We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located for Dublin bus”
Review of Ash Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ash Cottage
Ranked #5 of 18 Navan B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Conveniently located for Dublin bus”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

On the outskirts of Navan within walking distance of bus stop and excellent Chinese restaurant. It was comfortable and quiet and our hosts were very helpful. Like getting the email with information.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room as sound travels down and can disrupt sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OkuraLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irishpeter, Owner at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Hello.Thank you for your wonderful review.We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.We hope the rest of your trip is a success.
Regards Peter & Nora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
strling
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

What a beautiful Bed and breakfast in a great location, my husband and i were looked after very well nothing was too much bother.Very nice and clean and in a location where there was no traffic noise we found it very relaxing, Peter and Nora treated us like friends even offering to transport us to a wedding hotel close by so we wouldnt have to walk in the very warm sun that was much appreciated, Breakfast was excellent and perfect in everyway. I would definately book to go th ash cottage again and would easily recommend this splendid establishment to everyone. Thankyou Peter and Nora for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: phone directly to the ash cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_riggsStrling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irishpeter, Owner at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
We thank you for your wonderful, review it is greatly appreciated,and we are so glad that your stay was a happy one.Best Wishes Peter & Nora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My fiancee and I have stayed in Ash Cottage on numerous occassions in the past 18 months whist I visit my family who live in the Navan area.We have always found Ash Cottage to be a very comfortable and friendly place to stay. Peter and Nora are excellent hosts and are always happy to help with any advice on local attractions . The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfast is top quality. If your looking for a great place to stay that could really be a home from home then Ash Cottage is for you! I

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eamonncu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irishpeter, Owner at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
We are very glad you choose to stay with us and we are always glad to see you return.Thank you for a great review.Peter & Nora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymorris, Cratloe, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very nice establishment. Friendly and knowledgable owner/operators. Clean and safe, Wonderful filling breakfast. Lovely decor. Close to Slane Abbey, NewGrange, Trim Castle. Close to town: restaurants, petrol stations, convenience stores.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grngrl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irishpeter, Owner at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Hope the rest of your holiday went well and you had a great time at Newgrange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I are from the States and booked a self guided trip all around Ireland this past July through a travel agency. We stayed in 13 different places that the travel company booked in advance and gave us vouchers for each night's stay. Ash Cottage was our first B&B after a night's stay in a Dublin hotel. We arrived around 9pm after a day of sight seeing but no one was there. We waited around for 45 minutes before the owners showed up. They were surprised to see us and told us there were no rooms available (even though we had a confirmation in hand). After some discussion, they said that we should have called ahead to confirm because after 6pm they assumed we were not coming and had sold our room to other people. So, even though we had a room booked and paid for, they were being greedy and sold our room (in essence getting double money).

The only reason I am giving them a rating of 2 is because they called around to find us another room in another B&B. They also did give us the money for the new arrangements. Had they not done that, we would have been pretty much out of luck. It was 10pm by then and we didn't have any means of finding other accommodations.

The rest of our trip we made sure to call ahead to make sure our rooms were secure. Once was from a payphone on the Aran islands which cost about $25. Most other establishments didn't seem to think that was necessary and were somewhat confused by the phone call. We're still not sure why the folks at Ash Cottage needed the advanced notice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRDusey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irishpeter, Owner at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Hello.We are very sorry to hear your review.In our defence,we were turning people away all day as it was a very busy time with all rooms fully booked in the area.We had no contact from you, although you told us you were in the area for a number of hours,and we had no method of contacting you.Check in is usually before 6 with late or early arrivals by arrangement.I remember that you thought there was a reception desk, as in a hotel.We finally gave in to repeated requests for a room at 8.30 at night, to a man who was unwell after travelling all day.But I can assure you it was not as you say for extra money,as we do not ever operate like that,and in fact were at a loss after arranging alternative accommodation.Again I accept the fault was totally ours and we should not have given, in but at that stage of the night we were certain you were not coming.Please read other reviews to see we always do all we can to assure people have a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Fantastic! Peter & Nora are wonderful hosts, they couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly or helpful and the accommodation is excellent. Great advice on some local attractions to visit was much appreciated. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkerSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irishpeter, Owner at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Hello and thank you for your kind remarks we are very glad you enjoyed you stay and please God we see you in the future.Regards Peter & Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed in Ash Cottage B&B last September and would highly recommend it. It is on a very quiet road just 5 mins drive from Navan town. The area around Navan is very historical with New Grange and the Hill of Tara, very interesting and unique to visit. Nora & Peter gave great advice on the local attractions. The room was really comfortable and they served a great breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irishpeter, Owner at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Hello Mary,Thank you for your very kind comments on your stay with us.We are glad it was an enjoyable one and hope to see you in the future.we wish you all the best.Regards Nora & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Navan hotels
1.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
624 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
846 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ma Dwyer's Guest House
0.6 mi away
The Yellow House B&B
The Yellow House B&B
#7 of 18 in Navan
83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Athlumney Manor B&B
Athlumney Manor B&B
#1 of 18 in Navan
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Cottage

Property: Ash Cottage
Address: The Cottage Old Road | Old Balreask Woods, Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ash Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash Cottage is a family run purpose built bed & breakfast,with guest entrance, offering bright,spacious rooms have recently been decorated and furnished. A good night's sleep is assured, due to comfortable beds and quiet location. Each room has a multi-channel television, hairdryer and en-suite bathroom equipped with hot, powerful showers. A comfortable living room is also provided for guests with tea/coffee making facilities. You will recieve a warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ash Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing