We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place with authenticity”
Review of Bellinter House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bellinter House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place with authenticity”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My sister and I booked into Bellinter House for 2 nights in April. I wanted to treat my sister and give her a lovely relaxing stay in nice surroundings and Bellinter was perfect for this. We had a full body massage as soon as we arrived and it was our first experience of the staff of Bellinter. They were so lovely. Nothing was too much trouble and they really put us at ease. My sister really loved this and was on a high after her massage.

Bellinter House is not "shabby chic" in that pretentious, making something new 'look old' way. It is an authentic, historical building. They have done an amazing job of balancing comfort for their guests with maintaining some of the original aspects of the house. It is difficult and expensive to run a place like this-far easier to run a modern concrete block -so they have done an outstanding job.

I'm really shocked at the complaints of Bellinter House being 'dirty'. It was spotless! Yes, some things were old-its a historical building! I'd prefer the amazing original fireplace with the cracks and marks from hundreds of years of burning in front of important and historical people -such as Jonathan Swift- than a "shabby chic" replacement. The pool was completely clear and extremely clean-as was the sauna. I'm starting to wonder where these other people stayed?

Bellinter House exceeded our expectations and this was largely due to the wonderful staff. They were genuine and friendly and even advised us where to go that evening. (The Palace in Navan has great music and a good mix of ages) The walk down by the river Boyne is really nice-wellies available for this! A big group of girls were having great fun in the outdoor hottub while we were there too. The food in the restaurant is delicious though a little pricey and the bar is extremely comfortable with the large roaring fire. The teacakes in the room with the nice coffee is a lovely touch. The cocktails are very tasty.Try the afternoon tea, its far better than others I've had and very generous. Just recalling all this makes me want to go back. Thank you to all the staff at Bellinter House, and to those in charge of running it, keep it up-we hope to come back for years to come!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, make sure to ask to be put in a quiet area of the house as the windows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhrugha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    192
    114
    60
    41
See reviews for
132
441
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed in Bellinter for a night in March, and although I had a lovely time and the staff were fantastic, the house itself needs a bit of work. Wearing heels was a bit of a problem as there are many cracks in the wooden floor boards, and there are quite a few cobwebs about. We paid extra for a late check out and were interrupted three times after the usual check out time, as the housekeeping team were not made aware of this. In saying this, I would go back, as our room, and bathroom especially, were gorgeous and spotless. The food in the restaurant was excellent, and there was a great selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

my sister treated me to a day /night with dinner/breakfast & a spa treatment fri/sat 25th/26th april 2013 at a cost of 190euro each (ie before drinks , tea & scones etc). the staff are very pleasant & helpful bar the harried lady in the bath house spa who was curt & slightly dismissive of us as we had not booked treatments prior to arrival ,at no time during the booking procedure is this vital bit of information given!we went for a swim and i wish i had taken a photo of the dirty scummy tide mark that is all around the pool ,also there is a lot of dirt on the bottom of the pool ,there was no evidence of any lifeguard being present on the two occasions i used the pool,i have to say i contacted an ear infection over the sat/sun & needed treatment for same. the sauna & the steam room are also both scruffy ,all these areas are in need of a good cleaning (no white flag here i'd say) , my room was in the east pavilion and it was a lovely room very comfortable but the bathroom was grubby the wall beside the shower is mouldy and the plaster is crumbling ,the mosaic style tiling /grouting needs a good power washing!there is also a lot of dust in the room,i know i may sound pernickity but there is no excuse for poor hygiene especially when you are paying so much.the food was lovely but the water carafe had brownish staining (from water i'm sure )but again shoddy attention to basic things,bellinter has it's charms peaceful ,welcoming & the shabby chic/ eclectic works well so it's a shame to neglect the important basics of hygiene/ cleanliness

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at Bellinter House recently for a wedding - it was absolutely beautiful. The food was superb, rooms and service great. In such a beautiful location - great for a relaxed weekend stay. It is definitely a place I want to go back too!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed in Bellinter House last Saturday night along with eight friends. One was back in Ireland from Australia for a few weeks so we went away to spend some time together and chose Bellinter because of its proximity to Dublin.
We're so glad we did as we had a simply fantastic weekend. Our accommodation in the Stables was really comfortable and we enjoyed being able to share little houses rather than be split up in several hotel rooms. The interior in the main hotel is a gorgeous blend of countryhouse, art deco and modern - really stylish.
The spa, especially the hot tub, was just perfect for unwinding and catching up. Our meal that evening was delicious as was breakfast the next day. Throughout, the service we received was friendly and excellent. Highly recommended

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyheffernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here in April 2012.
Overall a nice experience. If you plan to stay here, DO NOT stay in the "shacks" outside. They are small and dirty and you have to walk across a pebble driveway to get to the main hotel for dinner (not ideal if it's raining!). We asked to have the room changed to one in the hotel itself and were happy enough once this had been done.
The room itself was large and comfortable. Had food in the restaurant on both nights and was very enjoyable. The best part for us was the spa, had a 30 min back, neck and shoulder massage from a Thai (i think!) lady and it was fantastic.
The decor itself needs to be updated and the hotel itself was beginning to look a bit neglected however overall it was a very pleasurable stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the "Lean to", insist on a room in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've been to Bellinter House for dinner, bed & breakfast & spa treatment deals twice now. The renovation of the old house has been really sensitively done, I loved the décor in the rooms and bathrooms, the food in the restaurant is really excellent and the way they have made the old farm buildings into a spa rather than building a new, purpose-built facility is great. There are no fancy thermal suites etc. but both treatments I had were excellent and the relaxation room is really nice. It's good to have a pool although it was a bit dirty, and the outdoor hot tub is a real novelty. I would definitely go a third time!

Room Tip: My room in the West Wing was a good deal bigger than the one in the East Wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
5.4 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
3.8 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
624 reviews
6.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
303 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
350 reviews
14.7 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellinter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellinter House

Property: Bellinter House
Address: Bellinter Bridge, Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellinter House 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellinter House selected in the top new Hotels in the world by the Conde Nast Traveller Hot List 2007. Quote from Conde Nast Traveller Hot List 2007 review: "Huge original fireplaces and antique mirrors ... mesh with original designer furniture and quirky lighting in the atmospheric Drawing Room. The grandeur of great wooden staircases and beautifully embellished plasterwork is softened by personal touches such as lightbox wardrobes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Bellinter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellinter House Hotel Navan
Bellinter Hotel Navan
Bellinter House Navan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing