We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional - we will return again and again!”
Review of Tankardstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tankardstown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had five clients stay at the hotel at the end of September, it was their first time travelling to Europe. Our clients were very impressed with the professional staff and relaxed atmosphere in a beautiful location. The standard of accommodation and quality food is exceptional. The Chef kindly prepared some of our products for our clients - the clients now want to import our product and also the Chef!

Room Tip: relax and unwind in the garden hot tub - the cottages are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOSUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 327 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Dubliners are very lucky to have this wonderful house with magnificent accommodation and superb food and local grounds available so close to the city. It should not be the well-kept secret that it is.

The house was beautifully and tastefully restored by Trish. who now manages the property.

I believe it would be hard to find nicer bedrooms with nicer linen anywhere in Ireland. So-called cottages in the courtyard are one and two-bedroom magnificent apartments.

So whether it's a romantic few nights or a private wedding check out this place. You won't regret it

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreddyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I recently attended a wedding reception here and it was first class. The house and rooms were beautiful, clean and really excellent. We had some young children with us and the house wasn't ideally suited to buggies but the staff were very helpful and willing to lift things up the stairs when required. The food was excellent but what made it was the staff. I've never been somewhere where the staff were as helpful. As best man at the wedding I had my mind on a few things but they ran through everything clearly and professionally and really put my mind at rest. The table service was excellent and friendly as well. I can't comment on the overall value for money but we'll have many happy memories from our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happycamper223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

As you sweep along the tree-lined drive, the view of the main house and grounds are stunning. As a group of three ladies we were lucky enough to be one of the courtyard cottages. The cottages were beautifully fitted out ( the platter of biscuits helped) and standing on the terrace alone late at night, the lack of light pollution afforded me a breathtaking nightsky view. The restaurant has an innovative menu.Carefully crafted flavours are put together from locally sourced ingredients. Some, from the walled kitchen garden in the grounds, make it from ground to plate in hours...believe me you can taste it! I will be going back

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I purchased a pigsback voucher for head massage followed by lunch in the cafe for 2. Having dined at the main restaurant previously, I was looking forward to an enjoyable lunch. Tankardstown house is very impressive itself, the massage therapist did not look for feedback or confirm if pressure was suitable and when complete, I was obviously not impressed (nor my husband). I felt more frustrated by her gentle ineffective techniques than prior to arriving. This was followed by a 2 course lunch in beautiful setting but lettuce was covered in sea-salt and the rest of the meal was ruined. Informed the waitress and response was a dehydration policy joke. The waiting staff (with exception of one) looked like they would prefer to be anywhere other than working or serving customers leading to very poor service. Based on this experience I would not recommend either the massage treatment or cafe food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank 123Ann_family123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tconroy, Manager at Tankardstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Good afternoon 123Ann_family123. Many thanks for your review of your recent visit to Tankardstown. Many thanks for your kind compliments on our property however I am sorry that you did not enjoy the rest of your visit with us. Each and every customer at Tankardstown are very important to us so I appreciate you providing your feedback. This allows us to highlight to problem to the relevant ara, review the situation, address the issue and make the relevant improvements. You mention that you are a previous customer and I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves to you in the not too distant future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We attended a wedding here yesterday and from start to finish it was a wonderful experience. The house is so full of charm and luxury with every room having the wow factor! The furniture, furnishings etc are absolutely gorgeous and the grounds are outstanding. The food was excellent from the the yummy scones with homemade jam to the wedding meal itself. The service was excellent and attention to detail was top class. I would highly recommend a visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7carlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lovely weather, enjoyable company, great location - pity about the food!
We greeted in a very friendly fashion by Matre'd Kanza Kumares and were given a table which suited us. Drinks were good though pricey for the countryside. The house Labrador was friendly. Selection of breads was delicious. Main course however, was mixed bag. My beef was delicious but two lamb dishes were almost inedibel My wife looked for something in liu of the potatoe on offer, and was charged for it subsequently! The range of vegatable was limited so were not impressed. Our Maitre'd offered us a bottle of wine to compensate. We adjourned for coffees + to the outdoor seating area which was pleasant. Then they "ran out "of draught Guinness - though they had a wedding on next door! Sounds like a poor excuse.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RetireeOldcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slane
3.5 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
10.1 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
920 reviews
13.7 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
23.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
14.7 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankardstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankardstown

Address: Tankardstown House | Rathkeny, Slane, County Meath, Slane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Price Range: $245 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tankardstown 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 80 acre estate, comprising a luxurious 18th century Manor House, adjacent courtyard of beautifully appointed Cottage Suites, and lower courtyard where award winning Brabazon Restaurant, the more casual Cellar Restaurant and The Tea Gardens are located. Understated elegance, relaxed atmosphere, just some of the adjectives used to describe our beautiful property. Located in Co. Meath, the country estate is only 40 minutes from Dublin and just over an hour from Belfast. A true oasis of tranquillity and beauty, Tankardstown House has been superbly restored throughout and offers you, your family and friends a unique opportunity to experience hospitality in a beautiful privately owned home. The country estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on bicycle or foot. Tankardstown House is situated just 15 minutes from the World Heritage site of Newgrange, the Battle of the Boyne Site and Slane Castle, renowned for its own History & Whiskey Tours. For Golfers, the nearby parkland course of Headfort or the links at Baltray, will challenge any level of golfer. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a spa treatment at the 'Hide-Out' to end an activity packed day, relax in the outdoor hot tub or unwind with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides, clay pigeon shooting and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tankardstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankardstown Hotel Slane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing