We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bellinter House
Nearby Hotels
Ardboyne Hotel(Navan)(Great Value!)
$129
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newgrange Hotel(Navan)(Great Value!)
$129
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Johnstown Estate Hotel & Spa(Enfield)(Great Value!)
$183
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Arch Hotel(Trim)(Great Value!)
$135
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (994)
Filter reviews
994 results
Traveler rating
546
215
121
64
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
546
215
121
64
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseden restaurantdrawing roomhot tubrelaxation roomeast wingspa treatmentssteam roomseaweed bathcopper bathafternoon teaeggs benedicttea cakesrelaxing weekendteacakesmain buildingvoya productsnext morning
Filter
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 994 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently stayed here with our two little girls and my sister. We stayed in the stables which had plenty of room for all of us to be comfortable. Food was great and staff were lovely and genuinely friendly without being "grovelly". Great pool and beautiful setting on lovely grounds and plenty to do nearby.

Room Tip: very comfy bed
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradybunch24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had Sunday lunch here and all 4 of us agreed the cooking and presentation of our meal was very high standard.
There is an eclectic choice on the menu which is a breath of fresh air- no bog standard roast and two veg! loved the starters quite imaginative.
There is a good drinks and wine list and not over priced.
The room has a vaulted ceiling and the warm colours in the plush carpet give it a cosy feel.
On our visit the room was occupied by a number of guests including families with young well behaved children.

All in all a very enjoyable experience in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We recently stayed here using a voucher given to me by a friend. I had slight reservations about our stay as some of the reviews I had read were less than complimentary. I must say we had a positive experience at Bellinter House. The staff everywhere were very friendly and helpful. We were staying in The Stables and were surprised to find we had a very spacious bedroom, bathroom and sitting room. The bed was huge and comfy and lovely little killer jars of tea, coffee and teacakes in the room. Certainly it wasn't 5* luxury, the floorboards and walls were uneven, the windows small, but our room was clean, cosy and quaint. I think The Stables would be perfect if staying in a group. The restaurant was excellent. Food was fresh, flavoursome and well presented (and not too expensive). I highly recommend the chocolate soufflé for dessert, delicious! Breakfast was also really tasty. The homemade wheaten bread and apple chutney were yummy. All cooked breakfasts were made to order, unlike some other hotels which offer a canteen style breakfast. The pool facilities were also good.
To be critical, I do agree with some comments regarding the decor. It was certainly mismatched. Several of the rooms had paper wall lights in the shape of animal heads! They neither matched nor fitted in with the general theme of the room...anyway, this had no bearing on our stay and we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Bellinter is a perfect romantic getaway, lovely old country house, very relaxed, good staff. Highly recommend for a weekend break. All of the rooms are nice, but try to stay in the main house for a bit more luxury. Lovely pool area and outdoor hot tub. The spa is good, but if could do with a good dusting! The restaurant is nice, good food, nothing fantastic, but very acceptable, and a lovely relaxed setting.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are lovely (room 4 recommended) but all rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxi32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had really high hopes for our trip to Bellinter House after hearing rave reviews from colleagues at work and seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor. First of all the positives, easy to find, very friendly and attentive staff and the food was pretty good too. That all said its obvious Bellinter House is going for the shabby chic look but we found it more shabby than chic. The house itself was full of mismatched items which was obviously an attempt to deliberately look this way but unfortunately the furniture was just so random it didn't work and coupled with the fact the house needs a good redecoration and an update you can only do the shabby chic look when your walls and fixtures and fittings are actually in a good state of repair otherwise it just looks a mess. We were in room M1 which is apparently the bridal suite, I would have been sorely disappointed if I was a newly wed as whilst the bed was comfy, we had to prop the window open with blocks of wood (the window looked rotten and in need of a repaint) the seat at the end of the bed was threadbare so much so you could see the nasty looking yellow foam coming through and there was no consistent theme. A weird Japanese wardrobe in the corner, old style bathroom fittings and then a super modern loo, no plugs within easy reach of a mirror unless you scrabbled under the floor and zero curtains in the room just odd looking shutters - a nice fabric roman blind would have worked better.
I know this all sounds like a matter of taste and perhaps it is but nothing quite worked for us from the yellow modern carpet with random swirls in the basement restaurant that showed all the stains, it needed a stripped floor and chandeliers that would have worked much better, to the odd bar furniture that felt like sitting in a corridor or a railway waiting room. Nothing quite worked for us and I certainly wouldn't class it as luxury unfortunately. The windows in the bedroom were also so bad that we were kept awake by people laughing and shouting outside, not to mention being able to hear everything that was going on in reception downstairs.
Saying that we didn't use all the facilities, I hear the spa is amazing and it all looked good from the outside. In terms of the setting it was nice but not an outstanding area of natural beauty and no competition for the views you would see in Yorkshire or the Lake District. We didn't hate our visit at all, and it was fine for 1 night, but I do think the website is a glossy version of the truth. If they employ some professional interior designers this place could be really special.

Room Tip: Dont pick a room in the main house.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews