We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal retreat”
Review of Bellinter House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bellinter House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had a business retreat for three days here - and it was an ideal spot to forget about the outside world. The rooms and facilities were great and the restaurant served good food. Only complaint is that you can't get wifi in the bedrooms. There really is no reason for other than not installing router in the right place. Other than that... happy with everything.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonerStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
There are newer reviews for Bellinter House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 898 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

For anyone thinking about where to hold a winter wedding can i suggest that
this spot really is something else.The staff,the location,the room standard all
make it an unbeatable package.Was proud to be best man at my brothers wedding here
last week and it was an unforgettable experience for me and my family...only fault
was....it all went in too quickly!!!!!!
Look forward to return and try out the spa experience....well done to all the teamat
Bellinter!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mixerclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I've heard lots of good things about Bellinter over the years so I chose it for a two day get away for some good food, relaxation and a bit of luxury.
It certainly is a relaxing spot, the beautiful open rooms really lend itself to sitting down with a book and a glass of wine.
But given that it's a relatively pricey place, I was a bit frustrated by the inconsistent service and lack of attention to detail that I'd expect from somewhere like Bellinter.
So although the hotel is lovely, some of the details like springs missing from sofas and stained chairs take away from it.
At breakfast and dinner the service wasn't up to scratch; such as long waiting times (40 minutes at breakfast) pouring our own wine from the ice-bucket at dinner, and our food being sent to the wrong table. We ordered a paper for the morning but it never showed up and when we asked for one we were told there was no delivery. Given we were staying all day Sunday, the Sunday papers were something we were looking forward to. Nobody minds one or two little mistakes but they start adding up.
Lastly, I was the only person at check out and yet the staff member didn't enquire about our stay and whether we had enjoyed and if everything had been ok even though it wasn't a situation where there were other people waiting to check out. I was going to mention some of these details for a bit of constructive criticism but they genuinely didn't seem interested.
All in, it's nice but there is plenty of competition for this style of hotel at this price and being honest it didn't quite live up to expected standards on this occasion. it's not a great feeling when hotels seem to take your custom for granted.
That said, a little bit of work and attention would change that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a fabulous overnight and dinner in Bellinter House. Even the breakfast was perfect with everything freshly cooked to order. The dinner was the highlight of our stay. Do not miss out on the Crème Brulee.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liffey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Bellinter is an old Georgian house (and hotel I understand, though we were not guests) set in beautiful gardens in the countryside.

The setting is fantastic - from the gracious rooms, the silver piano, big couches and armchairs. Relaxing with a drink before dinner with blazing fires is a lovely experience.

Dinner was served downstairs in what looks like the old cellars. These are spacious rooms with vaulted ceilings, reached via a sweeping spiral staircase which is worth seeing in itself. The stairs are not for the mobility challenged, though one of our party did say that there was a lift elsewhere.

The food was good and was very much an Irish-style cuisine - rolled loin of pork, beef, fish and so on. The ratings from the party ranged from good to excellent. The service was very friendly and the welcome warm, but the younger staff could do with some professional training in my opinion. This was not an issue however, and visitors to Ireland will understand that informality brings a charm that formal service can never deliver. The cost for 6 persons, wine and pre-dinner drinks included, was AUD$620 (Eu216), so quite reasonable. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Vintagecrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just called the hotel on spec to see if we could have a table for two for dinner on a Saturday evening. Earliest table available was 9 pm but we took it anyway. We arrived early (about 8.20) and took a seat in the very cosy lounge where a very welcoming lady said she would see if we could be accommodated earlier in the restaurant. We were called about 15 minutes before our 9 pm booking.
What a treat. The restaurant is in a basement but is very nicely decorated and very comfortably furnished and the staff must be amongst the most welcoming we have ever encountered. We were introduced by a senior person to our server for the evening who was being trained. She may have been a beginner but could teach older hands a thing or two about looking after customers. All the staff here have just the perfect mix of professionalism and warm informality.
The food was excellent from start to finish in choice, presentation, and flavour. Even delightful fillet steaks were served without a supplement.
It seemed the whole approach of the restaurant was to provide the diner with a memorable experience.
Well done to all concerned

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We recently stayed at Bellinter House and I have to say the staff were excellent but one girl was a real star. Her name is Sabrina and not only was she extremely welcoming but also very knowledgeable and the way she guided us was exceptional. A real asset to the House. It is very laid back and we had a fab time. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 44tk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
5.4 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
3.8 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
650 reviews
6.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
11.3 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,537 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellinter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellinter House

Address: Bellinter Bridge, Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Price Range: $147 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellinter House 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellinter House selected in the top new Hotels in the world by the Conde Nast Traveller Hot List 2007. Quote from Conde Nast Traveller Hot List 2007 review: "Huge original fireplaces and antique mirrors ... mesh with original designer furniture and quirky lighting in the atmospheric Drawing Room. The grandeur of great wooden staircases and beautifully embellished plasterwork is softened by personal touches such as lightbox wardrobes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bellinter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellinter House Hotel Navan
Bellinter Hotel Navan
Bellinter House Navan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing