We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Central Bar and Restaurant

The Central Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 66 Restaurants in Navan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gastro Pub & Restaurants with a strong emphasis on good food, craft beers and live entertainment seven nights a week. Open for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner, with unique private party areas that are available to hire for any function. Winner of the Overall National Bar of the Year Award 2014 and Best Modern Irish Cooking in a Bar Award 2014 at the Bar of the Year Awards in October 2014. Winner of the Restaurants Association of Ireland (RAI) Best Gastro Pub in Meath Award both in 2013 and 2014.
Navan Meath
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Went into the Central with my girlfriend who loved the atmosphere in the place. We decided to change our plans and stay for a few drinks and get something to eat .......lucky enough to get to a table outside upstairs. Fabulous location luckily weather was fabulous felt I was in Lisbon or Rome Food was excellent .Later we went downstairs (one for the road). I couldn't get over the place itself... it's really big with loads of interesting areas we eventually ended up in a really fabulous yard outside. There was a great crowd very friendly definitely a schwarzenegger .....We'll be back

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at The Central Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Jeff - thank you for your very positive review of The Central Navan. Please do visit us again soon and continue to give us feedback. Kind regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    175
    80
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"disappointing food"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Myself and my wife ate here twice and both times the food was a let down, we ate in the downstairs part, on the second time we were seated on beer barrels not very comfortable, service was not great had to ask for a coffee twice, won't be back !

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Damienb587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at The Central Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Damien: it's been a while since your last visit and we would like to think that we have made enormous strides in improving all aspects of our food and service since then. As a new (and large) business, we did have some teething problems in our first few months and we have been taking all customer comments and suggestions on board. We always appreciate customer feedback and it helps us to constantly make improvements. I hope that you'll change your mind and make a return visit to The Central Navan at some point and give us some updated feedback. If you would like to contact me directly, then please do email me on michael@thecentral.ie Kind Regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Will go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I dropped into the bar on a Saturday night on way to cinema, we really liked the place so we went back later for a few more drinks. The staff are pleasant and efficient, the bar has a nice atmosphere, and it attracts a good crowd. We went back for lunch on Sunday and found the food very good and reasonably priced, and once again pleasant and efficient staff. Well done to the staff and management, keep it up, even though we have lots of bars and restaurants in Navan the Central bar makes a refreshing change. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Jezerbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at The Central Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Sincere thanks for your positive critique of The Central Navan and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your visits to date. Please do visit us again soon and feel free to give us more updated feedback. Kind regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing athmosphere and nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I recently visited the Central on a Wed night for a meal, i had been there on a friday night for drinks a few weeks previous and liked the feel of the place. The bar was buzzing on both occasions and the restraunt and food was really good, a few things they need to look at like get rid of the frozen chips and the chopping boards as plates, otherwise we were very satisfied. Carafe of house wine is a great idea and wine was lovely. the bar seemed to attract a 30 to 40 yr old crowd on both my visits so it was nice and relaxing and suited us perfect. The staff are very friendly and attentive. Think I will make this my new local. would defo reccomend it for value and presentation.

Joanna

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank OMALLEY51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at The Central Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Joanna - thanks for your positive review of The Central Navan and we have taken your couple of suggestions on board. We hope that you will continue to visit us and please do keep giving us feedback. Kind regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Co. Meath
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Disappointing Overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Myself and My Better Half dropped in on a Saturday evening for a couple of drinks and decided to stay for food in the bar area.

The menu was not that great, slightly aired on the Sea-Food side which didn't suit us personally.

I ended up having the Goat Cheese Tartlet for starters, which was fabulous and the Beef Bap, which was very oily and wet.

We went for a walk about the establishment, and it is vast, with a lovely roof terrace, although slightly disjointed form the bar and upstairs restaurant. Not a place you'd go to relax with a pint, although fine if you are waiting for dining.

Overall it was a disappointment as the food was not great, and the premises was badly laid out.

I will try the Formal Dining soon though.

PS There is a great art gallery on the 1st floor, unique idea.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnCassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at The Central Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear John: we have made a lot of adjustments and improvements since your visit last August. We were only open about 10 weeks at that point and we did have a few teething problems at the start. I do hope that you will consider a return visit at some point and give us some updated feedback. Kind Regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Central Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Navan, County Meath
Navan, County Meath
 
Navan, County Meath
 

Been to The Central Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing