We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Place, one issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Decoy Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Roscommon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab Place, one issue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

Overall had a fantastic stay at Decoy. Beautiful location, fab finish to the houses. Stayed in the barn (sleeps 8) and had loads of room. Sitting room and kitchen huge, great comfort for a group. All mod cons, dishwasher etc. Fab power showers - but here's the issue. Went to Causey Farm on Sat (fantastic by the way!) Got back to cottage only for the shower to run cold on 2nd use - 6 of us left to go!! In fairness Paula was apologetic and allowed us into her house to use her son's shower, but it wasn't ideal. She also explained on check-out that she'd been away later than she'd planned, and there was another hen back from causey an hour before us. Outside of this, had a perfect and really enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: would be a fantastic place to bring kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    22
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
128
37
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

We visited Decoy cottages for a weekend for a hen party. I couldn't say enough for the experience. The houses were beautiful and extremely well equipped. The location is fabulous, it is in the beautiful countryside of Meath but very close to Navan and a two minute drive from the bus stop from Dublin / Dublin airport. The beds were very comfortable and the houses were immaculate. There was a strong emphasis on protecting the environment with eco friendly recycling, handwash, dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid etc.

Paula the owner couldn't have been more helpful, she came to greet us personally and we were advised to contact her if we needed anything. There had been a lot of changing of numbers for the weekend and despite this Paula was gracious and most accommodating.

She had organised the whole weekend for us to include a trip to Causey farm, we were delivered and collected by bus. We then went for a meal on Saturday night recommended by Paula, the meal was superb and we were again brought and collected by bus to the restaurant, we were then delivered to Navan town for a night on the town and we were collected by Frank the bus driver afterwards and brought home.

The kitchen was very well equipped for cooking with everything you could imagine. Paula very kindly had a welcome basket in each of the two houses with milk, bread, eggs and jams for us.

We were advised that there was no need to rush leaving on Sunday morning that we could take our time. It was so lovely and relaxing.

I would highly recommend this as a group holiday, family holiday or even a weekend away.

Thanks Paula for a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clionaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaIrwin, Owner at Decoy Country Cottages, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Hi Cliona

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you had a great weekend and look forward to welcoming you again.

Paula Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

A beautiful country haven, we used it as a base for exploring the Boyne valley and countryside, the children had their own ensuites and the court yard, grounds and playground kept them well entertained. It is just a 5 min. drive to Johnstown for groceries etc. or access to the m1, just 20 min. into Dublin. Great value!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bldonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

From the moment I booked this for a hen party, Paula was more than accommodatiing. The cottages were exceptionally clean and we found everything we needed there. Very spacious and the stables was excellent for a group or party as the cottage allows enough space for everyone. The views were magnificent and I am looking forward to returning to the lovely town of Navan with these stunning cottages.

Room Tip: If self catering kitchens perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

This is the second time I've stayed at the cottages. First time as part of a hen weekend, second, a New Year break with my boyfriend. The cottages are excellent. So homely, down to the very garlic crusher - I was impressed! The great thing about the cottages is that they provide whatever you're looking for - if just a base for a more 'lively' weekend in Navan, or a more romantic stay, open fire etc included. Navan itself has lots to offer, we had a great NY's Eve in the Russell. I would highly recommend the cottages and hope to return soon. Thanks Paula.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed at the cottages for 11 days and found the accommadation second to none, fantastic area and the owners made you feel very welcome, great hidden gem.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbell253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Decoy along with our toddler for six days across the 2010/2011 New Year period and had an excellent holiday in the Parlour cottage. The Decoy website doesn't really do the size of the rooms justice; they are big. Our daughter really enjoyed half walking, half running around the different rooms and dancing in the kitchen. Sometimes on holiday, you want to get out and about early, but here we were quite happy to take our time with breakfast and getting ready.

The bathrooms and kitchen were all clean and well-equipped, with good water pressure for the shower. Everything was ready to use straight away, although the oven was a bit complicated and we needed the supplied manual to get it going.

With our daughter being a bit little for the play room, we didn't use it but it looks like it would suit older children very well. We did make a bit of use of the outdoor play area, which was a nice thing to have right there. Our cottage backed onto it, which was good for us with our little one, but might have been distracting had we been staying as a couple at a warmer time of year.

The only hitch was a problem with the underfloor heating in the middle of our stay, but this was more than made up for with extra fuel for the fire (lit for us prior to our return that day, so the lounge had plenty of time to warm up again) and an electric heater for upstairs. I should also mention the welcome basket, including a lovely loaf of soda bread, and the provision of stair gates, highchair and travel cot - not having to bring our own was a big help when packing the car.

Access to Dublin is very straightforward along the M3, which was very quiet bit the times we were on it and took us about 45 minutes. We went there on three days and did more local attractions such as Newgrange on the other three. There isn't a huge amount of parking space at Decoy, but we were able to get a space every night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob_mooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
8.8 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
4.4 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
9.2 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decoy Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decoy Country Cottages

Property: Decoy Country Cottages
Address: Decoy House | Garlow Cross, Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Decoy Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious self-catering accommodation in the heart of historic County Meath. A haven of peace away from the pressures of today's hectic lifestyle. Houses range from 1 - 4 bedrooms. Ideal location for families and groups. Beautiful courtyard gardens. All marble or solid oak floors. Underfloor heating throughout. Playground, BBQ area, Boules alley, private parking, all mod cons. Great range of golf courses nearby. Horse riding and fishing locally. Beauty treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Decoy Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing