We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so relaxing!”
Review of Tankardstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tankardstown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“so relaxing!”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Just posting a quick review to give the thumbs up to Tankardstown House. We arrived on a sunday evening, the place was quiet and we took full advantage. We stayed in one of the cottages, spent some time in house and ended our evening with dinner at the Brabazon. Overall I just couldn't fault this place.. If you want to get away from it all for some peace and quiet, in a first class luxury house with a gorgeous restaurant, this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kanoute696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    30
    14
    16
    8
See reviews for
72
135
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I had been looking at Tankardstown house for my wedding. Having been to stay for the night and after visiting the bistro on many occasions now I am so excited about booking my wedding.
The decor is amazing and the whole place is immaculate, the food is great and the staff are friendly ....what more could you want!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lullabelle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Wow Tankardstown is amazing from start to finish - had never heard of the place until got invite for friends wedding so decided to make a weekend of it. Arrived up to this gorgeous house on beautiful sunny evening, was met be smiling staff and checked in to a top notch cottage with sitting room and kitchen and the most wonderful bed I have ever slept in! Went down to Brabazon for dinner on the Friday night just myself and husband. Menu was not your typical hotel restaurant - all I can say is the food was mouth watering. Attended wedding next day. It was the most wonderful setting for the day and again food just brilliant. Very different to your typical hotel wedding - extremely cosy and intimate. Staff extremely professional and so friendly everywhere from restaurant to wedding reception to breakfast to check out....already planning next trip back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CommiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here as a family (Grandparents and kids included) to celebrate a family members birthday and Tankardstown House lived up to all our expectations.
The accommodation, food, surroundings and above all the natural open friendliness of all the staff (that cannot be taught in any management school) were all fantastic. We all agreed that we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeldomHome76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Dear sir/madam,
My wife and I went for a meal. We arrived at 19.20hrs.Our meal was for 19.30hrs. We were asked to wait in the bar and we would be called. At 20.05hrs we left despite the fact the person who directed us to the bar coming in several times to reorganise her staff her staff.
The person was not very helpful. The restaurant did not even bother to contact us after we left despite having our telephone no. Disappointed with attitude and lack of professionalism from a restaurant that is marketing itself as a quality restaurant.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank duneatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tconroy, Owner at Tankardstown, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear Duneakn

Further to our recent correspondence, I would again like to apologise for not providing a satisfactory level of service on this occasion. At Tankardstown we endeavour to maintain a consistantly high level of service as reflected by our recent award for "Best Customer Service in Meath". We take any complaint very seriously. Once you made us aware of your complaint we contacted you immediately in order to resolve this issue. I would love if you wuld allow us another chance to show you the usual high level of service and food we offer here at Tankardstown. Kindest regards Trish Conroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed in Tankardstown with family and friends for an entire weekend.
All I can say is that is by far the best hotel/country house we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The rooms in the main house and the cottages are so beautifully decorated and so comfortable. The food in the restaurant is unbelievably tasty with something to suit all tastes and a great selection of wine. Breakfast in the main house was wonderful, we had a choice of lovely fresh fruit, muesli and cereal and the cooked to order menu was superb - their full Irish is not to be missed!!
The icing on the cake of our stay was the staff, they were lovely from start to finish, they did everything they could to make our stay perfect.
Thank you Tankardstown, we will definitely be back!!
Niamh and Craig

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niamhtait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Having heard of Tankardstown and living relitavely close to it, I was pleasantly surprised with the House itself, the grounds, the food and most of all the staff. Well done and continued success.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uaimh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slane
3.5 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
14.7 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
10.1 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,499 reviews
23.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
6.8 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankardstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankardstown

Property: Tankardstown
Address: Tankardstown House | Rathkeny, Slane, County Meath, Slane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tankardstown 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 80 acre estate, comprising a luxurious 18th century Manor House, adjacent courtyard of beautifully appointed Cottage Suites, and lower courtyard where award winning Brabazon Restaurant, the more casual Cellar Restaurant and The Tea Gardens are located. Understated elegance, relaxed atmosphere, just some of the adjectives used to describe our beautiful property. Located in Co. Meath, the country estate is only 40 minutes from Dublin and just over an hour from Belfast. A true oasis of tranquillity and beauty, Tankardstown House has been superbly restored throughout and offers you, your family and friends a unique opportunity to experience hospitality in a beautiful privately owned home. The country estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on bicycle or foot. Tankardstown House is situated just 15 minutes from the World Heritage site of Newgrange, the Battle of the Boyne Site and Slane Castle, renowned for its own History & Whiskey Tours. For Golfers, the nearby parkland course of Headfort or the links at Baltray, will challenge any level of golfer. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a spa treatment at the 'Hide-Out' to end an activity packed day, relax in the outdoor hot tub or unwind with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides, clay pigeon shooting and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tankardstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankardstown Hotel Slane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing