We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Newgrange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newgrange Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice and clean friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in hotel two night was nice and peaceful, we got a room at back of hotel over looking road thank god we didnt hear much traffic. Food in hotel was lovely staff were kind and friendly. Rooms are basic but got everything you need. Only problem was parking lack of it and tight to get around underground car park badly sign posted which way to go around it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayomale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Mayomale
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay in the Newgrange Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you found the rooms comfortable & the staff friendly. Both of which are the top priority for us here in the Newgrange. I hope you can return to us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    149
    68
    32
    29
See reviews for
136
166
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We arrived last Friday, took 45 mins from Dublin. Easy to locate and underground parking available. Staff were very friendly and professional. Room was better than we expected. We were on the first floor at the back with a view of the river. 44 inch TV, Jacuzzi bath, the room was a decent size, very clean and comfortable. We had steak for dinner (with a glass of wine), it was inclusive with the deal rush deal. We opted for starters and dessert also. Everything was delicious and the staff/service again, very polite and friendly. We ventured to a couple of pubs, The Palace just up the road and Bettys just down the road, both looked trendy however we must have been a little early as they were very quiet, this was about 9.30/10.00pm. We ended back in the hotel, Rowleys, with an 80s DJ. My only issue was with the room next door, there must have been 3 or 4 people, laughing and shouting till about 3 or 4 in the morning. However I was aware that the hotel did cater for stags/hens/party etc. so I was half expecting it. Breakfast was served till 10.30 on the Saturday. Full Irish plus buffet of cereals/crossients/breads/fruits and tea and toast. Great soakage :-). Overall we had a great time, I couldn't fault the service at all. I must stress again, the staff were a credit to the hotel. Will be looking to return, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in 511, I think 510 - 520 are at the back looking out at the river. But I guess it's p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tadhger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear tadgher
I would like to thank you most sincerely for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us in the Newgrange Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food, the quality of which we pride ourselves on. I am also delighted that you found all the staff friendly and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here on a Sunday night with a friend. On arrival we were given the wrong room. We made our way up to the room & were stopped by the cleaners. After standing in the hallway for what seemed like five minutes, we were told the rooms were not ready and to go back to reception. After receiving the proper room, we settled into our room and noticed a musky smell (which we opened the windows and aired the room, seemed to work somebit for us). We returned to reception where we asked about the local nightlife and pubs - the only answer we received were the pub in the hotel itself. Although it was a lovely pub, we were looking for a lively young crowd (mid 20 age bracket) as it was our first time in Navan.
The restaurant was lovely and the staff working in the hotel were lovely and kind. The staff at breakfast the next morning were extremely nice and made the stay.

Room Tip: Don't make a booking over the phone - do it online as you will save a good bit of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear kellyireland
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay here int he Newgrange Hotel. As you can understand due to the hotel being fully booked on Saturdays, late check-outs & early check-ins, Sunday can be a very busy day for Accommodation, so turning the rooms around and refreshing them does take longer than other days. Excellent customer service is something that we pride ourselves on so thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to pass them on to all the staff.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

very good value, great food and great staff, a great place for a group stay, has a good night club

The food was top class and the service was excellent, could do with a little more freshness in and around the Hotel as it is odd smells you get as you go around the place, and they need to sort out the front door on Hotel as your sitting in the lobby at a lovely fire as the door opens you keep getting a draft and it spoil's the effect of having this fire in the first place, But over all great value.

Room Tip: ask for a room ta the front of Hotel at least you will have a view, other the roof tops,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Ron
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay here in the Newgrange Hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are actually in the middle of planning updates in our lobby area so I hope when you return to us that you can see the improvements we are making.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hotel location is perfect.
Rooms were clean and nicely equipped with kettle, tea, coffee etc

Staff were very welcoming and to be honest we didn't need them much at all.
Hotel bar is nice and cosy.

The hotel restaurant was fantastic, one of the nicest pieces of steak I have ever had!

Hotel has its own free multi storey car park but its tight :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithCarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Keith
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to tell the chef about the excellent steak! I hope you can return to us again soon.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Dont miss the Newgrange Hotel if staying in Navan! Its central location is excellent, and the friendliness of the staff made my sadly brief stay here a truly memorable one. The rooms are excellent and the meal included in our package was a fabulous steak dinner - worth the cost of the overnight deal alone! There was great entertainment in the bar - and the craic in the residents bar was second-to-none. I would definitely recommed this hotel and will certainly be making a revisit in the near future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Bernadette P
Thank you most sincerely for your kind comments following your stay in the Newgrange. I am delighted to hear you availed of our brilliant offer and that you enjoyed your stay. I ill pass all your comments onto the staff here. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed in the hotel on Saturday night 9th Feb, gorgeous hotel. The staff were all so friendly.
We had a 3 course meal in the restuarant, the food was amazing, great value for money. The staff were also great, always making sure the food was ok and we had enough water on the table, etc The hotel itself is in a great location, near to lots of pubs, etc
Id recommend this hotel to anyone! Keep up the good work :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Guest Relations Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Niamh514
Thank you most sincerely for your wonderful comments following your recent stay here in the Newgrange. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. I hope you can return to us again soon.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
0.9 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
7.9 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
3.8 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
8.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
14.0 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newgrange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgrange Hotel

Property: Newgrange Hotel
Address: Bridge St., Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newgrange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newgrange Hotel is a luxurious and enchanting destination in the heart of Navan. Set in one of the most historical and beautiful spots in the country, guests from around the globe are invited to experience the old world charm of luxury hotel accommodation in Ireland. Fused with modern amenities, our award winning 3 star hotel offers a lavish retreat just 30 minutes outside the cosmopolitan city of Dublin. Our three star deluxe hotel offers 62 en suite bedrooms all spaciously decorated and designed with guest comfort and tranquility in mind. Newgrange, part of a set of family run hotels in Meath, is not only ideal as a holiday retreat but is also widely used as a meeting and event location due to its reputation as a sophisticated and well run establishment. We hold wedding receptions and civil ceremonies and our one wedding per day policy ensures the bridal party is never left wanting by our skilled and attentive team. With facilities for meetings, banquets and celebrations, we've got everything needed to throw the party of the year. Corporate companies looking for hotels near Dublin that boast a tranquil and elegant country atmosphere are able to enjoy business meetings and conferences at Newgrange too.Indulge in Irish hospitality and scrumptious fare at the in-house Bridge Brassiere Restaurant, enjoy something light and delectable at Ruxtons Cafe or grab a drink and unwind at Rowley's Pub. When the mood strikes in colder months, relax in our library lounge by a warm open fire and browse our selection of classics. When staying at this popular spot you'll never be short on entertainment, leisure or historical tales, as there is much to see and do in and around the area. Named after the ancient monument at Newgrange just 15 minutes away, Newgrange hotel boasts the ideal mix of stylish allure and modern magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Newgrange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgrange Hotel Navan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing