We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Decoy Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great experience!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a hen for a two day trip out to Decoy Cottages. The beds are fantastic!! The service is great and Paula who runs it, is lovely. They helped us with booking our mini bus and left us eggs, brown bread and organic milk for breakfast. We would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    25
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
137
39
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were in Navan for a family vacation/wedding and stayed at Decoy Cottages. It was a pleasant surprise to find this wonderful place. Our entire family stayed there so it was a great place to gather in the evenings for dinner. The cottages are spacious, clean, quiet and very affordable. It was easy getting a cab and the town isn't that far away. Plus there are restaurants that deliver out there. There is a nice gym, spa and great area to take walks. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori196052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went with a family group of 27 for a get together. The quality of the accommodation was superb, with very comfortable bedrooms and excellent bathrooms and very spacious kitchens. The properties we had were clean and well equipped. The owners were pleasant and helpful and the cottages are perfect for large groups. There is also a well equipped mini gym and games room. The location is rural and pleasant and within easy reach of Newgrange.

I would recommend the properties absolutely. My only negative point is that we did run out of hot water for several hours on one of the days, but this was quickly acted upon when told.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabbawoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a family (well 7 families in total) gathering here last weekend. We had four of the cottages and used the largest one for communal dining at night. The cottages are well speced and well equipped and it is easy to pop in from one to the other or cook in one and eat in another. There is lots to do around and its easy to get to from Dublin or the Airport as its only a few miles from the Motorway

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMCAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I visited the cottages with a group of old school friends. Due to the size of the group we stayed in 2 cottages. These cottages were beautifully sized (The Barn and The Stables), the rooms were all perfect for us as 4 couples, 4 children 2-4 and a 12yr old.

The staircases were already fitted which stair gates which gave peace of mind. The car free courtyard and enclosed with fence and automatic gates surrounding the property meant we didn't have to watch the children's every move as there was nowhere for them to go.

Each property was comfortably furnished and well equipped in the kitchen. The standard of furnishing and quality of the property was exemplary.

Wifi was available throughout the properties which was a definite plus as there is little phone signal around.

The weekend we stayed the temperature didn't get above 3oC. The geothermal heating in the properties struggled at these temperatures and the cottage we were only using as a sleeping area was cold. The other property was cosy with the fire lit and the cooker on.

The property really is only 35 mins from the airport and about an hour from Dublin city centre an with a beach 30 mins away that on a warm day would be delightful it's a great location to be in. You definitely need a car though!

All in all it was fantastic, we would definitely recommend it to anyone as a base to explore this area of Ireland. We hope to return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyschlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This vacation house is spotlessly clean. Our bed was really comfortable! The shower was great! The kitchen was well equipped and clean! The manager was really helpful. Internet connection was spotty, as was mobile telephone connection. It is a beautiful facility for a very reasonable price. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: The Loft was our apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pluymendeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed in Decoy in Feburary while attending a family wedding in nearby Ballymagarvey House Family of 16 stayed for a long week-end. On arrival i was met by one of the staff members who gave us a very walm welcome .. It was so nice to have a basket of food awaiting us . the cottages are spacious spotless clean all bedrooms so comfortable and lovely beds which helped us all to have a good nights sleep. The location of Decoy cottages is perfect as there is plenty to do around the area for golf shopping and a lot of history in this general area. I cannot say enough about Paula who was so helpful to me while sorting out this very important weekend for all the family. Paula will definately be coming back to visit. Best wishes for the rest of 2013

Room Tip: I could not fault with any rooms beds were just super comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
3.2 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
846 reviews
8.8 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,428 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
350 reviews
8.3 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
4.4 mi away
The Station House Hotel
The Station House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmessan
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decoy Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decoy Country Cottages

Property: Decoy Country Cottages
Address: Decoy House | Garlow Cross, Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Decoy Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious self-catering accommodation in the heart of historic County Meath. A haven of peace away from the pressures of today's hectic lifestyle. Houses range from 1 - 4 bedrooms. Ideal location for families and groups. Beautiful courtyard gardens. All marble or solid oak floors. Underfloor heating throughout. Playground, BBQ area, Boules alley, private parking, all mod cons. Great range of golf courses nearby. Horse riding and fishing locally. Beauty treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Decoy Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing