We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of Heaven...”
Review of Tankardstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tankardstown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Certificate of Excellence
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Little piece of Heaven...”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My second time visiting this beautiful place & was not disappointed. We were met by the beautiful receptionist & Emily who done our facials which were fantastic. our facials were in beautiful room in the old part of the house which is so beautiful with amazing attention to detail everywhere. We then had Afternoon Tea in the cellar bar another lovely experience & another young lady who couldn't do enough for us. Looking forward to my next visit & hoping to try the lovely Brabazon Restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westlouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    28
    14
    15
    8
See reviews for
67
132
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just returned from an overnight midweek break. Stayed in a courtyard cottage with our baby. Thoroughly enjoyable experience. From the moment we checked in, we felt completely relaxed and at ease in the house. Receptionist greeted us warmly and gave us a tour of the luxurious 18th century house. The cottage was very comfortable - spacious downstairs living area which suited us perfectly with a young baby. Bedrooms were stylishly decorated.

Dined in the Brabazon which was a pleasure. Service and food was top class - couldn't be faulted. Would recommend trying the cured salmon for starters & the beef for mains. Breakfast the following morning was very good.

Only issues to report were, as highlighted by other reviewers, the WIFI in the cottages does not work (tried unsuccessfully with 3 different devices) & there was a supplement charge for the beef which was not stated on the menu. However, this would not detract us from giving a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgirishrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here two nights in June 2013, for a friend's wedding reception. First of all, plug the coordinates into your GPS, otherwise it might be hard to find. On arrival, the first impression is very positive and the reception staff are welcoming. It is a truly beautiful venue for a wedding reception with large grounds and two enclosed gardens.

Our room was, in fact, the living room of a 2 bedroom courtyard cottage suite, which we shared with two other sets of guests. However, our room was large and comfortable, and we had a separate bathroom on the ground floor.

There was a large and well equipped communal kitchen. But the coffee maker had obviously not been checked in a while, as there was a mouldy batch of used coffee grounds in it.

The main house has several salons, or sitting rooms, which were very nice for mixing amongst a large crowd of people. Breakfasts were included in the room and were provided in a separate annex which was full of character and charm. The breakfast buffet was very good with lots of choice, both hot and cold, including fresh fruits.

The reception itself was held in the Orangery, which is a great space, and the food was the best we've yet experienced at any wedding; a four course meal with a choice of sea bass or rack of lamb. It was really well-executed and presented.

The only caveat relates to the wifi for the courtyard suites. It was basically non-existent, although sporadically available in one corner outside in the courtyard itself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

situated in the boyne valley this beautiful building is the ideal wedding venue.reception on arrival was professional and discreet.the main dining area is situated in a large sun room.The food was good and plentiful and well presented. the bar area lessened the effect of the surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomandbridie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in the Courtyard Cottages on the Grounds of Tankardstown House. We received a warm and friendly welcome on arrival and were then escorted to our quaint cottage in the Courtyard. The location of the cottage was beautiful and idyllic. The bed was very comfortable and the cottage was furnished beautifully. The cottage facilities included a mini bar and tea and coffee and espresso machine. The grounds and Tankarstown itself were truly beautiful and magical. It was like stepping into a totally different world.
We dined in the evening in the Brabazon Restaurant and this was outstanding and a real treat as it was fine dining at it's best. We were really so impressed with our stay as everything was excellent. The only small thing was there were no biscuits available in the cottage to go with the tea and coffee . Overall a really excellent and relaxing stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Held a birthday party on Saturday in the Secret Dining Room in Tankardstown and all our guests were blown away by the food, the location, the friendly staff and the quaint room itself. We got first class service and nothing is a problem from the first day of starting to organise the event with Helen right up to the party itself. Tankardstown truly deserves all the recent awards they have received because they have created a very special and unique place that really stands out as one oft the nicest places to go in Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollieEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were there twice in a short time and both time it was very good. First time we had a sunday meal at the coffee bar and it was excellent, service a bit slow. The second time we were at the restaurant for a sunday lunch/. The food was very good and so the service.I you look at negative point the wine list is too short and overpriced and the a la carte menu for a dinner is too particular ...not everybody will be adventuring in most of the dishes on the menu. But i will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slane
3.5 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
10.1 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
14.7 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
23.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
6.8 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankardstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankardstown

Property: Tankardstown
Address: Tankardstown House | Rathkeny, Slane, County Meath, Slane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tankardstown 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 80 acre estate, comprising a luxurious 18th century Manor House, adjacent courtyard of beautifully appointed Cottage Suites, and lower courtyard where award winning Brabazon Restaurant, the more casual Cellar Restaurant and The Tea Gardens are located. Understated elegance, relaxed atmosphere, just some of the adjectives used to describe our beautiful property. Located in Co. Meath, the country estate is only 40 minutes from Dublin and just over an hour from Belfast. A true oasis of tranquillity and beauty, Tankardstown House has been superbly restored throughout and offers you, your family and friends a unique opportunity to experience hospitality in a beautiful privately owned home. The country estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on bicycle or foot. Tankardstown House is situated just 15 minutes from the World Heritage site of Newgrange, the Battle of the Boyne Site and Slane Castle, renowned for its own History & Whiskey Tours. For Golfers, the nearby parkland course of Headfort or the links at Baltray, will challenge any level of golfer. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a spa treatment at the 'Hide-Out' to end an activity packed day, relax in the outdoor hot tub or unwind with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides, clay pigeon shooting and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Tankardstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankardstown Hotel Slane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing