We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
Review of Bellinter House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellinter House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Fantastic getaway which was quick and easy to get to from Dublin but yet in a remote area so it felt like a real escape from the city. We had a fantastic time, our room was really nice (we were situated in the main house). The food at the bar, in the restaurant and at breakfast was top notch. I couldn't fault it and I will be going back.
The hotel is close to Tara Hill and Trim Castle too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC11_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    189
    114
    60
    41
See reviews for
131
436
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Myself and my friend booked in to Bellinter house (spa) for a back massage followed by a light lunch in the drawing room. The house is absolutely beautiful and is situated in a tranquil and picturesque setting. You feel like you have gone back in time. The spa experience was lovely, and staff very friendly. Lunch was very nice, the chunky chips are so tasty. Unfortunately what really let it down for us was the cleanliness of the spa and drawing room. It seems such a shame to have such a beautiful home, great treatments, friendly staff and great food to let it lack in such trivial areas.

The small serving cups we were given as part of our starter were filthy and needed a good bleach.
The spa beds in the relaxation room were supposed to be cream but were yellow and brown with stains.
The window in the relaxation room which you sit and peacefully gaze out of to appreciate the views was very dirty.

The drawing room is a magnificent room, with beautiful large windows, which boast fantastic views onto the river.

Unfortunately again, tables were dirty, seats were stained with dried in food. We chose to eat in the bar area as they had 'proper' tables with stools (only 2 tables though). Otherwise we would have been crouched over our food as all of the other tables and chairs are coffee tables and couches/ chairs. I don't know how people are supposed to eat in that position!

Such a shame to let such a wonderful place slip in areas which could otherwise make all the difference.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I recently returned from a mid week break in beautiful Bellinter. We choose the 'Girlie Getaway' package which was fantastic value. The staff of Bellinter are so friendly and helpful, dinner in Eden was wonderful and our rooms in the Stables were large and very warm. Whilst the hotel does need some work done, this historic property is full of the character you would expect from a 18th century house and at night is stunning with all the candles and lovely log fires - it really is a wonderful place to stay. The staff go out of their way to make sure that your every need is looked after. We availed of treatments in the Bathhouse Spa which we all enjoyed. We all agreed we would happily return to Bellinter House.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 3 bedroomed Stable, that was modern and bright, very warm and quiet, spotlessly clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollieEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A great place to escape from it all, as the mobile phone coverage isn't great in the area! Stayed one night for my wife's birthday in the old house and had a lovely big room overlooking the river. We had a delicious meal in the restaurant followed by a hearty breakfast the next morning. All staff were very helpful with any request. Could do with more car parking spaces.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just returned home from an amazing time from start to finish in Bellinter House. We booked a one night stay to celebrate our anniversary with friends. From the time we checked in the staff were wonderful. Very helpful and professional. We had a beautiful Georgian room in the main house, stunning views overlooking the Boyne river. Our meal in the Eden restaurant was excellent, very high standard and presentation was superb. The fillet steak was to die for and the Guinea fowl was cooked to perfection. We had amazing experience from start to finish and can't wait for our return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I was concerned by some of the comments that other reviewers had left prior to my stay at Bellinter. However, I found that they were largely unfounded.

My boyfriend and I stayed in the main house for one night midweek. We loved the room, which was quirky and unique.

The staff were friendly, attentive and the service unfaultable.

We had lunch, dinner and breakfast at Bellinter and were very impressed.

I took the opportunity to have a spa treatment and again was very impressed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGGCWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago and was very impressed. We were in the Est wing had a nice big room with double bath and Shower. Nice and airy, one of the other room doors was open so i popped my head in and was very small and cluttered looking, it had quite a low ceiling!!

Staff very friendly and the food in the restaurant was extremely good!

only complaint is that the sauna didnt seem to work at all! and there was no one around to ask unless you wanted to outside!

would deffo be back though

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy24Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
3.8 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
5.4 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
10.1 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
3.0 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
14.7 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellinter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellinter House

Property: Bellinter House
Address: Bellinter Bridge, Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellinter House 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellinter House selected in the top new Hotels in the world by the Conde Nast Traveller Hot List 2007. Quote from Conde Nast Traveller Hot List 2007 review: "Huge original fireplaces and antique mirrors ... mesh with original designer furniture and quirky lighting in the atmospheric Drawing Room. The grandeur of great wooden staircases and beautifully embellished plasterwork is softened by personal touches such as lightbox wardrobes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Bellinter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellinter House Hotel Navan
Bellinter Hotel Navan
Bellinter House Navan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing