We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay in Decoy Country Cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Decoy Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
“Nice stay in Decoy Country Cottages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Outstanding accommodations in a really nice location. Our house living room was facing the fields. Just near by was the Den, a nice relaxing area to play pool, a children playground and even a place to play iron balls (with a provided set!)
The rooms were massive and the bathroom very nice. Equipment is brand new and in excellent conditions. Free WIFI was good.
Only downside, the reception for phones is quite poor inside the houses and you have to get outside.

Room Tip: The Parloir house is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XTV123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    22
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
128
37
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wexford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a two night stay in Decoy recently and hired two of the cottages. The cottages were very clean and bright, equipped with everything you need. The beds were very comfortable. Paula the manager was very helpful and arranged transport for us. We lit the stove on our first night there and used the complimentary turf. It was very cosy. I would definitely stay here again. We had a little difficulty in finding the place as we put Garlow Cross in the Sat nav but didnt end up near the cottages.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are just back from two nights in Ireland and had the pleasure of staying at the Decoy cottages. We were a group of 14 girls on a hen do and we stayed in the loft and the barn which were both lovely and really well equipped with the comfiest beds ever! We used the barn as a base and put both tables in one of the ample kitchens so we could all sit round one table. The outlook on to the courtyard was lovely and everything was very well kept.

Paula could not have been more helpful, she helped us organise outside caterers and even unpacked our Tesco delivery before we arrived! She also sorted out a bus for us to get back and forward from the airport, Dublin and the Zone where we went go karting.

This was an absolutely perfect base for us and thoroughly enjoyed by all - if you are considering it, definitely go!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Decoy cottages, with 3 children ranging from 2 to 11 years and a dog. They all had a great time, the accommodation was excellent and very comfortable. It was safe for our children to play out as it is gated. They loved the den and games room and my daughter especially loved the play area in the wooded area. The owners were very welcoming to both us and our children.
The surrounding area is beautiful and plenty to see, we didnt get to see everything! Near to Dublin, the beach, Tara's Hill with an excellent cafe, Howth with its lovely harbour. We would love to go back again, thank you to Decoy Cottages.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We recently stayed in the Lodge at Decoy Country Cottages with our 1 year old and 4 year old. We had a very warm welcome and found Paula very approachable and happy to help. She had lots of great tips and the children loved going to see if the hens had laid eggs with her. The cottage was very comfortable and spacious. The kitchen was huge and exceptionally well equipped. The children had a fantastic time with so much more freedom as they could play outside in the courtyard safely and the Den and playpark were fab. We had a terrific week visiting Bettystown beach, Funtasia waterpark, Tayto Park, Dublin Zoo, Newgrange Farm (the hay maze was a huge hit), National Aquatic Centre. Dublin was so easy to get to that we had no worries for things to do on a wet day. Thank you Decoy; we had a wonderful holiday and would love to come back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Quite simply the best accommodation we have ever stayed in in Ireland. We rented 2 houses for a family break and everyone loved them. The 'Den' is a fabulous idea and the children, from age 2 to 13 loved it. The kitchen is better equipped than my own! Loved the environmental policy too as we recycle, use eco friendly products etc. at home. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent 5 nights in the two bedrooms Coach House at Decoy and had a fantastic break.
We stayed with our two children, aged 1 and 5 and they had a ball. There is my h to do in the area for families- Tayto Park, Funtasia, open farms, Rathbeggan Lakes.. And decoy cottages are a perfect base.
The Coach House was very roomy- lovely big fully equipped kitchen with washer and tumble dryer, and everything from Tupperware and sandwich bags for your picnic to kids cups and plates.
The living room was very comfy and had a large tv with video and DVD. Upstairs the two rooms are joined by a bathroom which was a good layout for young kids.
The properties have been finished to a very high spec- from the granite worktops to the quality of the play equipment in the little play area our kids loved.
There was a great outdoor space and situated beside rolling fields. The resident chickens, ducks, sheep, dogs and cat were an added bonus and our little girl loved collecting eggs for breakfast from the hen house.
The weather was pretty poor so the den as it is called was a great distraction before bedtime. It's basically another cottage which is open to all residents filled with a variety of toys, DVDs, books to borrow or enjoy in the dens sitting room which opens to the play area; and a great air hockey and pool table upstairs. There's also a small gym.
I made use of the spa facility which was on site. It's small but a very relaxing treatment room and excellent therapist. V professional.
There were nice touches like eggs, bread, tea and coffee, milk and butter awaiting our arrival and it's obvious they have tried to make it a family home from home.
It's all geothermal heated which was the source of our only criticism- an unreliable supply of hot water, but other than that one small flaw it's one of the best self catering facilities we have stayed in.
Paula and her family made us very welcome and we would love to return to explore more. Well done.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlipauli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaIrwin, Owner at Decoy Country Cottages, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and I am so sorry you had a problem with the hot water - as we rely totally on electricity to power the geothermal heatpumps, when there was a power cut for 6 hours during your stay, this impacted on the ability of the heatumps to heat the water which resulted in a shortfall for which we sincerely apologise.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Paula Irwin
Manager Decoy Country Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
8.8 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
4.4 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
9.2 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decoy Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decoy Country Cottages

Property: Decoy Country Cottages
Address: Decoy House | Garlow Cross, Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Decoy Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious self-catering accommodation in the heart of historic County Meath. A haven of peace away from the pressures of today's hectic lifestyle. Houses range from 1 - 4 bedrooms. Ideal location for families and groups. Beautiful courtyard gardens. All marble or solid oak floors. Underfloor heating throughout. Playground, BBQ area, Boules alley, private parking, all mod cons. Great range of golf courses nearby. Horse riding and fishing locally. Beauty treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Decoy Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing