We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday home fit for a King”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Decoy Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Holiday home fit for a King”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed at Decoy at the end of May as we were going to see Kings of Leon in Slane. We booked it pretty much as soon as we had got the tickets and we were lucky to get the last house that slept 6.

We got to the house - directions were spot on - and we were checked in and unpacked in no time. We decided to go down to Johnstown to go shopping and get in enough drink and food to last a nuclear disaster - but it didnt go to waste.

The house was perfect. Even though it's a courtyard of houses, you didn't feel too enclosed and we didn't feel that we were an inconvenience to the other guests!!!

The beds and showers in the house were so comfy. We all slept like babies and then refreshed in the rain power shower. The only downside was if you left it till later to have a shower, then you may only get a luke warm one but it's not that bad.

Paula the owner was great, she organised a bus to collect us from the house and take us to Slane and he was waiting for us after the concert. It was perfect and we were all so grateful after the concert to have to only travel 20mins down the road. I would def stay here again if we were going to Slane (doubt that will happen again) but I would stay here anyway.

We had adopted Scooter the cat for the whole weekend and it was sad to say goodbye to him but he seemed to have enjoyed the cuddles and treats.

On the Monday we left by 12 and there was no rush to get out. We made sure to clean up after ourselves and let the cleaners in as we were packing.

Fantastic place. Thanks all at Decoy for a great weekend!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leigreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    25
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
142
42
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Just back from decoy stay with 2 friends in cottage that sleeps 4 pax for Kings of Leon in Slane, Cottage nice all mod cons could do with a dusting loads of cowbebs and damp on the roof in the bathroom all of which could have been overlooked but found the lady not sure if she owns it or just runs it quiet rude, accused us of smoking in the cottage when we had actually stood outside in the rain smoking as it clearly stated non smoking in the cottages, was also a bus organised for Slane departing 2-2.30 was informed at last minute as there was not enough spaces on bus we would be going on the 3.30 bus when I questioned this with the lady Paula she told me everyone else was easy going we could go on 2.30 bus if we wanted. As i work with the public myself I was surprised at her implying that our group was not easy going but everyone else staying in the cottages was, found it to be the case of once you had paid your money (which I had done weeks before my arrivial) they didn't care about their guests after that.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ireland59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2011

These properties ar set in eautiful countryside to inspire a peaceful and relaxed holiday. As cars do not come into the courtyard area except for loading and unloading purposes it felt safe to give the children a bit of independance and freedom to exploret the playground. Brilliant den for wet days or if you are staying around the cottages for the evening. Barbeque area perfect if weather permits. Excellent Gym, Get accurate directions from the owners prior to your arrival as it can be a little hard to find.

Room Tip: Choose a house which gets the sun most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Booked Decoy to totally chill out after a really hectic work conference, and I was not disappointed. Perfect location for me just coming from Dublin (20 minutes on the motorway). Peace and tranquility in a beautiful, spotless, modern yet olde world cottage. We really enjoyed the couple of days and actually did touristy things - Newgrange and Battle of the Boyne site - haven't been at either since I was in school! Didn't get to use the spa, but only myself to blame for that. Have been singing praises of Decoy Country Cottages since I came back and will continue to do so. Hope to get back sometime soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ElaineCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

These cottages are ideal for families. Gated entrance, park and 'den' for kiddies to explore. We have 5 small children in the party for a special Easter break. The kids and adults can't wait to return!!!. The location has something for everyone and the cottages were spotless.

Room Tip: The Hen House gets great sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barravore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Overall had a fantastic stay at Decoy. Beautiful location, fab finish to the houses. Stayed in the barn (sleeps 8) and had loads of room. Sitting room and kitchen huge, great comfort for a group. All mod cons, dishwasher etc. Fab power showers - but here's the issue. Went to Causey Farm on Sat (fantastic by the way!) Got back to cottage only for the shower to run cold on 2nd use - 6 of us left to go!! In fairness Paula was apologetic and allowed us into her house to use her son's shower, but it wasn't ideal. She also explained on check-out that she'd been away later than she'd planned, and there was another hen back from causey an hour before us. Outside of this, had a perfect and really enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: would be a fantastic place to bring kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We visited Decoy cottages for a weekend for a hen party. I couldn't say enough for the experience. The houses were beautiful and extremely well equipped. The location is fabulous, it is in the beautiful countryside of Meath but very close to Navan and a two minute drive from the bus stop from Dublin / Dublin airport. The beds were very comfortable and the houses were immaculate. There was a strong emphasis on protecting the environment with eco friendly recycling, handwash, dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid etc.

Paula the owner couldn't have been more helpful, she came to greet us personally and we were advised to contact her if we needed anything. There had been a lot of changing of numbers for the weekend and despite this Paula was gracious and most accommodating.

She had organised the whole weekend for us to include a trip to Causey farm, we were delivered and collected by bus. We then went for a meal on Saturday night recommended by Paula, the meal was superb and we were again brought and collected by bus to the restaurant, we were then delivered to Navan town for a night on the town and we were collected by Frank the bus driver afterwards and brought home.

The kitchen was very well equipped for cooking with everything you could imagine. Paula very kindly had a welcome basket in each of the two houses with milk, bread, eggs and jams for us.

We were advised that there was no need to rush leaving on Sunday morning that we could take our time. It was so lovely and relaxing.

I would highly recommend this as a group holiday, family holiday or even a weekend away.

Thanks Paula for a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clionaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaIrwin, Owner at Decoy Country Cottages, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Hi Cliona

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you had a great weekend and look forward to welcoming you again.

Paula Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
8.8 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,471 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
854 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
352 reviews
8.3 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
10.1 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decoy Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decoy Country Cottages

Property: Decoy Country Cottages
Address: Decoy House | Garlow Cross, Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Decoy Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious self-catering accommodation in the heart of historic County Meath. A haven of peace away from the pressures of today's hectic lifestyle. Houses range from 1 - 4 bedrooms. Ideal location for families and groups. Beautiful courtyard gardens. All marble or solid oak floors. Underfloor heating throughout. Playground, BBQ area, Boules alley, private parking, all mod cons. Great range of golf courses nearby. Horse riding and fishing locally. Beauty treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Decoy Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing