We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Athlumney Manor B&B
Ranked #1 of 18 Navan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fine stay”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Experienced friendly and helpful proprietors. Fresh home-made preserves at breakfast. Central to Boyne attractions. Close to downtown Navan and good advice on restaurants. Try The Loft, great seafood chowder.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike155012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    44
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
79
166
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our first stay after arriving in Ireland. Spent 2 nights. Home was beautiful with comfortable bed and very clean. They provided a good breakfast with good choices. We especially liked being able to walk to town. It was very easy to find and had a good onsite parking area. Owners were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFuzzLakeCity_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at Athumney Manor in August 2012. Athlumney Manor was everything we look for in a B&B. The owners were exceptionally nice people, very helpful, and fun to talk to. The building itself is immaculate and beautifully decorated. The grounds of the property are gorgeous, and overall, it is the house most of us wish we had. Every detail seemed to be considered, including information for local attrations, and menus/recommendations for local dining. We followed Pat's recommendation for pubs and traditional Irish music, and were not disappointed. I have read some reviews that the rooms and showers are small, but found that both were in line with just about every B&B we have ever stayed in. The bed was wonderful compared to many of the other B&Bs we stayed at during the trip, and we slept very well here. We could not hear road traffic from our room at all.

The location is ideal if you want to visit the local attractions without lodging in Dublin or dealing with Dublin traffic. The B&B is a very short walking distance from town, and the streets are very safe to walk at night. People in Navan were friendly and made us feel very welcome. Navan is easy to navigate (for those of us used to driving on the right-side) and is a lovely town with fun pubs and clubs at night. It is situated about 15-20 minutes from Newgrange/Knowth, the Hill of Tara, Trim, and many other historical sites, including it's own castle a short walk from the B&B.

Six of us stayed in this B&B (3 couples) and everybody loved it. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mo322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Lovely B&B with good access to Navan town and surrounds. Exceptionally clean and well presented room and gardens. Nice tea and coffee making facilities in the room, quiet location from road and other guests, beautiful linen on the beds. Host very welcoming. I knew the area well, but could imagine he would be a font of knowledge to guests from out of the area. I would certainly be happy to return and to recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our stay here was our fifth night of staying at B&Bs. This one, by far, was the cleanest, best stocked and well-organized of the five we stayed at. The owner was excellent, providing great information on nearby restaurants and all directions we needed. It's location was convenient and it was relatively easy to find. The owner was extremely conscientious and a great host.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 858DianeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were on our way back from Donegal, and stopped off for the night before our
flight out next morning. We retired early, and had a nice peaceful night. Next morning,
Pat had an early breakfast ready for us. It was a full breakfast, with a full bowl of
various fruits to choose from. After a hearty breakfast, we were seen off by Pat.
We thanked her for her wonderful hospitality.

Chris A

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Gorgeous home, surrounded by well-tended gardens in a safe, and secure neighbourhood just 5 minutes walk from Navan. The city has lovely shops and wonderful restaurants which the knowledgeable host, Pat keeps track of and shares with you upon arrival which is a nice personal touch. In addition, in the room is a book full of information on the local attractions and history. Another nice touch. Great location in the heart of all that Meath has to offer. We were able to visit Bru Na Boinne (Newgrange), Hill of Slane and Trim Castle all in one day. The rooms are very well kept and well-appointed. Breakfast is hearty with lots of choice. Large parking area available. Great value for the price. I would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful B&B to anyone and would stay there again.
We were a group of three females and felt very safe and secure.

Room Tip: The B&B is on a busy street but the rooms at the back are facing a park and thus, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64CHaladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
0.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
624 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
845 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.4 mi away
Ma Dwyer's Guest House
0.6 mi away
Meadow View B&B
Meadow View B&B
#3 of 18 in Navan
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlumney Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlumney Manor B&B

Property: Athlumney Manor B&B
Address: Athlumney Road, Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlumney Manor B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star approved B&B. All rooms ensuite with power showers, multi channel TV, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer. Ironing facility available. In room brochure providing detailed information regarding local tourist sites, dining, entertainment,shopping.etc. Some bedrooms overlook the 14th centuary Athlumney Castle and you can enjoy your own private tour of the castle while staying at Athlumeny Manor. Pat and Pauline Boylan, the owners of Athlumney Manor are available to help make your visit as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Athlumney Manor B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing