We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm and Friendly staff”
Review of Newgrange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newgrange Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Old World Charm and Friendly staff”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent one night last week booked through booking.com. We paid 85 pounds for 3 adults which included breakfast. The accommodations were older but spacious, comfortable and clean. We ate dinner here and had the morning breakfast (included). There weren't many places to eat in town at least in the areas where we ventured from the hotel so we finally decided to eat dinner at Newgrange and the prices were no different that out on the street and the meal was very good! The staff was friendly and car parking is in a structure attached to the hotel. I suggest relaxing in the lobby or the library. This place has all the old world charm of a once very grand hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Gio T
Many thanks for taking the time to post your recent review. We strive to maintain our high standards and the old world charm you speak of is exactly what we invite all our guests to experience. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope you can return to us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    152
    69
    32
    32
See reviews for
141
171
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

On a recent visit i found the staff very friendly and helpful, the reception area is warm and welcoming with plenty of seating, our room was clean and comfortable and very spacious, and have to say that the food was excellent with plenty of choice, it is centrally collected in the town, i will certainly be making a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Emma M
Thank you most sincerely for your kind comments following your recent stay in the Newgrange. I will pass on your comments to all the staff and the chefs in particular as they are always delighted to hear positive feedback about the great job they do with the food. I look forward to your return visit.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I spend 2 nights in this hotel back in Aug. We where meet by very friendly and helpful receptionist who when hearing it was our wedding anniversary upgraded our room. Room was amazing and we enjoyed a fab dinner in the bridge restaurant which has great offers. Thorougly enjoyed our stayed and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Karrie O
Thank you for posting your recent review following your stay in the Newgrange. We were very happy to upgrade you for your special occasion and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you can return to us again soon.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. Receptionist and staff were quite friendly but the hotel itself was a let down. Its really grubby, smelly with plaster and wall paper falling off throughout the corridors. The carpets are covered in stains etc. It looks like it was a long time since any renovation work was done in it. The bedroom was a bit better in general. You wouldn't sit on the chairs though. The TV and phone were ancient and dirty too. The breakfast was nice, but having paid 100 euro for one night, it should be. The hotel offers budget standards for premium prices. You would be better off in a good b&b.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaizerSoze43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear KaizerSoze43
We have read your review and we thoroughly disagree with your comments. We have recently refurbished all public areas over the last few months so we cannot see how you found the hotel "dirty." We regularly receive very positive comments about our decor. We are in the process of refurbishing our bedrooms but as you can understand this will take time. We would have appreciated if you brought your comments to the management team while you were here instead of posting an unfair review which may effect our future business.
Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Based on a narrow street in a busy town so views aren't to be expected from here. Lovely to look at inside and greeted wit a smile on the reception. Staff are friendly and make the stay great and tend your needs. Rooms are ok and are clean so they are fit for purpose. All in all very good as a stop of point for travellers heading to or from Dublin

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickMcGrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear NickMcGrath
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the staff were welcoming. We pride ourselves on our high standards and all our staff work hard to achieve these so thank you for acknowledging this. I hope you can stop by again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked a hen party in the Newgrange and I was very impressed by their service and very warm welcome. I was in contact with one of the staff over the last few months organising all the details and she was great and responded to all my requests. We were a very large hen party and I was nervous that the hotel may be nervous of us as hen groups have bad reputations. But the staff were so welcoming and accomodating from the moment we arrived. I at no point felt like we were an inconvenience or a nuisance. The rooms were lovely, spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately I had to ask some guests to keep the noise down in the hallway in the middle of the night, but I believe they were part of a wedding group that was in the hotel that night. I imagine it is genreally quite though. The hotel lobby, bars, restaraunt and facilites were well kept and designed. The service in the bar and restaraunt was excellent. All the girls enjoyed dinner. I was impresesd by the breakfast service and what was on offer. Overall a fantastic weekend was had and that came down very much to the great staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mearbhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear mearbhall
Thank you most sincerely for your wonderful comments following your recent hen party. I am so pleased to hear that everyone had a great weekend. Every guest is treated the same here in the Newgrange so you were by no means a nuisance! We strive to ensure that every guest has a pleasant stay. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff. I hope you can return to us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I cannot praise the Newgrange Hotel enough. I regularly go in there for dinner and the food is beautiful and there is always a great choice. A lovely carvery dinner with tea/coffee is excellent value at ten euro.The hotel is also clean and well decorated. What really makes the experience unique however is the service. The staff are incredibly efficient, hardworking and friendly. They always make sure that I am well catered for and Monica and Janice in particular work extremely hard. All this combined makes me go back to the newgrange time and time again and I would recommend it to everyone.

Mary from Navan.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryH-Navan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear MaryH-Navan
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. It is great to see you returning again & again and I am delighted to hear that Janice & Monica are acknowledged for their constant hard work! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
0.9 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
7.9 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
3.8 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
8.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
14.0 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newgrange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgrange Hotel

Property: Newgrange Hotel
Address: Bridge St., Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newgrange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newgrange Hotel is a luxurious and enchanting destination in the heart of Navan. Set in one of the most historical and beautiful spots in the country, guests from around the globe are invited to experience the old world charm of luxury hotel accommodation in Ireland. Fused with modern amenities, our award winning 3 star hotel offers a lavish retreat just 30 minutes outside the cosmopolitan city of Dublin. Our three star deluxe hotel offers 62 en suite bedrooms all spaciously decorated and designed with guest comfort and tranquility in mind. Newgrange, part of a set of family run hotels in Meath, is not only ideal as a holiday retreat but is also widely used as a meeting and event location due to its reputation as a sophisticated and well run establishment. We hold wedding receptions and civil ceremonies and our one wedding per day policy ensures the bridal party is never left wanting by our skilled and attentive team. With facilities for meetings, banquets and celebrations, we've got everything needed to throw the party of the year. Corporate companies looking for hotels near Dublin that boast a tranquil and elegant country atmosphere are able to enjoy business meetings and conferences at Newgrange too.Indulge in Irish hospitality and scrumptious fare at the in-house Bridge Brassiere Restaurant, enjoy something light and delectable at Ruxtons Cafe or grab a drink and unwind at Rowley's Pub. When the mood strikes in colder months, relax in our library lounge by a warm open fire and browse our selection of classics. When staying at this popular spot you'll never be short on entertainment, leisure or historical tales, as there is much to see and do in and around the area. Named after the ancient monument at Newgrange just 15 minutes away, Newgrange hotel boasts the ideal mix of stylish allure and modern magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newgrange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgrange Hotel Navan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing