We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, fab staff and great value”
Review of Newgrange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newgrange Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was our 1st time staying in a hotel "family room" for 2 nights I was a bit unsure, we've always stayed self catering. The final price at checkout online left me wondering why so cheap? Myself, husband and 3 boys 5, 2 and 7months arrived early for check in, we didnt have long to wait until it was ready for us. We were convinced that the room would be tiny so it was a shock to open the rm door to so much space! We were highly impressed by the design and lay out of the room. The decoration and furniture were luxury! I really wasnt expecting that for what we were paying. The receptionist had lots of local info on where to go what to do. Breakfast in The Newgrange was 1st class, the buffet had lots of selection for a fussy 5 yr old, then the lovely Janice came to take our hot breakfast order. She was great, so patient and nothing the boys wanted was too much fuss! She's a real asset there. The Hotel is located in a nice quiet part of town, not too far to walk to shops/shopping centre! It was a handy for Funtasia and Mellowes. We will certainly be back. I would highly recommend this hotel. I cant believe the value we got for such a beautiful spot!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RoJamesCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear RoJamesCarey,

It was a pleasure to read you review regarding your recent family stay at the Newgrange Hotel. Our family packages to Tayto Park and Funtasia are proving very popular this summer so thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 675 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

Got a great 2 night deal at the hotel which is always a good start. Room was nice & clean, TV needs updating but staff were all brilliant very friendly, genuine and always had time for our family. Will definitely return and will be recommending it to others as it's a great location for visiting tayto park, Funtasia, local historical sites and even Dublin. Navan town was lovely with decent shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30Polg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Hi 30Polg,

It's great to hear back from a family availing of our great value mid-week breaks. Our Tayto Park and Funtasia packages are proving to be very popular this summer and as our hotel is located within 30 minutes of these attractions, we provide a great base for all. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

14 July 2014 our son and his partner got married in navan and had the reception in the Newgrange. It was a small wedding 10 adults and 6 children. The same effort was put into it by the hotel as a big(120 people) wedding I was at there so time ago. Red carpet champagne the works and the room was amazing food excellent, the staff so friendly and attentive and great with the young children.
We stayed overnight and our room was lovely and a great breakfast in the morning. The girls on reception both when we checked in and out were very helpful and friendly. We also met the events manager(I just can't recall her name) she was also very helpful, and even carried the remains of the wedding cake to the car for us, all in all a very good experience I would recommend it for stay, for food and for and event.

Room Tip: The back is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thanks Maura O for taking time out to share your review. All staff at the Ardboyne Hotel take weddings very seriously so whether it's an intimate gathering such as Ja and Lou's wedding or a celebration with 350 people we offer the same level of service and professionalism throughout. I will be sure to share your positive comments to the reception staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed just the one night before going to Tayto park.The room 512 was large and clean with comfortable beds.From the time of us arriving until the second we left the staff could not do enough for us.I can not think of a thing that the management team could do to improve on the staff-customer service.The food is of a high standard and you will definately not leave hungry.I look forward to returning soon

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paulcGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear PaulcGalway,

We are delighted you enjoyed your overnight Tayto Park experience which is proving to be a very popular package with many of our customers this summer. We are regularly complimented on our customer service and staff in general which is a sign of our "Happy staff, Happy Hotel" sentiment. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ardboyne Hotel.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I attended a hen party in this hotel recently, they have a package which consists of a visit to Causey Farm, B&B and dinner in the hotel. We arrived at 1pm and the room wasn't ready so all the bags were left in a room upstairs, we got the bus to Causey and on return our rooms were allocated, the room was fine but slightly cramped and in the bathroom the soaps nailed to the wall (which is especially difficult if you want to have a bath). Dinner was fine, there were no complaints about the food, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine and there was plenty of it.
This hotel is fine for a hen/stag party as it is central to everywhere in Navan and seems to especially cater for this type of event, however if I was travelling for a weekend away I would NOT stay here, it is noisy and busy and the decor is very dated, on the plus car parking is free and you are in the centre of the action.

Room Tip: Room 301 is a NO NO it is very near a noisy unit outside that runs all the time and it is very warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sparkely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Sparkely,

Thanks for taking time out to post your review. We are delighted to hear that you availed of our ever popular Causey Farm Experience package and we thank you for the great feedback regarding your hen weekend.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

booked a hen party for sixteen girls, stayed at the weekend. food excellent, rooms really clean and tidy and all the staff helpful and friendly. couldnt rate this hotel highly enough. great value for money also and the location is in walking distance of all the pubs and shops. well worth a visit

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maire b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Maire B,

It was great to hear you had such a successful hen party experience in our hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the Newgrange Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

I recently booked my friends hen party package through the newgrange and from start to finish our experience was brilliant..the staff were extremely friendly and helpful as there was a large number of us staying and I had to contact the hotel on a number of occasions and they were extremely prompt with replying and no question went unanswered..we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Ciara82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thanks Ciara82 for taking time out to share your review. It was our pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
0.9 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
382 reviews
7.9 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
3.8 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
8.4 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
418 reviews
18.3 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newgrange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgrange Hotel

Address: Bridge St., Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Price Range: $88 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newgrange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newgrange Hotel is a luxurious and enchanting destination in the heart of Navan. Set in one of the most historical and beautiful spots in the country, guests from around the globe are invited to experience the old world charm of luxury hotel accommodation in Ireland. Fused with modern amenities, our award winning 3 star hotel offers a lavish retreat just 30 minutes outside the cosmopolitan city of Dublin. Our three star deluxe hotel offers 62 en suite bedrooms all spaciously decorated and designed with guest comfort and tranquility in mind. Newgrange, part of a set of family run hotels in Meath, is not only ideal as a holiday retreat but is also widely used as a meeting and event location due to its reputation as a sophisticated and well run establishment. We hold wedding receptions and civil ceremonies and our one wedding per day policy ensures the bridal party is never left wanting by our skilled and attentive team. With facilities for meetings, banquets and celebrations, we've got everything needed to throw the party of the year. Corporate companies looking for hotels near Dublin that boast a tranquil and elegant country atmosphere are able to enjoy business meetings and conferences at Newgrange too.Indulge in Irish hospitality and scrumptious fare at the in-house Bridge Brassiere Restaurant, enjoy something light and delectable at Ruxtons Cafe or grab a drink and unwind at Rowley's Pub. When the mood strikes in colder months, relax in our library lounge by a warm open fire and browse our selection of classics. When staying at this popular spot you'll never be short on entertainment, leisure or historical tales, as there is much to see and do in and around the area. Named after the ancient monument at Newgrange just 15 minutes away, Newgrange hotel boasts the ideal mix of stylish allure and modern magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Newgrange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgrange Hotel Navan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing