We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was that Dick Francis?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Athlumney Manor B&B
Ranked #1 of 19 Navan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Was that Dick Francis?”
Reviewed November 10, 2008

10 Nov 2008

The hosts were charming and unfailingly helpful, the rooms were cheery and clean, there's ample parking, and it's just the right distance for a walk to and from the town center. We felt very welcome there.

John Lukens, Gilmanton Iron Works, New Hampshire, USA

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank puutawngtio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    43
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
78
164
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

On our last night of our trip we stayed at Athlumney Manor and found it to be quite lovely and the host very helpful. The rooms are a bit small, but we still had more than enough room to repack our suitcases before we left the next morning. We were even provided with a scale to weigh our luggage when requested. Pat was available when needed, despite the fact that we rang him later than his set times. We had to leave by seven in the morning to catch our plane, and Pat had made sure that we had fruit and coffee before we left. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for a nice place to stay, with a great location and helpful staff!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Angel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Three couples spent the night in September of this year. Our hostess met us and we were pleased with the accomodations, very clean and cherry. The breakfast was delicious. The location was such that we could walk into town.
We would recommend this B&B to anyone traveling in County Meath area

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2008

It is a lovely home, with a very pretty courtyard and very nice living room.
The rooms are large, clean and warm. The bathroom is working very well. The breakfast is good and much.
The car park is spacious and secured via CCTV system.
Pat, the hosts, was extremely friendly, and welcoming.
It was so nice to spend a night with such warm and gracious host. We enjoyed our Irish breakfast in the morning before leaving on our driving tour of Ireland, after receiving some very helpful driving tips from Pat. I would definitely recommend the Athlumney Manor B&B in Navan.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank israelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2008

After one and a half week of touring in Ireland we stayed 4 nights at Athlumney Manor. Partly because we were tired of being on the road and partly because Meath has many interesting things to visit. The car park is spacious and secured via CCTV system. The rooms are not the largest we slept in but clean and warm. The bathroom is small but everything is working very well. While breakfast is good and much, one has to stand up often getting coffee, Milk, Orange Juice, Cereals and so on as these things are scattered in the room. The only thing one really might complain about is the small hidden video cam recording the breakfast room from one of the shelves.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

I just returned from a trip to Ireland with my family and we spent our first night at Athlumney Manor in Navan. It was a great choice - the location is great - not too far from the Dublin Airport and located near a number of historical sites. We visited Newgrange, Trim Castle and the Hill of Tara while in Co Meath. Pat and Pauline Boylan were great hosts - we had a total of 6 people and got to check out three of their rooms - all were nicely appointed and we got a great nights rest. Pat was very helpful in getting us reservations at an Italian Restaurant in Town where we had dinner. Breakfast the next day was great - it was very organized and Pat had some helpful suggestions on sites to see and route suggestions for our trip to Galway.

Brian

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We arrived at Athlumney Manor to be welcomed warmly by Mrs Pauline Boylan. I had discovered the loss of my driver's licence in Dublin Airport that afternoon and Pauline immediately jumped to the rescue helping me with long distance phone calls to Canada and faxes to the Registry Office there. Due to her invaluable assistance, and the heroic efforts of my sister back in Canada, a substitute document was arranged for pick-up the next morning. While waiting on messages back and forth Pauline gave us tea and good advice in her family's space. Her calm and warmth kept us sane.
The next morning at breakfast Pauline's husband, Pat, was busy helping another guest who needed to see a doctor. If for nothing else I would recommend this B&B as a welcoming home but we also enjoyed the good breakfast and our surroundings.
This spacious home has lovely gardens and comfortable, clean and well appointed rooms, ensuite. They are private and quiet despite the house being located on a direct route into town. It was a short walk to get to town centre and close to many tourist highlights. We chose the location to visit nearby Newgrange tombs.
I definitely look forward to another opportunity to stay at Athlumney Manor.

  • Liked — The people
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank snnodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
0.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ma Dwyer's Guest House
0.6 mi away
Meadow View B&B
Meadow View B&B
#3 of 19 in Navan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlumney Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlumney Manor B&B

Property: Athlumney Manor B&B
Address: Athlumney Road, Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlumney Manor B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star approved B&B. All rooms ensuite with power showers, multi channel TV, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer. Ironing facility available. In room brochure providing detailed information regarding local tourist sites, dining, entertainment,shopping.etc. Some bedrooms overlook the 14th centuary Athlumney Castle and you can enjoy your own private tour of the castle while staying at Athlumeny Manor. Pat and Pauline Boylan, the owners of Athlumney Manor are available to help make your visit as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Athlumney Manor B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing