We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little b and b with lovely host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Athlumney Manor B&B
Ranked #2 of 19 Navan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a room with a castle view which was great. The ensuite bathroom was very small which was somewhat challenging for my tall husband. The host was amazing with lots of tips. Breakfast had plenty of choices of food and times to eat it. All was extremely clean and well managed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 363 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

we stayed here for the weekend of 15-16 june as we were heading to the bon jovi concert in slane. accommodation was excellent mr boylan was a fantastic host makin us tea and cake when we arrived late on the fri nite. breakfast was lovely. pat showed us where to go for a bite to eat up the town. would recommend any time A*
we will be staying again.
donna & david francis
enniskillen

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Although my wife and I booked the accommodation four months in advance we were given a small double room with a quite inadequate so-called en-suite. I say inadequate because it was so small the wash basin had to be located in the bedroom rather than in the en-suite. The shower area was also very cramped. It did not seem to us to be 4 star accommodation! Thankfully we had booked only one night - we would not have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Be very specific about your requirements when booking. eg House is on a main road therefore you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days and it was well worth it. It was very convenient for our travels in and around the area and to the airport on our last night in Ireland. Pat is very good host, very knowledgeable about the area and the history. He was fun to talk to. The house is very nice and with gorgeous gardens and convenient location to downtown. Pat recommended The Central as a place to eat and we were very pleased with the recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan_and_Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Had no problems with Pat, very nice individual. Pauline is nice as well, however, wanted her 25 euro. You see on our voucher it said 2 people were staying. On Paulines it said 3, so they put us in a room that was "bigger". Because of this, she charged us 25 extra Euro. Better customer service etiquette would have been too leave things as be, because we the customer did nothing wrong, but she chose to charge us. Just more annoying than anything.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakeraholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOGIreland, Owner at Athlumney Manor B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction as you expressed no problem during our many conversations. Perhaps you did not fully understand that you had booked a TRIPLE ROOM
(for 3 persons), we both had a copy of the online confirmation which stated 3 persons but the
vouchers supplied to you were for a DOUBLE/TWIN ROOM (for 2 persons). I charged the rate difference between Triple and Double voucher. Had I known in advance that there were only 2 persons I could have changed your booking to a DOUBLE ROOM. Perhaps we will get an opportunity to welcome you sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We just came back from Ireland where we stayed at Athlumney Manor. Pat and Pauline Boylan could not have been better hosts. This is one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed. The rooms were clean, comfortable and roomy. The views were great and it is surrounded with gardens. The breakfasts were delicious traditional Irish, with plenty of food. Very professional and organized. I would highly recommend this as a base, as there is so much to see in this area. And plenty of excellent restaurants in the town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful home that is clean friendly and quite but close to walking distance of navan. Pat is very helpful in reccomending food and directions. Price is affordable and it is one of the most comfortable b&b's we have stayed in yet in all of Ireland. We didn't plan on staying for the night but ended up here so we could be close to newgrange and trim. I highly reccomend it as a central location for lots of sites to see. Also only 1/2 hour to Dublin airport, it could make a great spot if you don't want to stay in Dublin! Don't miss out on this one!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlynnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Navan hotels
0.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
674 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ma Dwyer's Guest House
0.8 mi away
Meadow View B&B
Meadow View B&B
#4 of 19 in Navan
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Yellow House B&B
The Yellow House B&B
#8 of 19 in Navan
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlumney Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlumney Manor B&B

Address: Athlumney Road, Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Navan
Price Range: $91 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlumney Manor B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star approved B&B. All rooms ensuite with power showers, multi channel TV, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer. Ironing facility available. In room brochure providing detailed information regarding local tourist sites, dining, entertainment,shopping.etc. Some bedrooms overlook the 14th centuary Athlumney Castle and you can enjoy your own private tour of the castle while staying at Athlumeny Manor. Pat and Pauline Boylan, the owners of Athlumney Manor are available to help make your visit as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Athlumney Manor B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing