We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth time we've stayed, and we'll stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Decoy Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fourth time we've stayed, and we'll stay again.”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We've used Decoy as a base four times in the last five years while visiting my wife's family in Dublin. It actually makes a week visiting my mother-in-law a pleasure. The location is good, with a lot to see around the Boyne valley. It's close enough to Dublin - only 45 minutes to the ferry port - but far enough away to allow us to really relax. Our kids really enjoy the Den and the outside play area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hungry_harborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaIrwin, Owner at Decoy Country Cottages, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Ruth and Paul

Thank you for your lovely review and comments. It was a pleasure as usual for you all to stay with us and thank you again for your custom

Best wishes

Paula and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    25
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
142
42
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Recently stayed in Decoy Cottages in 'The Parlour'. We were attending a wedding it the area and this accommodation was just prefect. The cottage/house was very impressive. Huge bedrooms with comfy huge beds! The highlight of it all was the big solid fuel stove in the sitting room (turf supplied). We spend that Saturday sitting in front of it relaxing!!!! Heaven! Although we didn't have our young kids with us it's an ideal location for kids. Completely safe courtyard with a playground and a Den for kids! Highly recommend these cottages. They couldn't be faulted!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcradtipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My family had a wonderful time at Decoy Country Cottages and hope to visit again in the future. The accommodations were wonderful and the environment was very relaxing. The location was also very nice - in the country and yet close to many sites we wanted to see and Navan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Absolutely beautiful place, was there for a hens but can't wait to go back with the family. Close to navan without spoiling the feeling of being in the country side, Deirdre and Paula were lovely and really accommodating

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah-fino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our family of 27 stayed in 6 units for one week to celebrate our sons wedding in April 2013. The accommodations were top notch. Fully furnished, extremely comfortable, with all of the amenities of home. The grounds are very safe and full of activities for all ages in our group 5-88 years of age. Central location. Our homemade catered rehearsal dinner was delicious. You will not be disappointed. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKellyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaIrwin, Owner at Decoy Country Cottages, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of our cottages and I am delighted that we were able to help with your rehersal dinner. It was a pleasure to have all your family stay and we certainly would look forward to you coming back to stay with again

Best wishes for a happy new year

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blarney, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had the best holiday ever so relaxing everything you need the comforts of home. We went to funtasia and tayto park with 4 children the farm atmosphere was just perfect for our kids. The staff were so helpful and friendly. My husband and I hardly saw the kids when we were in the grounds of the cottages they were too busy with the chickens , friends , playground and games room . We also cooked a barbecue which all of us loved . We are planning to go back again this year 2014. You can also get your tesco shopping delivered before u arrive and it's also a cost effective holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sineadelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaIrwin, Owner at Decoy Country Cottages, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi Sinead

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday so much that you would like to return in 2014 and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Paula Irwin
Owner and manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

we stayed at the stables for 5 days , when we arrived we had a very welcome basket of bread butter eggs etc.. The cottage was fab lots of space and lovely and warm considering we stayed in november . The cottage was very well equipped and the location was perfect . I will definately be recommending decoy cottages to my friends .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breturner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
8.8 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,471 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
635 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
355 reviews
8.3 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
10.1 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decoy Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decoy Country Cottages

Property: Decoy Country Cottages
Address: Decoy House | Garlow Cross, Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Decoy Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious self-catering accommodation in the heart of historic County Meath. A haven of peace away from the pressures of today's hectic lifestyle. Houses range from 1 - 4 bedrooms. Ideal location for families and groups. Beautiful courtyard gardens. All marble or solid oak floors. Underfloor heating throughout. Playground, BBQ area, Boules alley, private parking, all mod cons. Great range of golf courses nearby. Horse riding and fishing locally. Beauty treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Decoy Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing