We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food and service ever!”

The Central Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 69 Restaurants in Navan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gastro Pub & Restaurants with a strong emphasis on good food, craft beers and live entertainment seven nights a week. Open for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner, with unique private party areas that are available to hire for any function. Winner of the Overall National Bar of the Year Award 2014 and Best Modern Irish Cooking in a Bar Award 2014 at the Bar of the Year Awards in October 2014. Winner of the Restaurants Association of Ireland (RAI) Best Gastro Pub in Meath Award both in 2013 and 2014.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best food and service ever!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had an amazing meal in the Central last weekend. The steak was just yummy, What a little gem of a place with so many different areas to eat and drink in. This is my 4th visit to the place over the past 3 weeks. It reminds me of a great pub in San Fran called the "New Englander". The staff are extremely efficient and friendly. One of the nights we were there there was brilliant 60's and 70's music in the background. It would make you want to get up and dance. Most of the music puts nowadays tend to play more dance music. Definitely top of my list when in Navan for food and ambiance.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank LizandOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at The Central Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review of The Central Navan. We have a new event every Friday and Saturday night until late in The Back Bar, with disco and diva music as the music policy - which you might enjoy! We hope that you will return to visit us again soon and continue to give us feedback. Kind regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    196
    87
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really want to like it but....”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great atmosphere, very friendly staff, super cool venue but let down by the food...

I would really like this place to to do well but they simply have to improve the food, which at best can be described as bland.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Fbokmssan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at The Central Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments about our venue and friendly staff. We have made a lot of improvements and changes since your visit in mid-August and we have been working very hard to keep raising our standards. We do welcome all customer comments and suggestions. I do hope that you will visit us again soon and then give us some more feedback. Kind Regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful roof-top terrace. Great food and lovely atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Excellent wine list and lovely food. Most of the food is locally sourced which means it is incredibly fresh. Wide range of choices on the menu to suit varying tastes. Good value for the quality of food. Good and friendly service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank 64CHaladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at The Central Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your positive review and endorsements of our food, decor and atmosphere at The Central Navan. We do hope that you will make a return visit at some point and please feel free to give us more feedback at any point. Kind regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cool place, poor food..”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I had been here previously for lunch and thought the food ok, but had just had the sandwich- which isn't hard to get right. But was very disappointed with food last week- it just seems a bit sloppy. Fatty pieces of ham in a limp leaved knuckle chicken caesar salad. Maybe the dinner menu is better, I shall go and see and pending that I hopefully can upgrade the score.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank luxlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at The Central Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your lunch on your visit to The Central Navan in mid-August. We were only a very new venue at that point and we did have some teething issues, but we have been listening carefully to all customer feedback and suggestions and we are striving hard to raise our standards across all aspects of our food and service. I do hope that you will make a return visit soon and give us some updated feedback. Alternatively, you can email me on michael@thecentral.ie to discuss this further. Kind Regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Such a fabulous place with surprisingly great atmosphere, only to be let down by very disappointing food. All my courses were bland and those with me felt the same about theirs. Come on guys, this could be super cool venue.... Get the food sorted!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Wakeymonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at The Central Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments about our venue and the great atmosphere at The Central Navan. We were not long open when you reviewed us and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food offering at the time. We take all customer comments and suggestions on board and we have been working hard to make improvements across the board. I hope that you will consider visiting us again soon and giving us some more feedback. Kind Regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Central Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Navan, County Meath
Navan, County Meath
 
Navan, County Meath
 

Been to The Central Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing