We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Conyngham Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The room was lovely, the staff friendly and helpful. I looked forward to a nice stay. My immediate neighbors played rock music on the radio so loud I had to complain three times to get the noise down. Then after going to bed, the noisy pub goers partied from 10:30 pm till 2am so loud it was impossible to sleep. I was in room #7. I don't know if another room would be better, but I wouldn't stay here again due to the noise level. I was here on a Sat. night so maybe a different night would have been quieter.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSG1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Conyngham Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 315 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Food: 3/4 of us enjoyed the food. 1/4 didn't like her pasta dish.

Restaurant: nice renovation job, we were seated next to the chefs area which added to the atmosphere

Service: very friendly and good overall

Value: little bit on the expensive side

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish_Tourist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have dined in the Conyngham Arms for lunch in the past.

I stayed overnight and was assigned the Sally Garden Room which had a four poster bed. Lovely room.

Extremely customer friendly staff especially the lady who greeted us at reception. Had dinner in the restaurant one a la carte and one early bird meals and could not fault either. Had a perfectly made Irish Coffee to finish the meal.

Adjourned next door afterwards to Boyds Pub which too had a lovely atomsphere could imagine the craic must be mighty there when they have musicians playing.

Breakfast the next day was cooked to order and there was a wide selection of food to choose from should one prefer a continental breakfast.

Would return again it being a 45 minute commute from Dublin

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms at the back of the hotel are more quiet. I had no complaints about my assigned...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amag4523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed one night in early January while attending a wedding in the (even more wonderful) Tankardstown House. We had very enjoyable lunch in the cozy bar/dining room beside a real fire. The room and bathroom were very good (if a little cold). High point were the staff who were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iolarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

A desperate last minute search for a location to hold a our kayak club Xmas luncheon, left us with the Conyngham Arms Hotel. Numerous contacts and queries, changing numbers etc. in the run up, but, It all came together very nicely in the end, thanks to Carol & Maria. We were only a small group (14), but having just come in off a freezing cold river Boyne, we were warmly welcomed and led to our toasty function room, in the Lavender Suite. We weren't long getting comfortable and reheating ourselves. The (split) function room was beautifully decorated and well laid out, with a dedicated Xmas tree, spacious enough for us to hold a presentation and relax throughout. We were also very well looked after by a dedicated staff member, Una. The food was good, although the vegetables arrived some time after most people had polished off their main course, no major hassle, it was all going the same way! Long after we had finished our meal, we were left to enjoy the remainder of the afternoon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here by accident as was attending a wedding in Slane
Please don't hesitate! They have turned what could be a dowdy country hotel into a beautiful rustic clean and kitch hotel bang in centre of town,beside a great pub boyds too
Lovely lovely maybe a little pricey but a treat!beautiful choice!!

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank Louocall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Ate a really lovely meal in the Conyngham Arms last night. A surprisingly good meal for 2. As late when we arrived decided to go straight for a main course and skip the starter, Although a good choice available. Good choice of mains on the menu too, lots of fish choice, chicken and meat as well as a vegetarian option. Choose the Corn fed chicken with a lightly flavoured garlic jus. For himself, haddock served with crushed potatoes. Both very good and well priced at 15-16 euro. Finished with a dessert to share!!. Couldn't choose between the cappuchino baked cheesecake with caramel ice cream or the poached pear warm tart. Asked the chef to plate up his favourite and surprise us...the chef kindly served a half portion of each. Both delicious but the caramel ice ream was fabulous. 2 mains, dessert, 2 pints, soft drink and tea came to just shy of 50 euro. Excellent value. A really lovely evening, very pleasant surroundings, friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DeeCee2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slane
3.5 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
318 reviews
6.9 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
649 reviews
13.7 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
372 reviews
8.0 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
8.2 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conyngham Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conyngham Arms Hotel

Address: Main St, Slane | Co. Meath, Slane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Price Range: $103 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Conyngham Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conyngham Arms Hotel is located in the heart of the historical village of Slane. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily it makes the perfect place to visit. There are 4 luxury 4 poster bed suites along with 11 standard rooms. It is an ideal location for a family or romantic getaway. The hotel boasts old world charm but also has all the modern services that guests require including Nespresso machines in all of our rooms. Conyngham Arms is situated only a matter of minutes away from the World Heritage Site Newgrange and the Battle of the Boyne Site. Other points of interest nearby includes the Hill of Slane, Francis Ledwidge Museum and Slane Castle who is well known for their Irish whiskey tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Conyngham Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conyngham Arms Slane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing