We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Newgrange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newgrange Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Myself and my husband just stayed the one night, lovely staff, cosy warm spotless hotel, lovely food with excellent service, great entertainment in their pub even had a little dance. Our room didnt have a good view but we were only staying the one night so didnt bother us, could bother other people. You can even use the Knightsbrook Leisure Centre about 15 mins away by car for free, well worth the visit, We were staying in another hotel in the area the following night and on the way we had a lovely swim n jacussi dip to unwind, fantastic leisure centre. Had all intensions of checking out New Grange area but didn't get the chance, weather diabolical. Would highly highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sorry cant help you there, our room didn't have a good view, but we were only staying one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaVIreland, Public Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hi Carol B,

Thanks for taking the time out to share this great review and recommendation. We are delighted to hear your enjoyed your stay at the Newgrange Hotel.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    159
    71
    33
    34
See reviews for
146
177
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Our relationship with the Newgrange Hotel started several years ago with my Wife’s 40th birthday party, this was followed a couple of years later by a 21st birthday party for our son, and then just recently we had our 25th Wedding Anniversary there. Suffice to say each and every time the Newgrange Hotel delivered the goods. However, with our Wedding Anniversary they surpassed even our very high expectations, it was simply superb.

Like us, I am sure most people would consider a 25th Wedding Anniversary to be a very important milestone in their lives, and we wanted to ensure its importance and value was understood by our choice of venue, I am very happy to report that the Newgrange Hotel did not disappoint.

From the very beginning when we sat down to plan the event with Caroline, ( who from the start made us feel very special ), right up to the night itself, it was a Master Class on how to do it right. The function room on the night looked amazing, the food was fantastic, and the service flawless. Thank you to all concerned for a very enjoyable and memorable night, until the next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi David C,

We were delighted to help plan and celebrate your "Milestone Anniversary" and thanks for taking time out to post such wonderful comments. With over 15 years of experience in planning every type of event we like to regard ourselves as experts in our field. Caroline is a long standing valuable member of our team so she will be delighted to hear your glowing comments. We value your loyal custom and hopefully we will have the pleasure of planning many more celebrations in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, Co.Tyrone
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Thank you so much to all the staff at Newgrange hotel. We were greeted with a warm welcome and for the duration of our stay all the staff could not have done enough for us. Lovely comfy rooms, great food and a brilliant location to explore Navan! Would def recommend this for a girlie weekend away:)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laineymac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Laineymac_10
Many thanks for your recent review. I am delighted to hear your great comments following your stay. I hope you can come and visit the Newgrange Hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for two nights, Friday and Saturday, in separate rooms. We got a really good deal which included B&B and dinner on one night. We were both impressed with the size of the rooms and the standard of cleanliness. I stayed in room 504 on the fifth floor and she had room 507. We were pleased to find tea/coffee making facilities, an iron and ironing board and a hairdryer - little niceties which aren't always available in hotels abroad.

The bathrooms were a good size with a nice deep bath and lashings of hot water. It did take a while for the hot water to come out of the tap in the sink and it would have been a nice touch if some more toiletries had been provided. However, it compared well to other hotels I have stayed in, some of which were way more expensive.

The general ambiance of the hotel is warm and friendly and this is carried through in the attitudes of the staff, every one of whom was charm and helpfulness personified. They genuinely couldn't do enough for us. The decor, which some might find slightly dated, was to my mind, inviting, intimate and cosy. There are several little nooks, where one might steal away for a little quiet time, including a roof terrace, although that wasn't accessible on our visit. (It might have been - we just didn't inquire, since the weather wasn't all that great). Beautiful displays of real flowers everywhere too!

We took full advantage of the bar on the first night, had great 'craic' with the bar men, who didn't seem to mind in the least two middle-aged women (who should have known better) getting slightly tipsy and teasing them unmercifully. Barry, Cahal and Kevin - you are all stars. The singer was pretty good too, so it was an enjoyable evening.

Breakfast was fine, served promptly and with a smile. My friend would have liked a choice of more cereals and some yogurt, though. But, overall, there was plenty of food, hot and cold, and I think most people would find something they would be happy with.

We ate dinner there on the second night. Again, the service was good. We both had Darne of Salmon, which was served with potatoes dauphinoise and mixed veg - not the best we've ever had, but perfectly tasty and acceptable, considering the deal we had. If you want to go out for dinner, I would recommend going to The Russell, a fusion restaurant just across the road, which was absolutely fantastic - will be reviewing that separately. Strangely, it was not one of the restaurants recommended by the receptionist at the Newgrange - we just happened upon it ourselves and were very glad we did. Another plus, is that it is only around 30 miles from Dublin Airport.

Final Verdict: Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Newgrange and the litmus test is that we would definitely return again. It is a great place from which to visit Newgrange and all the neolithic sites and we also paid a visit to the Battle of the Boyne battle fields, now turned into the most beautiful park.

Cons: The first is just a niggle really - the TVs could do with updating, the reception was very patchy and the channels all seemed to be random - my remote control didn't work at all.

A more serious con and one worth taking note of is that there is a nightclub in the hotel. This goes on till 2.00 a.m., but at 3.30 am there were still drunks staggering round in the corridor outside our doors, shouting and swearing loudly. As lone women, we did find this a bit threatening. Just when we hoped it had all died down, it started up again at 5.00 am. However, realistically, it appears to be the centre of nightlife in the town at weekends, so this kind of thing is only to be expected. Next time, we would make sure not to stay when the nightclub is in progress.

Room Tip: If you are staying on Saturday night or when an event is planned, request a room as far away as poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taramo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you Taramo_11, we really appreciate the wonderful detailed review of our hotel. Our customers' comments and feedback are so important to us as we are constantly trying to improve standards and meet our customers needs. It's so helpful to our future customers to gain genuine insight to hotel properties and you gave such an in-depth and valuable review. I hope you take time out again in the near future to enjoy again the "warmth and friendliness" our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have just returned from an amazing hen party stay. The hotel was great food and cocktail making were amazing. We had such good fun and the package was great value. The staff were really friendly, helpful and accommodating. Nothing was too much for them. In particular a big thank you to Stephanie, Martin and Aaron for all their extra help. Would absolutely recommend it to anyone looking a weekend away. Great for hen parties.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Noelle M
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. I am delighted to hear that all the girls enjoyed their weekend. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Newgrange Hotel again soon.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I attended a wedding here over the Christmas and I have to say the food was simply the best I have encountered and the service was second to none. The banqueting suite was beautifully set and finished with chair covers and gold sheets. The staff were so polite, we were greeted at reception with a warm friendly smile. It can be difficult being a Celica when eating out but my requirements were carefully attended to, the staff are a credit to this gem of a hotel. I find contemporary hotels with their large open cold spaces lack the home from home feel, but in the newgrange the lobby is so inviting and has warm colours which I think create a lovely atmosphere straight away. It is impossible to find any reason to criticise this venue and I will definitely be recommending it to friends planning @n getting married.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear jrd35
Many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful comments following your recent visit to the Newgrange Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's warm, welcoming atmosphere, for which we are best known for. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the team here and hope to see you again very soon.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night last weekend and would highly recommend it. The hotel itself is maybe a little old fashioned in decor but nice and is a change from modern hotels which can all look similar. The staff on reception were friendly and when we mentioned we would be checking out before 8am the following morning she said she would inform the restaurant so we could get some breakfast (breakfast isn't served until 8) and sure enough we got a full breakfast. Our room 512 was very spacious, comfortable and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. The room had everything one would need, tea/coffee making facility, safe, iron and ironing board etc (have stayed in some 4 star hotels that hadn't some of these). We ate in the bar and the food was lovely with a good choice, large portions and reasonably priced. There was a very good band playing in the bar later that night. All in all would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMarieGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear AnneMarieGalway
I would like to thank you most sincerely for posting your review following your recent stay here in the Newgrange Hotel. Ia m delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything about the hotel and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to all the team here.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
0.9 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
355 reviews
7.9 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
8.4 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
881 reviews
8.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
14.0 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newgrange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgrange Hotel

Property: Newgrange Hotel
Address: Bridge St., Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newgrange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newgrange Hotel is a luxurious and enchanting destination in the heart of Navan. Set in one of the most historical and beautiful spots in the country, guests from around the globe are invited to experience the old world charm of luxury hotel accommodation in Ireland. Fused with modern amenities, our award winning 3 star hotel offers a lavish retreat just 30 minutes outside the cosmopolitan city of Dublin. Our three star deluxe hotel offers 62 en suite bedrooms all spaciously decorated and designed with guest comfort and tranquility in mind. Newgrange, part of a set of family run hotels in Meath, is not only ideal as a holiday retreat but is also widely used as a meeting and event location due to its reputation as a sophisticated and well run establishment. We hold wedding receptions and civil ceremonies and our one wedding per day policy ensures the bridal party is never left wanting by our skilled and attentive team. With facilities for meetings, banquets and celebrations, we've got everything needed to throw the party of the year. Corporate companies looking for hotels near Dublin that boast a tranquil and elegant country atmosphere are able to enjoy business meetings and conferences at Newgrange too.Indulge in Irish hospitality and scrumptious fare at the in-house Bridge Brassiere Restaurant, enjoy something light and delectable at Ruxtons Cafe or grab a drink and unwind at Rowley's Pub. When the mood strikes in colder months, relax in our library lounge by a warm open fire and browse our selection of classics. When staying at this popular spot you'll never be short on entertainment, leisure or historical tales, as there is much to see and do in and around the area. Named after the ancient monument at Newgrange just 15 minutes away, Newgrange hotel boasts the ideal mix of stylish allure and modern magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Newgrange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgrange Hotel Navan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing