We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rossnaree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rossnaree
Ranked #4 of 6 Slane B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tranquility......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We loved Rossnaree. A lovely, rambling home with paintings and sculpture everywhere you looked in the house. A house that reflects that artistic and literary background of Aisling and her past family members. It seemed to me that this was a house that had been and is well loved.
We spent four days at Rossnaree in the William Morris Room, which was spacious, clean and a pleasure to stay in. We were charmed and delighted with the views from our room: with the river Boyne flowing gently by and the rolling, verdant hills caressing our eyes with the view from the room.
Aisling our hostess made our stay relaxing and went out of her way to provide us with useful, informative information on places to visit nearby.
Our breakfast in the morning was a delight with as much or as little food as we wanted. We always had the option of a full breakfast if we so desired. There was always a lovely fire burning in the fire place when we came down to breakfast, which helped with the cold,foggy mornings.
The sunlight breaking through the shutters early in the morning and the views will live long in our memories.
Rosnaree is perfectly placed to visit the nearby neolithic tombs Newgrange and Knowth (which are an absolute must to see) Slade Castle and any of the other attractions in and around the river Boyne.
Do look out for Dagda - the large Irish wolf hound who is very gentle and friendly enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpiritofByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Islip, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Spent our last night in Ireland of eleven at Rossnaree. Rossnare is nicely appionted but is in need of a good cleaning, fresh paint and new carpeting. Upon arrival we killed seven flys in our bedroom and a bee, the inside of the windows were covered in knats, there were siders and spider webs eveywhere. The owner was not present on our arrival, however her son greeted us, he was very gracious and tended to every need. Rossane house could be exceptional with a modest investment and regular cleaning. At 140.00 euro it is grossly overpriced!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stephen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you are in the area to see Newgrange and Knowth, this is the perfect lodging for you. Rossnaree sits right across the River Boyne from Newgrange so you can enjoy your tea on the lawn while you contemplate the mysteries of the ancient tombs. Aisling is a wonderful hostess; very helpful, accommodating, and informative. Aisling's daughter is also eager to assist and chat. We arrived ragged from the flight over and were able to check-in early, then Aisling brought us tea and suggested a recuperative amble down to the River which was just perfect after the long flight. We prowled around the farm a bit and met the dogs and the huge pig named "Celeste". The farm and house have the most peaceful feeling about it---I don't know what it was. The house is lovely, rambling, interesting, and well-kept with some great antiques. We stayed 2 nights in The Bird Room which is actually larger than it looks in the website photos and comfortably elegant. Good bed---nice shower. Breakfast was generous and delicious, too. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rossnaree and hope to return.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms to choose from and all are very different. Good luck choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PT_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rossnaree was in a beautiful setting in the countryside. Its owners and staff were incredibly hospitable, warm people who were able to offer great recommendations on where to go and what to do in the area, and they helped facilitate our plans as well. Aside from the beautiful setting and grounds, the inn is home to many animals; two friendly dogs, a very affectionate cat, geese, chickens/hens and a vary large pig. It was a pleasure to be surrounded by and interact with all of these critters. We found Rossnaree to be a truly magical place and hope to get back to that glorious area of Ireland some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed in Rossnaree House on Tuesday 16th July at the end of tour around Ireland with my wife. It was our last stop before returning to Germany. This is my fourth time in Ireland and I come back because I love the people who are open and generous. This summer has been the best of experiences. I have stayed in many different hotels and many guesthouse and bed and breakfast for 3 weeks.
Here is my experience in Rossnaree: I met Aisling the hostess who greeted me and my wife when we arrived. We were shown to our room. The room is luxurious and unusual from anything I have been staying in before because of special features and antiques and beautiful views- it is of a very high standard, very clean, comfortable, old fashioned. We were served fine tea and scones with homemade jam and raspberries from the garden. The atmosphere there is special (and not only because of the sun shining!). In the morning, we had breakfast in the breakfast room, which is the family dining room with historical portraits, a large grand dining room- my wife said it is like from Downton Abbey. The breakfast was the best of the Hidden Ireland houses in which we stayed. It is a family run guesthouse and we met the daughter and grand-daughter playing on the lawn. They are a very friendly and gracious family, and we heard interesting stories about the history of the family and about the valley of kings. Before departing for the airport we sat on a wooden bench on the lawn to look out at New grange and Knowth and the River Boyne. We will remember a special time in Ireland.

It is not a hotel like Marriott or Four Seasons, so maybe you will be disappointed if you expect this. But I have no complaints and just a good experience and would therefore like to recommend Rossnaree to other visitors.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Such an amazingly magical place.

Rossnaree house did not fail to disappoint, we were not looking for a normal place to stay and when we found Rossnaree House on the Hidden Ireland website, a site to find historic private houses to stay in Ireland we knew that this place was going to special.

Before our arrival we had called to see when the best time to visit Newgrange was and Aisling the proprietress offered to call and book us in. We were delighted by this service. Upon arrival we were offered tea & coffee in the opulent drawing room and then we were shown our room, we stayed in the Morris room - just beautifully elegant as if time had stood still. The view was amazing, out over the Boyne valley and there was Newgrange, so close you could almost touch it.
It was the best nights sleep we have had in a long time - so peaceful. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, full Irish cooked to order with lots of fresh produce from the farm and local area. What more could we ask for.

Our stay was fabulous, the peace and quiet was abundant, we spent time wandering around the gardens and chatting to Aisling, who told us about the extensive history of the house and area.

If you are looking for somewhere unique and special to stay then I highly recommend Rossnaree House.

We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Morris room has an amazing view over to Newgrange and the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barker1977_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Twenty feet into the driveway and the magic began!!! Rossnaree has an otherworldly feel that seeps inside and warms the heart! Dagda and Rocky greeted us in the way of dogs who live well. Aisling came from tending the organic garden to welcome us to her home and show us to our "Bird Room" which was delightful and oh! so comfy. Within a few hours, I felt as if I was in my own home as we sipped tea by the fire in the drawing room....I was so relaxed!! The house is full of museum quality antiques and sculptures, the grounds are breathtaking and Newgrange may be viewed across the Boyne from the lawn. Breakfast in the magnificent dining room was absolutely delicious and plentiful. Close to Tara, the hill of Slane and the town of Navan. Our two night stay at Rosnaree was the end of our 28 day "Epic journey" through Ireland and it was PERFECT. The joy and love and history will warm any heart open to it. Aisling is one of those rare, unassuming individuals that make our world a much more loving place. We are so fortunate to have been able to step into the world that is Rosnaree. Thank you Aisling!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slane
5.6 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
8.8 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
5.7 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
6.0 mi away
College Hill House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossnaree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossnaree

Property: Rossnaree
Address: Newgrange | Bru na Boinne, Slane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Slane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossnaree (or ’headland of the Kings’) is a privately owned historic country estate in Slane, County Meath, located only 40 minutes from Dublin and less than an hour from Belfast. Rossnaree is is 2K from Newgrange and 3K from Slane Village.An impressive driveway sweeps to the front of Rossnaree house, standing on top of a hill with unrivalled views across the River Boyne to Ireland’s famous prehistoric monuments,Knowth,Dowth and Newgrange.Rossnaree has been transformed into a boutique bed and breakfast, offering four luxury rooms for guests and also an original venue for special events and artistic workshops. The luxury bespoke bedrooms are individually designed with genuine antique family furniture. Hospitality is old fashioned and friendly, full Irish Breakfast is served in the elegant dining room with an open fire and includes our hen’s eggs, freshly baked bread, organic bacon and sausages from local producers in Slane, and seasonal vegetables foraged from our Victorian Walled Garden.We also offer the ‘Rossnaree Stack’: A delicious Portobello Mushroom topped with John’s finest bacon and a slice of roasted tomato served with French toast quarters.This is a dramatic location in the heart of the Boyne Valley and for guests, Rossnaree evokes the romance of the past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rossnaree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing