the exceptional staff there. Nothing was too much and nothing was left to chance. We were made feel that we owned the house for 24 hours and it was truly magic.
I would like to keep this place a secret but it's just too good to be ignored. A fantastic setting in beautiful gardens/woodland and the walled garden is beautifully kept. Stunning!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Niamh1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews